Possible mild hypo symptoms?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Very Active Member
It's me again. Thanks in advance for all the handholding! About 7 hours after insulin dose (2units) Charlie started getting very lethargic. He didn't try to get away from the baby, I picked him up, and he fell almost asleep in my arms. I put down wet food and he refused it. I called the vet, they may think I'm crazy. I gave some syrup, then offered cottage cheese. He ate a bit of the cheese, but now he's just sleeping. Hubby is getting a meter on his way home from work. I think I will just give 1 unit tomorrow with testing. He's not trembling or shaking, just acting soooo sleepy. Is that just the fd or hypo? This is so overwhelming! I have to take care of me/pregnancy, my toddler, and now a sick cat! I may go crazy!
 
Here is the link to hypo information, with symptoms (listed below) and treatment: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1122

SYMPTOMS
Some cats may have NO symptoms whatsoever, but here are the most common ones:

MILD HYPOGLYCEMIA
Sudden ravenous hunger
Shivering
Weak or lethargic

MODERATE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Disorientation
Trouble with vision... bumps into furniture
Poor coordination, such as staggering, walking in circles or acting drunk
Changes in head or neck movements
Restlessness
Urgent meowing
Behavioral changes, such as aggressiveness

SEVERE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Convulsions or seizures
Unconsciousness
 
Breathe, breathe. Here is the hypo sheet with mild to severe symptoms: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887

The truth is, there is no real way to tell if he is hypo or not, without the more severe symptoms, unless you can get a number. Do you know anyone who is diabetic and might bring over their meter for you to use?
 
OK. I haven't been up on your situation or insulin. But you need to keep an eye on Charlie. Keep giving him small amounts of food. If he still seems unusually lethargic and he won't eat, rub a little more syrup on his gums.

It's great you are going to be testing tonight - you really can't be sure what's going on without knowing his glucose readings.

PS: If it were my cat, I wouldn't give any insulin tonight without a BG reading.
 
He is on 1x per day for now. I just looked in on him. He perked up and browse when I petted him. But he still isn't eating. Hopefully his bg will start going up soon on it's own if that is the problem. I think I'll lower his dose tomorrow. Is there a guideline that hometesters use to determine what dose they give based on the bg reading? He is on prozinc u-40.
 
Inhale.....exhale......inhale.....exhale...etc. It is hard to tell without testing and seeing where his numbers are. But try to relax you have plenty of folks here to help hold your hand, we will do everything in our power to get you and Charlie through this and keep everyone's sanity intact.

Mel
 
We have general guidelines, like no insulin for new diabetes if their blood glucose level is 200 or below at shot time. But, because every cat is different, and reacts to insulin differently, there isn't a set amount of insulin to give for any specific number. We urge people to start with one unit and keep that dose for 3-7 days. Tests are taken before each shot, and at the lowest point in the cycle, (nadir) to see how the insulin is working. If the nadir is low, you might reduce the insulin. If the nadir continues to be high, you might increase. You have to get some data so you really know how the insulin is affecting your kitty. And we would like you to increase by .25 units, not a whole unit.
 
i'd probably consider taking him to the vet if you can to get a bg number? i know that might be out of the question though with the baby and all. it's just too hard to tell without a number unfortunately.

do you know what pm's are? if not, look to the upper left of this page. it will say something like 2 new messages. click on those words and it will take you to your inbox here on the board. you should have a couple pm's there from others that are in Cleveland. perhaps, if it's going to be several more hours for hubby to get home, and if one of them are close enough and available maybe they can come help you. just a thought.
 
Got a meter. First attempts didn't get enough blood. May need a meter that uses less. He is acting much better now and has eaten. Maybe the new food upset his tummy. We may try a different brand wet food and slower introduction. I know wet is better, but charlie's overall health are important, and diarrhea and vomiting is not fun for him or me. So we will take the low and slow approach to food change now. I will try to test again later, and before his morning dose. I may only give 1 unit at that point. We will see.
 
So glad you have a meter! Did you sure warm up his ear? Oliver wouldn't bleed at first until we got his ear nice and warm. You can use a rice sack (thinnish sock filled with raw rice, knotted and heated in microwave until very warm but not hot.) Are you sure poking in the right place? If you put a flashlight behind his ear, you can see the vein that runs down the side. You are aiming for the little capillaries that run off that vein toward the edge of the ear. If you put a drop of vaseline on the spot, not only will it help you find it when you are ready, but the vaseline helps the blood bead up. And it helps to have something to poke against. We used a small makeup sponge; others like folded kleenix or the rice sack.

Let us know what you are struggling with. We all have our tips.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top