I want to offer a couple of observations.
Decide where you want to post. Personally, I would recommend the Lantus forum, but that's your choice. There's a good chance your going to get conflicting information if you post in both Health and Lantus. (e.g., people not going over to the Lantus forum and reading what was posted there yesterday).
If my crystal ball worked, I'd have guessed that Sam's numbers were in the greens last night -- his numbers dropped after your +3. This is indicated by his AMPS today. It's really important that you start getting more tests. This is especially the case with a lower pre-shot. With a pre-shot of 72 and not having much/any data to guide you, there's no telling how low Sam's numbers went. Looking at the thread you posted on the Lantus forum, I thought you were going to get a curve today.
I would stick with the 2.5u dose. I realize Wendy suggested 2.75u but that was before your AMPS of 72. If you're not comfortable with 2.5u, then drop it back to 2.25u but you need to find a dose you can stick with. If you're following SLGS, you will need to hold that dose for a week. With TR, you would hold the dose for at least 3 days.
Also, a reminder... Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle and not on the pre-shot numbers. I know you want to minimize testing -- at least until Sam decides you're not trying to torture him. However, what he wants and what will keep him safe may contradict each other. You need to test at pre-shot and at least once during both the AM and PM cycle - thus, at least 4 times a day. Getting a curve will tell you when Lantus onset and nadir typically occur. That is also important information. If you need to adjust dosing on a cycle by cycle basis, Lantus may not be the best choice of insulin. Lantus needs a minimum of 3 days of consistent dosing (barring the need for a dose reduction) for the depot to stabilize after any change in dose. Frequent changes in dose will give you wonky numbers.