? Post DKA Millie Moderate for Ketones! AMPS 404. Back home. NEED DOSING ADVICE

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm glad you gave something. Due to our odd work schedules, there has been a couple times that we have done some odd split dosing with my cat - he has the flattest BS you'd ever find however, so take this with a grain of salt. My thoughts are this if you encounter this situation in the future - you had the 2U in the AM, then 1 U in the afternoon acting. So his usual is 2U AM and 2U PM. Since the BS were high all day, if you had given 1U in the PM, that would actually be a dose reduction for the next 12 hours, as the earlier split dose depot is somewhat warn off. I feel you would have been ok with 1 U at the PM, possibly 1.25 if you felt aggressive. But, again, it's good that you did shoot.

Try and get a ketone test in as soon as you can so you know the baseline where she's at. The best indicator of recovery is ketone level and eating/interest in food. BS don't always correlate to recovery so track them mostly to keep her safe from hypos at this point. As much food and water as you can get in her if you can overnight. Did the vet give you anti-nausea to bring home? Also sometimes treats and pieces of dry can be more interesting to cats if they are reformed kibble addicts.
 
I'm on a
I'm glad you gave something. Due to our odd work schedules, there has been a couple times that we have done some odd split dosing with my cat - he has the flattest BS you'd ever find however, so take this with a grain of salt. My thoughts are this if you encounter this situation in the future - you had the 2U in the AM, then 1 U in the afternoon acting. So his usual is 2U AM and 2U PM. Since the BS were high all day, if you had given 1U in the PM, that would actually be a dose reduction for the next 12 hours, as the earlier split dose depot is somewhat warn off. I feel you would have been ok with 1 U at the PM, possibly 1.25 if you felt aggressive. But, again, it's good that you did shoot.

Try and get a ketone test in as soon as you can so you know the baseline where she's at. The best indicator of recovery is ketone level and eating/interest in food. BS don't always correlate to recovery so track them mostly to keep her safe from hypos at this point. As much food and water as you can get in her if you can overnight. Did the vet give you anti-nausea to bring home? Also sometimes treats and pieces of dry can be more interesting to cats if they are reformed kibble addicts.
I wanted to give one but I'm new at this and wasn't getting enough feedback. I totally understand that folks cannot give dosing/medical advice, just needed a bit more info since it's my first time doing this on my own. I had figured something was better than nothing. Just gave her a third syringe feeding spread over four hours. I don't want her to throw up like she did this morning after I fed her and she had been drinking tons of water. I am going to try to nap for a few hours and then see how she is doing later. She climbed up on the radiator cover which her new spot the last few weeks (closer to the ac). I raised the ac in case she gets cold.
 
Just cheerleading here...You are Going Great!!! You are a fantastic mama! :cat:

On the feeding, syringe feeding can be trying, but necessary if they won't eat. You can try lots of different things to encourage eating on her own. My cat likes to be fed from a spoon or my finger when he is sick (big baby). Try a different dish or a different location (mine also likes on the bed eating) :smuggrin:

Big Hugs, Sorry you are not felling great...Hang In There!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Just cheerleading here...You are Going Great!!! You are a fantastic mama! :cat:

On the feeding, syringe feeding can be trying, but necessary if they won't eat. You can try lots of different things to encourage eating on her own. My cat likes to be fed from a spoon or my finger when he is sick (big baby). Try a different dish or a different location (mine also likes on the bed eating) :smuggrin:

Big Hugs, Sorry you are not felling great...Hang In There!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Millie's +8 BG 237 -yay. It came down a little and that was with a small amount of insulin (although the extra from earlier). Just fed her again, seemed to actually swallow the food. I have continued to try her favorite HC treats & other 'goodie (bonita tuna flakes, free dried chicken) she hasn't been interested. I'll continue to offer it though & other things. She isn't drinking as much, I will give her fluids in the morning when my husband can help.

The hubs took pity after hearing me up throughout the night and will stay home & help tomorrow which is great because there is home stuff going on as well.
 
Oh, that is really helpful-- yay hubs!

It's tough to nurse a cat through this kind of thing. I'm glad she's getting some food into her and that her numbers are coming down a bit. You're doing great!
 
Sorry, I just got the tag and looks like things are going better now. Glad you got insulin into her last night. Bubba had moderate ketones the Dec before last and pushing lots of fluids helped ( I added 1/4 of a cup to every meal) and making sure he ate offering every tasting trick in the book (His favorite when off his feed was Beech Nut baby food chicken, turkey or ham)

Keep testing for ketones as you need to stay on top of that.

ETA: I just wanted to comment on the bouncing and holding the dose. Some kitties just are bouncers and holding the dose will not combat that. The nadirs are what you want to look at for dosing not the bounce numbers. Increasing the dose safely by the TR protocol to get her in healthier numbers for longer periods of time is what will help her with staying out of ketones and the bouncing.
 
Last edited:
Sorry, I just got the tag and looks like things are going better now. Glad you got insulin into her last night. Bubba had moderate ketones the Dec before last and pushing lots of fluids helped ( I added 1/4 of a cup to every meal) and making sure he ate offering every tasting trick in the book (His favorite when off his feed was Beech Nut baby food chicken, turkey or ham)

Keep testing for ketones as you need to stay on top of that.

ETA: I just wanted to comment on the bouncing and holding the dose. Some kitties just are bouncers and holding the dose will not combat that. The nadirs are what you want to look at for dosing not the bounce numbers. Increasing the dose safely by the TR protocol to get her in healthier numbers for longer periods of time is what will help her with staying out of ketones and the bouncing.
I keep checking but no urine! We have her fluids this morning and I'm adding water to the food but I guess it's not enough to make her use the litter box. I might syringe some water into her.......
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top