Smokey
Member Since 2010
Hi everyone,
Since Smokey has come out of remission 2 weeks ago and has started with Lantus, I have seen no change in his matted fur, his weight loss, his hunger, drinking WAY too much water and his urine output. What is amazing to me is that he seems to have complete opposits BG readings as what is written. His highest BG of the day is always aroung +6 and his lowest of the day seem to be at Pre-Shot!
Based upon Smokey's SS, his vet has asked that I decrease his dosage from 2u to 1u (which for 2 days now I've been doing .25 at a time). His findings and diagnosis are based upon the PS BG, not the Nadir BG. He states that the new studies on feline's on Lantus are showing that the PS BG should be in the range of 300-350 at all times and you should use that number to base your dosage changes (with some consideration to behavior and Nadir). I have also seen this information online and see that some of the other users of the FDMB do it this way too. I am fully aware that this isn't the, "Normal" for how the majority of the users here determine dosage changes.
I really do love my vet and I know he has Smokey's best interest at heart...which leaves me torn. I have given my vet all of the information that I have found on this board however, he feels strongly that we should be dosing this way.
Does anyone else know of any or have had any experiences where the BG reads the highest at +6 and the lowest at the PS? I am extremely diligent about his shot times and feeding and had brought him into remission 8 months ago using Vetsulin combined with decreasing his weight from 19lb to 14lb.
He is currently weighing 11.3 and he really is a 14-15lb cat. It is just breaking my heart to see my best friend this way. :cry:
Since Smokey has come out of remission 2 weeks ago and has started with Lantus, I have seen no change in his matted fur, his weight loss, his hunger, drinking WAY too much water and his urine output. What is amazing to me is that he seems to have complete opposits BG readings as what is written. His highest BG of the day is always aroung +6 and his lowest of the day seem to be at Pre-Shot!
Based upon Smokey's SS, his vet has asked that I decrease his dosage from 2u to 1u (which for 2 days now I've been doing .25 at a time). His findings and diagnosis are based upon the PS BG, not the Nadir BG. He states that the new studies on feline's on Lantus are showing that the PS BG should be in the range of 300-350 at all times and you should use that number to base your dosage changes (with some consideration to behavior and Nadir). I have also seen this information online and see that some of the other users of the FDMB do it this way too. I am fully aware that this isn't the, "Normal" for how the majority of the users here determine dosage changes.
I really do love my vet and I know he has Smokey's best interest at heart...which leaves me torn. I have given my vet all of the information that I have found on this board however, he feels strongly that we should be dosing this way.
Does anyone else know of any or have had any experiences where the BG reads the highest at +6 and the lowest at the PS? I am extremely diligent about his shot times and feeding and had brought him into remission 8 months ago using Vetsulin combined with decreasing his weight from 19lb to 14lb.
He is currently weighing 11.3 and he really is a 14-15lb cat. It is just breaking my heart to see my best friend this way. :cry: