Possible Symogyi Rebound?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Concerned_Parent86

Member Since 2022
Hello everyone, my name is Carlos and I have a 17 year old cat named Taz.

Taz was diagnosed with feline diabetes in the summer of 2019 after urinating excessively and losing a bit of weight which was initially welcomed by us ignorant folk. Taz has always been a lazy cat but i believe it was because my parents didnt know if we were going to keep him after giving away 1 previous kitten which hurt us all so we tried not to get too attached. The only time he would receive attention from us was when he wouldnt eat. So i believe this set him up to have a weird relationship to food which has always made me feel inadequate. Eventually in his later years he became obese and I tried to make him become more active over the years by playing with him more. If only I knew how badly kibble was affecting him...he is now a 20lb cat.

When he was diagnosed the vet gave a treatment regiment of 2u of Lantus to be taken every 12h. The syringes that they gave us were the U-40, 1/2ml-20u. They gave us this without telling us about Lantus being a u-100 insulin type!

I don't know how Taz managed to be okay but while the vet was working out the glucose curve he told us to bring it down to 1u in the same syringe. Neither I nor any of my family checked on the vet office recommendations regarding syringes WITHOUT conversion charts because we trusted their judgement. Plus they didn't give much in terms of resources, mainly we were to watch for signs of hypoglycemia and DKA.

Regardless Taz has been given what translates to the equivalent of 2.5 u on a u-100 syringe for almost 2 years every 12h. Since he's always been very lazy we can't comment on whether or not this was just his laziness or because he was just hypoglycemic.

Recently the vet sent us with different syringes (1/2ml, u-100, 50 unit) but since I haven't been home to check any of this, my parents have given him the same dose by "eyeballing it" for about a couple of months.

Last week we noticed that Taz started urinating more often and in larger amounts so we decided to take him to the vet. My parents gave him the 2 units eyeballed to closely resemble the old syringes to give "1u" at 06:30h which was the norm for years. We then took him to the vet at 08:00h He stayed there for the whole day while they worked out what insulin dose he should be on. At the end of it he called me to obtain consent to attach a "Freestyle Librelink" glucometer on his skin so that we can do continuous blood testing at home to which I agreed. For whatever reason he also thought were still giving him 2u despite him being on 1u (2.5 true units on a U-100 syringe) for years. So he decided to up the dosage to 2u once again since his glucose curve was virtually non existent at the vets office. The vet office day was on Monday October 24. We were asked to keep him on this 2u dose for 2-3 days and call the vet to see if we need to tweak his dosing.

At home, my parents gave him the 1u of insulin for the evening as prescribed by the vet. We were to start on 2u on tuesday. My parents proceeded to eyeball the insulin again without my knowledge, and gave him 5 units in the u-100 syringe thinking that that is the recommended 2u that the vet gave in the older syringes in the morning of Tuesday at 06:30h. His BG was 26.2 mmol/L at the time of dosing. His first 12h after the change of dose, he was lethargic, his peak was 25.8 mmol/L and his lowest was 22 mmol/L. At 18:30h his BG was 22.3 at time of dosing (5u). In the following 12h his peak was 23.2 mmol/L and his lowest was 15 mmol/L. On wednesday morning dosing October 26th his BG was 17.1 at 0630h (5u). The next 12h he seemed more active, his highest was 21 and his lowest was 18.3.

I called the vet to give him the numbers and he told me to call back again befire the weekend for more data. We were to keep him on the prescribed 2u.

Since I was checking him overnight worried about his sugar levels I ended up passing out and I didn't see my parents giving him his next dose at 18:30h in the evening after the vet had closed. Given the trends they continued with the 5u. They came into my room to give the insulin dose because Taz sleeps in my bed and I woke up zombie like to realize that the syringes are different. I asked if my parents checked his blood glucose before giving him his 5 units which they didn't so I checked myself after the 5u were given and he was at 8.8 mmol/L. I stayed up all night again checking his glucose levels every 30 mins and feeding him trying to keep his BG levels stable. His highest for those 12h was 10mmol/L and his lowest was 5.4. But overall he stayed within range and he stopped urinating large amounts. At 06:30h on Thursday 27, his BG was 4.8 and so we refrained from giving him any insulin for those 12h. His lowest was 3.9 at 07:00h

I called the vet to talk to him about what just happened the night before when they opened. He wasn't available so I gave the BG readings to the front desk staff. He called me in about an hour later. He said not to give any insulin which i told him i skipped a dose and I also asked about the syringes and why these are different. He immediately freaked out and told me to drop the units to 4u saying that I'm gonna kill my cat. He then second guessed himself and told me to drop him down to 3u after he reviewed the BG numbers that were given earlier. So told me to give him his 3u and keep him there over the weekend. He said he caught on about a month back with the syringes being the wrong ones so he ordered for them to give us the correct u-100...but without telling us why or what it means? He asked to keep taz on 3u and to call him after the weekend when we have more info. We gave the 3u at 16:30 when we noticed that Taz BG went through the roof. The glucometer just read as high.

I kept watching him throughout the night for any signs of DKA, but other than him drinking more and peeing more his activity levels haven't really changed. It took until Friday 28th at 00:25h for the glucometer to read 26.6. His BG stayed in the low 20s overnight. At 04:30h on Friday 28th, we continued with his 3u u-100 dose. His highest was 23.9 and his lowest was 22.2 at 16:30h yesterday his BG was 19.9. At this point I was freaking out by how high his numbers have been and for that long that I decided to up the dose to 4u as I don't trust my vet for anything anymore. I also am currently between jobs so taking him to an emergency vet is a last ditch option as I don't know if we'll be able to afford it. His BG has remained in the low 20s ever since. He is only eating 1/2 cup of diabetic Purina kibble. Still drinks and pees a lot. Please help or just tell me if I should go to emergency. I feel overwhelmed and I feel like an idiot and I'm really worried about my kitty. He's always been such a great boy.

Thank you

Summary: Taz has had low 20 mmol/L for a couple of days. The vet doesn't seem too worried and offers little guidance. Please help
 
Last edited:
Welcome to FDMB! I'm so sorry your vet has been unhelpful (if not dangerous) and good for you for figuring the dosing issue out! You're not an idiot!! The good news is that your vet prescribed a good insulin for Taz.

Given that Taz's numbers dropped into a low range he hasn't seen in a while, he seems to be "bouncing". This is a term we use here to describe what happens when a cat's blood glucose (BG) falls into a lower range (even a normal range) and the kitty isn't used to being in those numbers. The liver and pancreas overreact by releasing a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. These cause the BG to spike back up. It can take 3 days for the bounce to clear. And FYI, the recent research regarding Somoygi does not support it's existence in cats especially not in cats prescribed Lantus or other long lasting insulin.

To help you get oriented to Lantus, I'd suggest you take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board. There is a great deal of information about Lantus, dosing methods, what syringes to use, etc.

It will be helpful for both you and us if you could take a look at this post on helping us to help you. It will provide instructions on how to set up your signature (the signature provides information about Taz so we don't keep asking you the same questions repeatedly) and a spreadsheet. We are very numbers driven so having a spreadsheet will allow you to keep track of Taz's progress and will let us follow along in order to offer help. The post also has information about a hypo toolkit and other basics.

You may want to consider a diet change. The Purina diabetic food, at least the kibble, is very high in carbohydrates. In essence, you're feeding Taz cookies! We consider low carb as being under 10% carb -- although most of the members here feed their cat in the 5% range. This is a link to a chart of many of the canned cat foods available in the US along with their nutritional values. (From the blood glucose values you're posting, I'm guessing you're not in the US. We have additional food lists for caregivers in other parts of the world. Just let us know where you are.) Cats have a limited thirst drive. They do better with the moisture in canned foods as it's helpful for their kidneys. In case you want to do more reading, this is a link to a great website on feline nutrition.

I don't think this is an emergency. If Taz's behavior is normal, I wouldn't be inclined to worry. Do keep checking his BG. If you're concerned about DKA, you can pick up ketosticks at most pharmacies. You dip the stick in Taz's urine stream, wait the amount of time in the instructions and then compare the color on the stick to the guide on the container.
 
Welcome to FDMB! I'm so sorry your vet has been unhelpful (if not dangerous) and good for you for figuring the dosing issue out! You're not an idiot!! The good news is that your vet prescribed a good insulin for Taz.

Given that Taz's numbers dropped into a low range he hasn't seen in a while, he seems to be "bouncing". This is a term we use here to describe what happens when a cat's blood glucose (BG) falls into a lower range (even a normal range) and the kitty isn't used to being in those numbers. The liver and pancreas overreact by releasing a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. These cause the BG to spike back up. It can take 3 days for the bounce to clear. And FYI, the recent research regarding Somoygi does not support it's existence in cats especially not in cats prescribed Lantus or other long lasting insulin.

To help you get oriented to Lantus, I'd suggest you take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board. There is a great deal of information about Lantus, dosing methods, what syringes to use, etc.

It will be helpful for both you and us if you could take a look at this post on helping us to help you. It will provide instructions on how to set up your signature (the signature provides information about Taz so we don't keep asking you the same questions repeatedly) and a spreadsheet. We are very numbers driven so having a spreadsheet will allow you to keep track of Taz's progress and will let us follow along in order to offer help. The post also has information about a hypo toolkit and other basics.

You may want to consider a diet change. The Purina diabetic food, at least the kibble, is very high in carbohydrates. In essence, you're feeding Taz cookies! We consider low carb as being under 10% carb -- although most of the members here feed their cat in the 5% range. This is a link to a chart of many of the canned cat foods available in the US along with their nutritional values. (From the blood glucose values you're posting, I'm guessing you're not in the US. We have additional food lists for caregivers in other parts of the world. Just let us know where you are.) Cats have a limited thirst drive. They do better with the moisture in canned foods as it's helpful for their kidneys. In case you want to do more reading, this is a link to a great website on feline nutrition.

I don't think this is an emergency. If Taz's behavior is normal, I wouldn't be inclined to worry. Do keep checking his BG. If you're concerned about DKA, you can pick up ketosticks at most pharmacies. You dip the stick in Taz's urine stream, wait the amount of time in the instructions and then compare the color on the stick to the guide on the container.
Welcome to FDMB! I'm so sorry your vet has been unhelpful (if not dangerous) and good for you for figuring the dosing issue out! You're not an idiot!! The good news is that your vet prescribed a good insulin for Taz.

Given that Taz's numbers dropped into a low range he hasn't seen in a while, he seems to be "bouncing". This is a term we use here to describe what happens when a cat's blood glucose (BG) falls into a lower range (even a normal range) and the kitty isn't used to being in those numbers. The liver and pancreas overreact by releasing a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. These cause the BG to spike back up. It can take 3 days for the bounce to clear. And FYI, the recent research regarding Somoygi does not support it's existence in cats especially not in cats prescribed Lantus or other long lasting insulin.

To help you get oriented to Lantus, I'd suggest you take a look at the sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board. There is a great deal of information about Lantus, dosing methods, what syringes to use, etc.

It will be helpful for both you and us if you could take a look at this post on helping us to help you. It will provide instructions on how to set up your signature (the signature provides information about Taz so we don't keep asking you the same questions repeatedly) and a spreadsheet. We are very numbers driven so having a spreadsheet will allow you to keep track of Taz's progress and will let us follow along in order to offer help. The post also has information about a hypo toolkit and other basics.

You may want to consider a diet change. The Purina diabetic food, at least the kibble, is very high in carbohydrates. In essence, you're feeding Taz cookies! We consider low carb as being under 10% carb -- although most of the members here feed their cat in the 5% range. This is a link to a chart of many of the canned cat foods available in the US along with their nutritional values. (From the blood glucose values you're posting, I'm guessing you're not in the US. We have additional food lists for caregivers in other parts of the world. Just let us know where you are.) Cats have a limited thirst drive. They do better with the moisture in canned foods as it's helpful for their kidneys. In case you want to do more reading, this is a link to a great website on feline nutrition.

I don't think this is an emergency. If Taz's behavior is normal, I wouldn't be inclined to worry. Do keep checking his BG. If you're concerned about DKA, you can pick up ketosticks at most pharmacies. You dip the stick in Taz's urine stream, wait the amount of time in the instructions and then compare the color on the stick to the guide on the container.
Thank you so much! I'm going to read all this info asap. I will post again if anything changes!
 
Welcome to the best place. Waving from the Kawarthas.

First of all, throw out the u40 syringes (they have a red cap) and only use the U100 syringes (orange cap).
Next, take one of the orange syringes and fill it to the dose mark with coloured water. This syringe will be a guide for your parents to measure against.

A forewarning: The Libre only lasts for 14 days and some cats have a knack at ripping it off before then.
You may want to get a back-up human meter. The FreeStyle Lite is available in Canada. Strips are on the expensive side in Canada (Lantus is not – and the opposite is true in the US). You will need at least 100 strips just to start off with, especially since your vet has been giving not great dosing advice. PC points can be used at Shoppers.

Fancy Feast pates and Friskies pates are considered low carb. The US food chart contains quite a number of foods available in Canada. The switch to a low carb diet needs to be done very gradually. Just switching diets can drop a cat's numbers a lot and possibly lower the insulin needs.

I'm tagging @Butters & Lyla who knows some good vets in the GTA.
 
Welcome to the best place. Waving from the Kawarthas.

First of all, throw out the u40 syringes (they have a red cap) and only use the U100 syringes (orange cap).
Next, take one of the orange syringes and fill it to the dose mark with coloured water. This syringe will be a guide for your parents to measure against.

A forewarning: The Libre only lasts for 14 days and some cats have a knack at ripping it off before then.
You may want to get a back-up human meter. The FreeStyle Lite is available in Canada. Strips are on the expensive side in Canada (Lantus is not – and the opposite is true in the US). You will need at least 100 strips just to start off with, especially since your vet has been giving not great dosing advice. PC points can be used at Shoppers.

Fancy Feast pates and Friskies pates are considered low carb. The US food chart contains quite a number of foods available in Canada. The switch to a low carb diet needs to be done very gradually. Just switching diets can drop a cat's numbers a lot and possibly lower the insulin needs.

I'm tagging @Butters & Lyla who knows some good vets in the GTA.
Thank you for your response!

Yes, the glucometer will only last for 14 days and I know it gets itchy for him. We have put a baby shirt on him suitable for a 1 year old…he’s a big boy and he seems to be unable to touch it for now. We never knew that getting a glucometer was necessary but after educating myself this week there are a lot of changes to be made in the next few months. I think it is a good idea to get one and I will do so soon. At this point in time I guess I’m trying to find out the correct dosage but thanks to the info that Sienne and Gaby gave me, I know it’ll take some time. Just scared of him having his BG spike or drop to dangerous levels. Right now he seems to be leveling off at 11 mmol/L based on the last 3 checks each done at 30 min intervals at the current 4u that I’m holding him on. He’s purring now but I know that perhaps his BG will decrease overnight but not too worried as long as it doesn’t drop quickly like the first time we went through this earlier in the week. Currently I’m trying to read and make sense of all of the info found on this site that pertains to my kitty. It is quite a lot and a bit overwhelming since I still have a mental fog due to a recent bout of covid.

Regardless I can’t thank you enough and everyone else for the info given. I will update with any concerning changes.

Edit: yes we don’t have any other u-40 syringes anymore
 
Last edited:
Hi Carlos,

Feline diabetes is a steep learning curve. People here can help you every step of the way. Ask questions. We like questions.

A spreadsheet will really help us see what the patterns are.

Lantus is a depot insulin and craves consistency and with Taz's dosing being all over the place, the first place someone will look at is the spreadsheet. If you have problems setting one up, there are people here who can set one up quickly. The one you want is the World spreadsheet.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
@Red & Rover (GA) tag received :D!

I wonder if it gets itchy for him because the vet used some kind of glue in addition to the adhesive that’s already on the libre itself. I’ve heard of that being the cause of itchiness for other cats. Butters wears Libres occasionally which I put on her myself, no additional glue but I cover them with a fabric collar and they do not bother her at all. Just something to think about if you put another one on him when this one stops working.

What happened with the syringes is terrifying. I’m so sorry that happened to you and Taz. I’m in the six as well so if you want to discuss vets in the area, I’ve had experience with some. I don’t discuss that publicly but I’ll PM you. Also happy to just generally be a local resource for you if you’d like one.
 
Hi Carlos,

Feline diabetes is a steep learning curve. People here can help you every step of the way. Ask questions. We like questions.

A spreadsheet will really help us see what the patterns are.

Lantus is a depot insulin and craves consistency and with Taz's dosing being all over the place, the first place someone will look at is the spreadsheet. If you have problems setting one up, there are people here who can set one up quickly. The one you want is the World spreadsheet.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
Hi Red,

Thank you again for the info. I was using this time to create the spreadsheet which is now up on my signature although its the link and not a hyperlink right now. My question is do I just keep him at 4u? How do I know the curve is too steep? I’m still unsure about how much of an increment i can increase or reduce. Im holding him at 4u and giving Purina kibble in 1/8 cups throughout the day when needed during nadir but still within the Rx 1 cup a day value. There are times when he was hungry but he's still low 20 mmol/L during his first day of rebound so i didn't feed despite the meows. I just dont know if i messed up freaking out about his super high BG because i feared him going into DKA or if i made the right call by upping the dose since he mightve just been going through a rebound? I could've maintained his dose at the 3u as recommended by my vet. At this point i understand that i shouldnt change his dose for at least 3 days but just scared that its too much? Maybe the vet was right? I'm a little sleep deprived so I’m sorry if I’m not making much sense. It also sucks because I'm in between jobs and if my parents can't afford his treatment for any serious complication they're just gonna opt for euthanasia. I hope im just over-reacting tbh it's just a lot of things in a weird time in mine and Taz' life. I truly thank everyone for the resources and the good vines shared.

Edit: more questions added.
 
Last edited:
@Red & Rover (GA) tag received :D!

I wonder if it gets itchy for him because the vet used some kind of glue in addition to the adhesive that’s already on the libre itself. I’ve heard of that being the cause of itchiness for other cats. Butters wears Libres occasionally which I put on her myself, no additional glue but I cover them with a fabric collar and they do not bother her at all. Just something to think about if you put another one on him when this one stops working.

What happened with the syringes is terrifying. I’m so sorry that happened to you and Taz. I’m in the six as well so if you want to discuss vets in the area, I’ve had experience with some. I don’t discuss that publicly but I’ll PM you. Also happy to just generally be a local resource for you if you’d like one.
Hi Lyla and Butters!

I’m not sure if the vet used some other glue. Taz hasn’t been too itchy but he did develop a blunt of itchiness yesterday for about 30 mins straight. He hasn’t tried to scratch since i scratched around the libre monitor for him. Yeah I’m currently covering his libre with a baby shirt…seems to work well enough and its in a place where he can’t scratch easily. Thank you for your response!
 
Carlos -

I'm wondering if you're confusing DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis) and hypoglycemia? DKA typically results when there's an infection or inflammation present + not enough calories consumed + not enough insulin. It can happen relatively quickly but most attentive caregivers will notice other symptoms such as lethargy. It's wise to be aware of what it consists of since it can be a llfe threatening condition. Hypoglycemia is the result of low BG numbers. It is manageable if you're aware that the numbers are dropping. We have had to send caregivers to the emergency vet if the numbers are very low and the cat isn't responding to high carb food but this is an unusual event.

A word on your spreadsheet... You need to add your numbers to the World tab. If you enter the numbers there, you are entering in mmol/L format -- the numbers you're reading on your meter. The speadsheet is set up to convert the World numbers to the measurement system we use in the US (mg/dL). Those of us in the US have to manually convert your readings to a format we understand. If it's not too much trouble, can you move the numbers over to the appropriate tab?

Please consider ditching the dry food. It's truly terrible for Taz. The ingredients include: Poultry By-Product Meal, Soy Protein Isolate, Corn Gluten Meal, Soy Flour, Animal Fat Preserved with Mixed-Tocopherols, Corn Starch, Animal Liver Flavor, Calcium Carbonate, Phosphoric Acid, Fish Oil. It's also 18% carbohydrate which is in the high carb (over 15%) range which is no surprise given the ingredients. This is a link to our Canadian Food chart. Red and Lyla may have more recent info on what's available in Canada, though.

Cats are obligate carnivores -- they cannot process carbs. There isn't a bit of muscle meat in the Purina diabetic food. "By-products" are all of the leftovers after they use the muscle meat for other purposes. If you do switch to a canned food diet, please do so gradually since Taz's numbers will respond to the decrease in carbs.
 
Last edited:
I think that there is a PC line of wet foods that some Canadians on the board feed their cats. I haven't been on in ages so I cannot remember who they are. But some of the PC foods are low carb and that whole line is one of the cheapest you'll find. So you could maybe look into those? And again, because I don't think we can say it enough please exercise extreme caution and go slow if you switch Taz from dry to canned food.
 
Carlos -

I'm wondering if you're confusing DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis) and hypoglycemia? DKA typically results when there's an infection or inflammation present + not enough calories consumed + not enough insulin. It can happen relatively quickly but most attentive caregivers will notice other symptoms such as lethargy. It's wise to be aware of what it consists of since it can be a llfe threatening condition. Hypoglycemia is the result of low BG numbers. It is manageable if you're aware that the numbers are dropping. We have had to send caregivers to the emergency vet if the numbers are very low and the cat isn't responding to high carb food but this is an unusual event.

A word on your spreadsheet... You need to add your numbers to the World tab. If you enter the numbers there, you are entering in mmol/L format -- the numbers you're reading on your meter. The speadsheet is set up to convert the World numbers to the measurement system we use in the US (mg/dL). Those of us in the US have to manually convert your readings to a format we understand. If it's not too much trouble, can you move the numbers over to the appropriate tab?

Please consider ditching the dry food. It's truly terrible for Taz. The ingredients include: Poultry By-Product Meal, Soy Protein Isolate, Corn Gluten Meal, Soy Flour, Animal Fat Preserved with Mixed-Tocopherols, Corn Starch, Animal Liver Flavor, Calcium Carbonate, Phosphoric Acid, Fish Oil. It's also 18% carbohydrate which is in the high carb (over 15%) range which is no surprise given the ingredients. This is a link to our Canadian Food chart. Red and Lyla may have more recent info on what's available in Canada, though.

Cats are obligate carnivores -- they cannot process carbs. There isn't a bit of muscle meat in the Purina diabetic food. "By-products" are all of the leftovers after they use the muscle meat for other purposes. If you do switch to a canned food diet, please do so gradually since Taz's numbers will respond to the decrease in carbs.

Hello Sienne & Gaby,

Regarding DKA, my understanding of it is when BG spikes above 16mmol/L consistently. The reasoning why is that all the sugar that the cells need is locked out in the blood due to insulin resistance. I knew about infections and inflammation being culprits but I dodnt know it was also because of not enough food? Hypoglycemia to my understanding is when the sugar in the blood is below 2.8 mmol/L. It can definitely drop lower and create an emergency. Both DKA and hypoglycemia can be emergency situations if BG values reflect dangerous levels and there are associated symptoms as well. Please let me know if any of this is wrong, I'm still reading through all the info given to me by everyone.

Regarding the spreadsheet, I'm a little confused. I've been converting my readings to ml/dl and that's why I've been using the US tab. I read in one of the guidelines that that is preferred since this website is US based and therefore people would be kore likely to look through the spreadsheet. I will, however, oblige if what you suggest is a better practice.

Yes I have just recently discovered how bad dry food is. Frankly I'm horrified at the greed of this world given the past few years of events but I'm not even surprised anymore. At this point I just want to stabilize his BG values and from there we have discussed changing his food to wet food slowly over a period of time.

Thanks again for everything. I guess I'll continue this convo on a new thread as I've read that just replying to a previous day's thread is not good practice.

Carlos and Taz
 
I think that there is a PC line of wet foods that some Canadians on the board feed their cats. I haven't been on in ages so I cannot remember who they are. But some of the PC foods are low carb and that whole line is one of the cheapest you'll find. So you could maybe look into those? And again, because I don't think we can say it enough please exercise extreme caution and go slow if you switch Taz from dry to canned food.

Hello Butters and Lyla!

Thank you for your suggestion I will look into it. Yes I'm cautious about changing his food too fast, plus he really is addicted to the kitty crack. I don't want to put more stress on him during this time. I'd like to establish a more regulated curve with less extremes and then slowly phase him out of the dry food along with the tweaking of his dose. Thank you for stressing the need to go slow with the change of diet.
 
Regarding the spreadsheet (SS), the US system doesn't use decimals -- hence my confusion. Rather than you having to do the multiplication, just enter your readings on the World tab and it should be converted automatically on the US tab. You're welcome to keep doing the math if you'd like but don't include the decimal.

Numbers above 16 mmol/L (288 mg/dL) should not be all that worrisome. Those are not normal range BG numbers (i.e., 50 - 120) but they are not critically high. We tend to be more concerned if a cat is in a range that is over 350 - 400 (mid-pink and above in SS color coding) with the other risk factors being present but even that is not necessarily a risk for DKA. The risk also depends on the cat. If a cat has had an episode of DKA, there may be an increased risk for a recurrence. With DKA, rather than glucose being utilized for energy, fat begins to be metabolized and the process results in the formation of ketone bodies well as throws the electrolyte balance out of whack. In order to keep the metabolic pathway from developing ketosis, more calories can help. (Think about how the keto diet works.)

I'm not entirely certain how you're using the term "insulin resistance." Insulin is what transports glucose from the blood into the cells so the cells can produce energy. With diabetes, the beta cells in the pancreas are not functioning properly and a result, are not producing enough insulin to transport the glucose. Hence, there is glucose floating around in the bloodstream. (This is also why many diabetics lose weight -- the end product of metabolism, glucose, isn't getting into the cells to provide nutrition. The kitty is literally starving.) It's not so much insulin resistance as insufficient amounts of insulin.

We make a distinction between low numbers and hypoglycemia with the latter referring to symptomatic hypoglycemia. If you've had a chance to read over the dosing information with Lantus, for long term (over a year) diabetics following the Tight Regulation Protocol, a dose reduction isn't given unless the cat's numbers drop below 40 (2.2 mmol/L) and for newly diagnosed cats, the dose reduction point is 50 (2.8). While I would not recommend having your cat sitting in those numbers for a long time, they are not inherently dangerous unless your cat is demonstrating symptoms of hypoglycemia. My cat was notorious for fast drops into low numbers. The the only noticeable symptom was she might look a bit glassy eyed and would give me a death stare because she knew she needed food. There was never an emergency that required I take her to the vet. It was a tough on my nervous system but once I learned how Gabby responded, my anxiety greatly improved. I have a respect for low numbers but didn't panic when they happened.

There are probably only a handful of people here who did not feed their cat dry food at one time or another. I don't think the food issue is base on greed. I think it's based on a lack of knowledge. Most vets know next to nothing about nutrition. If they get a couple of hours on the topic in vet school, it would be a lot. Most of the information comes from the pet food manufacturers -- and that may be where greed comes in. The cheaper the ingredients, the more the profit. On the other hand, many of our members struggle to afford a decent quality, low carb food especially when their vet tells them they need a prescription food. FWIW, the pet food manufacturers lost a suit that was based on falsely advertising many of their foods as "prescription." There was nothing in the food that was prescriptive -- the high carb diabetic food being a case in point.
 
Regarding the spreadsheet (SS), the US system doesn't use decimals -- hence my confusion. Rather than you having to do the multiplication, just enter your readings on the World tab and it should be converted automatically on the US tab. You're welcome to keep doing the math if you'd like but don't include the decimal.

Numbers above 16 mmol/L (288 mg/dL) should not be all that worrisome. Those are not normal range BG numbers (i.e., 50 - 120) but they are not critically high. We tend to be more concerned if a cat is in a range that is over 350 - 400 (mid-pink and above in SS color coding) with the other risk factors being present but even that is not necessarily a risk for DKA. The risk also depends on the cat. If a cat has had an episode of DKA, there may be an increased risk for a recurrence. With DKA, rather than glucose being utilized for energy, fat begins to be metabolized and the process results in the formation of ketone bodies well as throws the electrolyte balance out of whack. In order to keep the metabolic pathway from developing ketosis, more calories can help. (Think about how the keto diet works.)

I'm not entirely certain how you're using the term "insulin resistance." Insulin is what transports glucose from the blood into the cells so the cells can produce energy. With diabetes, the beta cells in the pancreas are not functioning properly and a result, are not producing enough insulin to transport the glucose. Hence, there is glucose floating around in the bloodstream. (This is also why many diabetics lose weight -- the end product of metabolism, glucose, isn't getting into the cells to provide nutrition. The kitty is literally starving.) It's not so much insulin resistance as insufficient amounts of insulin.

We make a distinction between low numbers and hypoglycemia with the latter referring to symptomatic hypoglycemia. If you've had a chance to read over the dosing information with Lantus, for long term (over a year) diabetics following the Tight Regulation Protocol, a dose reduction isn't given unless the cat's numbers drop below 40 (2.2 mmol/L) and for newly diagnosed cats, the dose reduction point is 50 (2.8). While I would not recommend having your cat sitting in those numbers for a long time, they are not inherently dangerous unless your cat is demonstrating symptoms of hypoglycemia. My cat was notorious for fast drops into low numbers. The the only noticeable symptom was she might look a bit glassy eyed and would give me a death stare because she knew she needed food. There was never an emergency that required I take her to the vet. It was a tough on my nervous system but once I learned how Gabby responded, my anxiety greatly improved. I have a respect for low numbers but didn't panic when they happened.

There are probably only a handful of people here who did not feed their cat dry food at one time or another. I don't think the food issue is base on greed. I think it's based on a lack of knowledge. Most vets know next to nothing about nutrition. If they get a couple of hours on the topic in vet school, it would be a lot. Most of the information comes from the pet food manufacturers -- and that may be where greed comes in. The cheaper the ingredients, the more the profit. On the other hand, many of our members struggle to afford a decent quality, low carb food especially when their vet tells them they need a prescription food. FWIW, the pet food manufacturers lost a suit that was based on falsely advertising many of their foods as "prescription." There was nothing in the food that was prescriptive -- the high carb diabetic food being a case in point.
Hello Sienne & Gabby,

Thank you for letting me know about the lack of decimals in the ml/dl scale. I'll make the changes as soon as I can. I'm not really excel savvy...it seems I been deleting the code that makes that conversion from mmol/l - ml/dl... so for now I guess I'm stuck making the calculations until I have time to redo everything...it is quite time consuming but Def worth it and very well done.

I'm so glad we have you and everyone who's helped give us so many resources! I guess I misunderstood what DKA is so thank you for clearing that up with numbers. I did read that Lantus page but I guess I've barely been getting sleep bc I've been keeping an eye on my Taz...it helps knowing that i shouldnt freak out when i see low numbers within the rage ive been seeing.Thankfully despite the dose mix-up he's still happy and plays he's a tough kitty.

About the food, I didn't mean the vets are greedy but rather the companies that push their product and hide behind unreliable studies. I'm sure most vets along with pet parents just want the best for their babies. Thank you again for your response.
 
Thank you for letting me know about the lack of decimals in the ml/dl scale. I'll make the changes as soon as I can. I'm not really excel savvy...it seems I been deleting the code that makes that conversion from mmol/l - ml/dl... so for now I guess I'm stuck making the calculations until I have time to redo everything...it is quite time consuming but Def worth it and very well done.
Tagging one of our spreadsheet gurus.
@Bandit's Mom
 
Thank you for letting me know about the lack of decimals in the ml/dl scale. I'll make the changes as soon as I can. I'm not really excel savvy...it seems I been deleting the code that makes that conversion from mmol/l - ml/dl... so for now I guess I'm stuck making the calculations until I have time to redo everything...it is quite time consuming but Def worth it and very well done.

I'd be happy to help you get set up again. Depending on what you've done with the current spreadsheet you're using, I may be able to transfer the data onto the right one and help you understand how to use it.

Just click on my name and choose "Start a conversation" to send me a private message and we'll see what we can do!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top