Vidya & Boo
Member Since 2012
We're still only on day 6 of Boo's Lantus treatment (2 units, twice daily), and watching BG begin to stabilize. But I'm thinking ahead to the next few days, and I'm unsure of something re: the tight-regulation protocol.
The guidelines say to hold the dose for 5-7 days initially (as we are now).
They then say to hold the dose for 3-5 days more if nadirs are less than 200. (Boo is currently registering most nadirs a little above 100, and his PS values are most often just under 150 now.)
So, if these BG readings stay the same, we'll hold the dose for 3-5 days more . . . but then what? The 'reducing the dose' guidelines seem to only apply if the nadirs drop below 50 (which they haven't), and the 'increasing the dose' guidelines only apply for nadirs greater than 200 (which are higher than he's registering). If Boo's numbers were to hold steady in the 100-150 range overall, would we just continue to hold the dose?
Yet other material posted/linked on the FDMB seems to suggest we should be aiming for stability in the non-diabetic 50-80 range (which could require a small dose increase to achieve) before attempting any dose reduction.
Could someone please clarify this for me? We obviously want to avoid any danger of hypoglycemia, yet we want to get Boo's numbers stabilized in a range where pancreatic healing is more probable. Thanks!
The guidelines say to hold the dose for 5-7 days initially (as we are now).
They then say to hold the dose for 3-5 days more if nadirs are less than 200. (Boo is currently registering most nadirs a little above 100, and his PS values are most often just under 150 now.)
So, if these BG readings stay the same, we'll hold the dose for 3-5 days more . . . but then what? The 'reducing the dose' guidelines seem to only apply if the nadirs drop below 50 (which they haven't), and the 'increasing the dose' guidelines only apply for nadirs greater than 200 (which are higher than he's registering). If Boo's numbers were to hold steady in the 100-150 range overall, would we just continue to hold the dose?
Yet other material posted/linked on the FDMB seems to suggest we should be aiming for stability in the non-diabetic 50-80 range (which could require a small dose increase to achieve) before attempting any dose reduction.
Could someone please clarify this for me? We obviously want to avoid any danger of hypoglycemia, yet we want to get Boo's numbers stabilized in a range where pancreatic healing is more probable. Thanks!