ProZinc Dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becky and AJ (GA)

Member Since 2009
Hi everyone,

My sugarkitty, AJ, is new to ProZinc but not new to the board. I could use some ProZinc dosing advice. Here's some background:

AJ was diagnosed with diabetes in 2009. After 6 weeks of being on Vetsulin, AJ went OTJ. We enjoyed a wonderful year and half of honeymoon until I accidednly locked AJ in our food cupboard before I left for work a couple days before the Super Bowl, where AJ had his own little Super Bowl party and munched on the Doritos and Tostidos I had just bought (he loves, loves, loves Doritos). He also managed to munch on half a packet of Pill Pockets that I used to give to my civvie, Albert (GA). :sad:

Much to my horror, I immediately tested AJ's BG and it was 361. I had no insulin in the fridge to give him. I called my vet the next morning and we both agreed to monitor AJ for a bit to see if his BG would go down on it's own. It did go down a bit to 271, but went up again to 311. My vet scripted ProZinc (I requested ProZinc) and I started AJ on .4u (U100 syringe). His +6 reading was 62. Next morning, AJ's BG was 147, so I gave him .2u. I got fantastic numbers - +3 92 and +6 95. His PMPS was 181, so I, again, gave him .2u. I thought we were on the road to OTJ...

Here's where I've run into a problem in the last couple days. It looks like I am now getting into a rut where AJ's AMPS is in the 200s and his PMPS is in the 100s. I'm only giving him .2u in the morning and nothing in the evening. My question is, do I keep giving .2u and hope that AJ will eventually level out and go OTJ or should I up the dose to .3u? I'm afraid that .3u will just make AJ rebound too much. Is ok to give one shot per day? I appreciate any advice on what to do.

I do know that AJ is feeling better - he's running around the house again and is asking to play. :smile:

I feed AJ five small meals a day - EVO 95% Beef and Chicken & Turkey, Wellness Turkey and various Fancy Feast Classic flavors.

I hope this makes sense. I know I'm not good at explaining clearly.

Thanks.

Becky and AJ
 
Hi Becky,

As you probably know, giving the minute doses and trying to keep AJ safe is harder than the early days when you were new to all this. Tinkering with the tiny doses can be maddening. I hope it is of some consolation that others here doing the same.

EDITED in next post dose advice

Check out some of the others' spreadsheets. Holly just recently got Max OTJ by using minute doses and lowest carb food, spread out into tiny meals.
 
Editing my advice, Becky. Sorry - I confused you with another mini dose member.

If you are too low at pmps to shoot, you can consider lowering the dose, not increasing. A tiny adjustment down may still keep you in nice numbers, while allowing you to shoot in the evening also.

When you skip the evening shot, it sets you back and makes your amps higher.
 
Thanks, Sue. It looks like I'm doing almost exactly what Holly has done - low doses and small, low card meals throughout the day. Kudos to Holly! I think I will go to a fat .2u and see how he does, but if his number is in the low 100s tonight, I am really afraid to give it to him (or maybe a .1u). I will probably skip his dose and give .25 or maybe a skinny .3u tomorrow morning, since his number will probably be in the 200s. I will be home to monitor him. I know ECID, but seeing Max's and Harley's spreadsheets, they has given me hope. I would love nip this in the bud before go back to work on Monday.

Can I ask a really stupid question? Is there an easy way to draw a .3u? The lines on the U100 syringe are so close together. I guess it's a matter of having a bright light and magnifying glass.

Gosh, I could just kick myself for locking him in that darned cupboard. :evil:
 
See my edited advice, Becky. Sorry - confused you with another mini doser. If your pmps is too low to low to shoot, you need to reduce the dose so you get two times a day you can shoot, keeping him more even and lower in general.

sorry. didn't mean to be confusing, but I was.
 
Sue, thanks for responding so quickly. It looks like our messages crossed paths. No problem with the dosing advice. Depending on his PMPS, I will either give AJ .1u or skip it all together. I know shooting once a day isn't good, but I'm in this catch-22 where he's too low at night and too high in the morning. If I skip tonight, I will give him .25u (or maybe .3u) in the morning since he will probably be in the 200s, and take it from there.

If anyone out there has an easy way of drawing .3u on a U100 syringe, I would love to hear it.
 
Depending on your number, I would give the .1 or a drop. Hopefully one of our mini dossiers will help - they are getting really good at it. Post on one of their threads and ask. (I was lucky and never had to give below .5)

You are in a cycle of higher amps, then pmps too low to shoot. The only ways I know to break out are to give smaller doses twice a day, or go to real low carb food. I would consider a lower dose in the am even if you get a higher amps, so you can get into that twice daily cycle.
 
Thanks. I'll go with the .1u and try to get out of the cycle, and will also post with other mini dosers. I'll also stick with just the EVO for a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top