Post full moon low? Jeddie pmPS 76

Status
Not open for further replies.
I seem to recall he did this one other time as the moon stared to wane. I shot a bit of a reduced dose, .4u instead of .5u.

We are all headed out of town on Sunday for a week. I take all the cats with me to my family's house in MI. It's a 300 mile drive that takes about 6 hours. I put all the cats in a large dog crate I have in my back seat. I put shelves across half of it for extra space and it was a litter box (that Beau always sleeps in :roll: ). My youngest (cat) gets car sick so I have to actually alter my route to a less hilly road bypassing the best 22 miles of the drive, unfortunately. Has anyone ever used anti-nausea (motion sickness) meds with their cat?
 
I wonder if Prozac might help with that?

And yeah, I see numbers go down after the full moon too. He was 300s leading up to full moon. Sorry, haven't updated spreadsheet.

Off to bed, just checking in and saw this. Hope you have a fun trip. Do they have cicadas up there? The 13 yr ones are out down here. Little bitty black things with orange veined wings. One flew on the lawn tractor when I was mowing today. I'm used to the big green, iridescent ones. These 13 yr ones are puny in comparison and not as noisy in my estimation.
 
Have a nice time! :mrgreen:
When we did the transport for Lilly Grace, the vet gave me an anti anxiety med. But I can't recall what it was.(wasn't prozac ) I could call them or ask Tucker's mom what it was if you need me too.
LG did not like being in a crate one bit. So, she sat on my friend's lap and just chilled. From NJ to CT.
 
Funny how our kitties react differently to the moon. Have a nice time on your vacation.

When we drove from Connecticut to Colorado we gave Klinger something that made him need the AC on full blast and then he would sleep. I can't remember what it was, but we were freezing the whole way here. We finally stopped and bought sweatshirts. :lol: That was a fun trip. That was eleven years ago, so I hope they have something that works better for you.
 
Well, he was 301 this am. I really can't figure out his dose. I just started shooting in that flap of skin behind the elbow. He doesn't react to that the way he does to further back on the side. Maybe it will absorb better there? Part of me thinks he needs less insulin - that the med-high, flat numbers with occasional low PS's are indicating rebound, but when I reduce him, even to 50% of the dose and let it settle, his numbers are not any better. I can't see giving him more because of those PS's in the 60s and 70s.

I wonder if prozac would help Ariel with the car. I would probably have to start it now so it is built up in her system. Not sure if the nausea (she foams at the mouth and drools) is from anxiety nailbite_smile or motion sickness confused_cat . It only happens that last part where there are a lot of rolling hills, curves and deeper climbs and descents (up to 600 feet in places). I doubt prozac would help with motion sickness.

I used to get car sick as a kid and the only thing that helped me was to look out the front window so I could see the road dipping down and then back up and anticipate the change in G-force. Then I out grew it. When I first started flying I had no trouble, but the last few times I flew (10 years after I started flying) I had to try and anticipate the turns and dips. I was flying left seat as safety pilot, so not the pilot at the controls and I think that is what made the difference there. Could be an inner ear thing too. As you age you can get debris in your inner are that floats around creating currents that move the hairs that sense movement and that creates a disparity from what your eyes tell you is happening and what your ear canals tell your brain is happening :? . It causes dizziness and can cause nausea.

And that ends your health lesson for today. There will be a quiz on Monday :mrgreen:
 
Since it only occurs during that roller-coaster part of the trip, it surely must be motion sickness, especially with the drooling meaning her tummy's upset. I thought there was something vets gave dogs for motion sickness? I searched and came up with Benadryl and Dramamine - the same thing people take! http://www.discountpetmedicines.com/cat-and-dog-motion-sickness.htm

Benadryl sounds safer than the dramamine though. Another thing I read was make sure they are in the center of the car because it experiences less motion. Not sure how you would do that with the cage, but maybe before you start that apart of the trip, you could move her to a carrier and place it more center of the car or in the cage.

And they mentioned traveling on an empty stomach helps them experience less nausea. I know it's a long trip, but maybe fast her an hour before you leave, then no food during the trip. We know she won't starve for 7 hours, then can eat all she wants once you get there.

If you try the benadryl make sure you talk to your vet to see what dose would be OK to give. It's OTC, so there's no reason they should refuse to give you an idea or maybe we can find it online somewhere or ask on Health.
 
As you age you can get debris in your inner are that floats around creating currents that move the hairs that sense movement and that creates a disparity from what your eyes tell you is happening and what your ear canals tell your brain is happening . It causes dizziness and can cause nausea.

Are you talking about ear "crystals"?
I found these two videos helpful.
http://www.neurology.org/cgi/content/full/63/1/150/DC1f

Marcy & Klinger
 
Yeah I think it's motion sickness too. Probably fasting her and taking the other route is the best way to handle it. I hate giving meds if I don't have to.

Marcy, your link didn't work, but I think that is the same thing. Here is a link to an article by one of the Northwestern University docs - this is my illustration. I think I did it at least 15 years ago! http://www.dizziness-and-balance.com/disorders/bppv/bppv.html Actually, I did all the illustrations on that page except the two bottom inner ear canal ones. He gave my illustration to someone else to copy ( cat(2)_steam ), so the hard work of figuring out the EXACT curvature of the canals to Dr. Hain's liking was mine. You'll notice they are just a mirror image of the ones in the top illustration I did.
 
Fixed SS - not sure what I was doing there. I entered all his latest numbers and do the doses by hitting 'period, number, number, down arrow" must have gotten my brain stuck on ".05" instead of ".50" . :roll:
 
Hope you have a good trip Sheila and that Ariel travels better this time (it is Ariel isn't it).

I also hope nobody left behind any fleas for you this time!

Will you have your laptop with you? If so, let us know how things went on the trip there.
 
That reminds me to take the Frontline! Yeah, I am hoping there are no fleas up there this time.

Yes, it is MI, yes, it is Ariel, and, yes, I will have my laptop with me, but I have to drive into town to get wifi somewhere, so I probably won't check in to often. (I will check in though!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top