ProZinc Dosage Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

badams

Member Since 2011
Samson went down to 20 (on the vet's meter) yesterday. Per instructions from the vet, I did not shoot Friday night or this morning. Instructions are to give 1 unit of Prozinc tonight. Before the very low reading, Samson was down to 2 1/2 units from 3, because his numbers had been going down, finally, before tumbling.

I just took a reading using 2 different moniters: iPet was 259 and Relion was 205. After the reading was taken, I fed him and he has eaten very well (he's licking his face right now in happiness). Wet lowcarb. He had had a snack about 2 hours before I did the reading.

Does anyone who knows think it seems fine for me to go ahead and give the 1 unit. I'm thinking that if he has not had any insulin in 36 hours, maybe 1 unit would be too much?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
 
He was 205 before eating? Difficult to test again since the food may bring him up. You want a true reading, not a food enhanced one. You want to be sure he is headed up, not down.

I would play it safe, test him again in an hour. It is possible that his pancreas is working and the food may bring him down not up. If you get a number that is above 200 that you are sure is not food influenced, you could consider a .5 Better safe than sorry?
 
Okay, thanks, I'll do that.

Right on better being safe than sorry.

Thanks for getting back so quickly. :YMHUG:
 
I tested at somewhat longer than an hour, and Samson was still at 205, so I did not shoot.

Just tested again, and he's down to 133, so maybe that was the right decision. I guess I'll know tomorrow morning early when I test again.

Maybe things are starting to come together for my little buddy.
 
This is looking very encouraging! Even if you get a high number in the morning, remember it's because he will have been without insulin for a lot of hours. You would want to shoot a reduced dose. Get a number and come on for advice.
 
I have numbers for this morning.

At 3:45 a.m., pre eating, Samson's BG was 110. At 5:35 a.m., it is 73. My normal morning shot time is around 5:;00 a.m. I wouldn't be comfortable giving him any shot this morning. Agree?

I plan to test about every 2 hours all day today. I have a spreadsheet, but my numbers were so horribly high until last week, it was discouraging to even try to fill them in, but I will start today.

I have 3 cats and they have always been free feeders, but with not being able to leave dry food out and all, they generally wake me up starving around 3, which explains the early reading. Then they want me up about 5 for more food, just because for their 13 years, that's been my time to get up. It seems like in my reading, that with ProZinc, this should be okay?

Thanks for all the help. I'm certainly much more encouraged at this point than ever.
 
umm, do not want to be premature...but I thing we got another one OTJ. thank god for hometesting.
 
I'm too afraid to hope.....

Back in July, Samson had 2 steroid shots because of an angry rodent ulcer....since he is anything but obese (10 lbs), I've wondered, after things I've read, if those shots caused the onset of diabetes. And I've hoped that once we could get it under control.......

Don't want to jinx anything, and know it's too early to get excited....but hard not to.

I appreciate all the good words and support.
 
steroid induced diabetes is the most likely to go OTJ...but don't forget..she will ALWAYS be a diabetic ok?
 
You can get a little excited. :mrgreen:

We consider a kitty OTJ (off the juice) if they have numbers in the 40-120 range for 2 weeks without insulin. The nice thing about ProZinc is that you can give mini doses if you need to, if he goes up in the higher numbers once in a while. If you see some 200s after a period of lower numbers, be sure to post on the PZI forum and get some advice on the possibility of mini dosing.

The other thing that may help is to feed those mini meals and to lower the carb count if you are in the 8 - 10% range. If you can find some foods 3-5%, that may help with the lower numbers. (But seafood only once or twice a week.)
 
Good info. I drag Binky's list into the store with me when I go shopping, so I've been trying to keep it no more than 7 or 8%, but I'll try to go lower, for sure, if that would help.

Right now I'm pretty worried about that kitty that got the 2 units this morning at a reading of 85.
 
Awesome numbers for Sampson!!!

Where is the thread on the 2u at 85 kitty?
Carl
 
look for jillyC on health carl.
2u into a amps of like 84ish with lantus. an allllllll day insulin
 
Re: ProZinc Dosage Advice - Again

I've updated spreadsheet for 3:45 p.m. test. Just right at 200. I'll do another test close to 5:00, but, I'm thinking, with the numbers being low most of today, maybe don't shoot again this afternoon, unless it gets a lot higher by the 5:00 reading? And assess again tomorrow morning?

Or what sounds best to you pros?

I have to take him to the vet tomorrow morning for the vet to test, so I could have a discussion with him reviewing my numbers for where he thinks we should go at this point. Course, reading could be sky high tomorrow morning.

Thanks
 
For some reason I can't access the SS. Tells me I don't have permission...
Depends on his number at shot time but maybe just a reduced dose. It looks like he's regulating his own BG though!
Carl
 
Yep, works now.
Okay. Looks like he dropped to 166?
No shot then. Awesome!
Carl
 
Even if he is high tomorrow, you want to give a small dose. And don't be surprised if he is high at the vet. All those strange noises, smells, animals and people can raise bg levels.
 
very very gooood job at testing!!!!
please review my spreadsheet if you like and see when I shot and not and at a reduced amount and what it does.
My Bean girl was on insulin for less than 1 month.... with that, I was able to share my PZI with someone that needs it ;-)
 
Thanks for pointing me to your spreadsheet. I'll review it carefully. I sure would like for my baby to be where your baby is.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top