Potentially switching dosing methods, want to increase doseds

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harold Kunzli

Member Since 2021
I am not sure if I can commit to fully switching methods from SLGS to Modified Prozinc Method but I would like to try.
I have been thinking about it for months, but with his current numbers I think now would be the best time.
If I stick with SLGS I should not increase, but with Prozinc Method I can. I feel pretty confident he will do better with more insulin, and I have the supplies for potential hypo.

Any thoughts? He is due for insulin in 2 hours. Can I do 2 units? Or should I stick to 1.75?

Going to cross-post in Prozinc forum
 
You can increase either way ;) The nadirs you're seeing still leave room for an increase with SLGS.
 
I thought no increase for SLGS is 8.3 mmol?

Either way, thanks for the reply! I think I will go ahead with 2 units for his a.m shot
Remember dose is based on nadir. Lowest youve seen is 6.7mmol, 5 mmol is the lowest you can go with SLGS.

The 8.3mmol is for preshots. So what you'll want to do now is slowly lower the preshot value you shoot. This morning you did 10mmol @ 1.75U and he got down to 6.7mmol, so you know you could have safely given a higher dose. I'd suggest the following:
  • If preshot is 8.9 or higher, give 2U.
  • If preshot is 8.7-8.89, give 1.75U.
  • Below 8.7 use your best judgment. Maybe it's 1U, maybe it's 0.5U.
Once you get more data at those lower preshots, you'll be able to know what dose is safe to give at what numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top