Probable insulin change

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peppersmom72

Member Since 2017
Hi Everyone! I haven't been on for a while. I have been working a lot of hours and am seriously exhausted. Pepper is doing well, now that she is on Miralax daily for her constipation. I had to stop her Lactulose, since I think it has been causing her BG to spike. But, I think I need to switch insulin anyways. @Chris & China (you had offered to help share your knowledge, if you still willing). She is currently on Prozinc. I really don't see a change with her numbers, unless it has everything to do with being on Lactulose for the past month and a half. I understand that getting her regulated is a sprint, but she shouldn't be this high for this long now. (Since November last year). Every time I increase her dose, she none stop wakes me up in the middle of the night acting like she is starving to death. Remember, I am not home to test during the day, but hubby agrees to test during the day while I am at work. If I beg....
 
Are you able to get any midcycle numbers on your days off, or before bed numbers? It’s really impossible to know what the insulin is actually doing without being able to see how low she goes. 1.6u is really not that high of a dose so there is a lot of room to change once you know how low she goes during the day.
 
Hi. You do not have any mid-cycle test results so how do you know what the insulin dose is doing? With only pre-shot tests, you cannot tell if she is getting not enough or too much insulin. (By the way, I do not see any dates on any rows since May.) If you are not home during the day, could you grab some at night and/or 'beg' the husband.. maybe do a curve on the weekend?

You were starting to get some 100s back in May when you had some mid-cycle tests. Your dose has only gone up once since then. You are still giving a pretty small dose, so there is a lot of room for increase IF that is needed based on mid-cycle tests.
 
Hi. You do not have any mid-cycle test results so how do you know what the insulin dose is doing? With only pre-shot tests, you cannot tell if she is getting not enough or too much insulin. (By the way, I do not see any dates on any rows since May.) If you are not home during the day, could you grab some at night and/or 'beg' the husband.. maybe do a curve on the weekend?

You were starting to get some 100s back in May when you had some mid-cycle tests. Your dose has only gone up once since then. You are still giving a pretty small dose, so there is a lot of room for increase IF that is needed based on mid-cycle tests.

I do the am/pm tests daily, I have never skipped a day. I will add the dates. :)
 
Lol feed her! Diabetic kitties don’t process food the way a normal healthy kitty would so she’ll need more food until her numbers are more regulated. Just pick up the food 2 hours before the pre-shot tests so you know it’s not food influenced.
 
You mentioned her waking you up like she is starving.. do you leave food out for her at night?
No. Hubby feeds her before he goes to bed at 1230-100am. I get up at 5am. So, I didn't want to leave food out not knowing if she may eat it less than 2 hours before her amps
 
If you think you (with hubby's help) you can start getting some mid-cycle tests in, you can post on the ProZinc forum and get help with when to do dose increases. The dose has been held a very long time. She probably just needs more frequent increases until you get to a spot where you have better numbers. Once she is on a dose a couple of days, if her mid-cycle numbers continue to stay too high, you can go ahead and increase. The key is that you have to have that mid-cycle data to know the dose impact and whether increases are appropriate and safe.
 
So the mid cycle tests will tell me if the high numbers are a bounce, correct?
Mid-cycle results will tell you the impact the insulin is having. So, you would be able to see if she is going too low which is then triggering a bounce.

I suspect that she is just not getting enough insulin, but it's impossible to know for sure without the data.
 
Sleep well! 265 is a good drop but not worrisome. It shows that the insulin is working tho so that’s good info! If you can convince your husband to get a test between +4 - +7 tomorrow that would be helpful to try to nail down his nadir. If he doesn’t get below the 200s I’d say he’s due for an increase.
 
I can get before bed tests. What do I do about her constantly wanting food every 2 hours?
Yes, feed her! Free feeding will help to keep her BG numbers more level and will allow her to eat if she feels she needs to or wants to. As everyone else has said, pick up the food 2 hours before testing.
 
Thank you everyone. DH told me last night he's not going to test unless she shows signs of hypo. Her amps is 355, so I don't know how low she got last night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top