Pre shot numbers always high....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jane & Boo (GA)

Active Member
One thing I'll say for Boo.... she's very consistent. Post shot - her numbers look great... but at the end of every dose, she's right back into the pink again. I would love to see yellow pre-shot numbers, but I think that increasing her dose to achieve that will cause problems at the +4, which is typically her nadir. Unfortunately, I'm not home during the day throughout the work week to monitor and test.

She is still in desperate need of a dental. Her vet has been insistent that her BG be consistently in the 200s before he would do the procedure. I'll be chatting with him later today about her numbers with the hope that the 300+ "book ends" are deemed immaterial given that her post shot numbers are in the 200s or lower for the better part of the day and night. I think I'm to the point that I'm going to become insistent with him as I really believe that the dental will cause her test results to change for the better.

She's also getting pretty cranky about all of the pokes, so I'm hoping too that the dental will improve her disposition.

I welcome any and all advise, words of wisdom, and encouragement.
 
I hope the dental helps. It does look like she bounces often. She did okay when her low was in the hundreds but not in the 50/60 range. There are two schools of thought:

Continue with your dosing and assume her body will get used to the lower ranges and stop bouncing.

Reduce the dose a smudge and see if she flattens out. I think I might try this as she has often been close to 50 which would mean a dose reduction. Maybe just a little - pull up 1.6 and let out a drop or two. See if that helps with a later nadir and less bouncing?
 
Tests around +9, +10, and +11 may show a duration problem if the glucose takes an upswing then and goes to pre-shot levels. I don't see any recent tests at those times, so if you can get some checks then (day off maybe?) it will clarify that. If that is what is happening there are some finagles to manage that..
 
If this pattern continues after her dental, I will get +9, +10, & +11 numbers and reach out to you about those finagles. Many thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top