? ProZinc and early kidney issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

RPride

Member Since 2022
Hello! My 16 year old cat, Marie aka Weenie, was diagnosed as diabetic yesterday. I went to the vet thinking it would be CKD so I was not prepared for the diabetes diagnosis. Additionally, her kidneys are beginning to show some signs of wear, too. But her phosphorous was in normal range at 5.4 so the vet said we will probably have to let her eat what she wants (she is picky and a puker) and treat the diabetes. Additionally, she needs a dental. That being said, I have spent all but 3 hours of the last 24 researching and purchasing necessary supplies. My biggest concern right now is that our vet started her on 3 units of ProZinc every 12 hours with no mention of home testing. Marie has been on a variety of canned foods prior to diagnosis. (There is dry, too, but she rarely eats it and we have now moved it out of her reach). We were basically buying what cans she likes and feeding her when she's hungry. She eats small amounts all day and night. Now with the diagnosis, I would like to start reducing her carbs. I should mention, she also has arthritis and occasional mild constipation. Her glucose was 487 at her diagnosis. She is 14.63 pounds. We have done three doses of 3 units. (I have all of her testing results from yesterday but did not want to post too much). Marie will be back at the vet on Feb 14th to test her progress and have a dental. My question, I believe, is should I be starting at 3 units? If not, how do I back off of it now that I already gave her those doses? I have testing supplies now but am just starting to watch videos on testing. I know lower carb food is going to affect her BG, so I'm just nervous. I'm getting foods that are lower carb and lower phosphorous just so we are addressing both issues. Also, when you say to withhold food for 2 hours prior to her insulin dose and testing, do you then feed them after you test but before you give insulin? Or do you withhold food for two hours, test, and give insulin. And then give food when it is done? I'm just afraid of withholding and then giving insulin only to find out Marie decided she isn't hungry. Any help or advice is greatly appreciated. Sorry for the rambling.
 
Yikes.

But welcome!

3U makes me very very nervous. I don't understand why the vet said to let her eat whatever she wants just because of the phosphorus? Tagging @Diane Tyler's Mom because I know she has a canned post about carbs and phosphorus targets, and a list of foods that will help with both.

Did she have ketones? Any DKA?

The important thing is getting that preshot test. We test, feed, shoot, all in succession, usually within a 15 minute span. As long as she eats a few tsp to tbsp she'll be ok. If that preshot is under 200 stall without feeding and ask for help on the Feline Health board (more traffic there).

Can you post all your BG results here for me? It's not too much, in fact I need it to be able to help.

Here's a post to help you get everything started - we'll need a spreadsheet, your signature, and you'll want to read about and purchase stuff for a hypo kit, as well as urine ketone strips.
 
Hi, welcome to the site.

3u does sound like too high a dose, I believe the starting dose here is 1u, or .5u if you have switched to low carb food. But hopefully an experienced Prozinc user will be by to help you with dosing.

Have you found this link to a pdf offood nutritional information

http://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

Here is some great information on using Provinc

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-the-prozinc-basics-please-start-here.164995/

Also when giving dosing advice members would like to see you blood glucose data, we keep spreadsheets for that you can find that here

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

Have you found the link for information on hometesting

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/hometesting-links-and-tips.287/
 
As far as the food goes
For kitties with kidney disease and diabetes



. First number is carb percentage, second is mgs of phosphorus/100 cals, all less than 10% carb and less than 250 mg phos:

Weruva Truluxe Steak Frites can 6% 118
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen La Isla Bonita can 3% 166
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Meowiss Bueller pouch 7% 174
Weruva Truluxe Glam 'N Punk can 0.6% 180
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Fowl Ball can 4% 180
Weruva Classic Pates Jeopurrdy Licious pouch 4% 187
Weruva Classic Pates Family Food pouch 0% 191
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Cattyshack pouch 9% 211
BFF PLAY Tuna & Salmon Shhh... pouch 3% 223
BFF PLAY Tuna & Turkey Totes! pouch 2% 226
BFF PLAY Tuna & Chicken Chill Out pouch 2% 226
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates Cat to the Future pouch 8% 235
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Pates The Breakfast Cat pouch 9.7% 235
Weruva Classic Pates Meal of Fortune pouch 8% 236
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Lamburgini can 8% 236
Weruva Cats in the Kitchen Double Dip can 8% 248

You want carbs under 10% and phosphorus ideally low 200's or less.



Here is another list posted by one of our members
Weruva slide and serve pate foods Family Food (.97 phosphorus and 0 carb).

Jeopurrdy Chicken (0.97 P 6.1 carb)

What a Crock 0.71 phosphorus and 8 carb lots of gravy so she loved it.

Goody stew shoes 0.71 phosphorus, 8.5 carb. This one was a big hit

Weruva Steak Frites (0.57 phosphorus 5.5 carb although I take out any big pieces of potatoes to try to limit the carbs just a bit)

Weruva LA isla Bonita - phosphorus 0.77 carb 4.5 (used to like, not a favorite anymore)

Glam and punk 1% carb, 0.93 phosphorous.

Weruva paw lickin chicken 3.3 carb 0.82 p

Press your lunch 5.9 carb. 0.82 phosphorous

Bff play Laugh Out Loud chicken and lamb 7.7 carb, 0.82 phosphorous

BFF play destiny (chicken and duck) 0.87 phosphorus 7.7 carb

Bff play chicken cherish 0.71 phosphorus 7.6 carb

Bff play best buds chicken and beef 7.9 carb 0.9 phosphorus

Bff play chicken Checkmate. 7.7 carb 0.7 phos

On the Cat Wok 3.8 carb 0.74 phos
 
, do you withhold food for two hours, test, and give insulin. And then give food when it is don

With ProZinc you test, then feed, then shoot...it can all be in quick succession, no need to wait
Do you have the syringes with half unit markings, we adjust doses by 0.25 units
 
I just tested Marie at home for the very first time. It was at her p.m. dosing time. She tested at 163. So I tired again because I was afraid I did it wrong and she was 158. She fasted for 2 hours prior. So I did not give her the insulin. I fed her and she ate like usual. (The vet did drop her down to 2 units after I asked if 3 was too much). She was diagnosed Monday of this week so she had three doses at 3 units and 3 doses at 2 units. I plan to check again in a couple of minutes but I just want to see what else I should be doing. I have terrible anxiety and this is so new to me. I feel like I'm all alone and would love any direction you can provide. I haven't put up my spreadsheet as I just started testing today. I just want to do this right and um scared.
 
I just tested Marie at home for the very first time. It was at her p.m. dosing time. She tested at 163. So I tired again because I was afraid I did it wrong and she was 158. She fasted for 2 hours prior. So I did not give her the insulin. I fed her and she ate like usual. (The vet did drop her down to 2 units after I asked if 3 was too much). She was diagnosed Monday of this week so she had three doses at 3 units and 3 doses at 2 units. I plan to check again in a couple of minutes but I just want to see what else I should be doing. I have terrible anxiety and this is so new to me. I feel like I'm all alone and would love any direction you can provide. I haven't put up my spreadsheet as I just started testing today. I just want to do this right and um scared.
I ran another test after eating and 1 hour later and she was 196. I didn't want to push off our schedule too much so didn't shoot. I hope I did this right. Also, I assume she might go high and not be too hungry I just need to get in 1 tablespoon before shooting at her next cycle if she is above 200, correct?
 
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.


If you need help with setting up anything please ask , we have a member who would be happy to set things up for you
 
She has not yet had any insulin ever correct? Or have you been giving doses the last few days?
 
Thank you all for the responses. For some reason I was only seeing that I had responses but couldn't read the actual response. Possibly user error. Anyway, I ended up contacting the vet to make sure it was okay. I am still doing some curves/random testing to add to my spreadsheet. Of course, I'm still testing at each cycle before shooting insulin. I hope to get my spreadsheet and signature up very soon. I am brand new to diabetes so it is taking me forever because I feel like I need to read every word in every file to make sure I do everything right. But I'm so glad to have all of you for support.
 
My main concern is if that's her numbers without insulin for a day, 2U is way too high. I'd start with like 0.25U max.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top