? Possible fur shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Smoky

Member Since 2016
I need some help with this one. I gave Smoky his evening shot of vetsulin. His PMPS was 296. He is up to 2 and a half units starting tonight. He was on 2 units twice daily. I guess I didn't have the angle of the needle right since it looks like it might have been a fur shot. I'm not sure if he received some of the insulin but his hair was fairly wet. I don't want to double dose him so gave him half a dose. I will watch him for signs of hypo and test him at +2 and +3 since he tends to hit his nadir early on in a cycle. Anyone have any suggestions on what to do? He didn't want to hold still for his shot tonight for some reason.
 
Please test at +1 +2 and +3...possibly longer depending on the numbers. When you do a fur shot do not give another shot not even a part shot, since you have no way to know for sure just how much of the insulin actually got into the body when you do a fur shot. It is better that the numbers be high for one cycle than to risk a possible hypo episode. Also it would be safer if you could get a preshot reading before each shot.
 
Last edited:
I just checked the spreadsheet and am a little confused. Was the 296 reading done at +9 or at PMPS? Also I see a reading of 161..was that done at +2 or at +2?
 
I just checked the spreadsheet and am a little confused. Was the 296 reading done at +9 or at PMPS? Also I see a reading of 161..was that done at +2 or at +2?
The 296 reading was done at +9 after am shooting, I tested him after work instead of waiting until +12 after am shot. The 161 is +2 after pm shot.
 
The 296 reading was done at +9 after am shooting, I tested him after work instead of waiting until +12 after am shot. The 161 is +2 after pm shot.


OK Thanks for clarifying that. When doing preshots it is best to test at shot time. With Vetsulin you would test, then feed then give the shot about 1/2 hour after eating. Numbers can change a lot in a 3 hour period, so Smoky's preshot number could have been much higher than the 296 when he got the shot. It is good to know what the reading was at shot time and then at the nadir, which with Vetsulin is usually between +3-+5. This gives a much clearer picture how low a given dose is taking Smokey.
 
OK Thanks for clarifying that. When doing preshots it is best to test at shot time. With Vetsulin you would test, then feed then give the shot about 1/2 hour after eating. Numbers can change a lot in a 3 hour period, so Smoky's preshot number could have been much higher than the 296 when he got the shot. It is good to know what the reading was at shot time and then at the nadir, which with Vetsulin is usually between +3-+5. This gives a much clearer picture how low a given dose is taking Smokey.
I usually test him at +12 after am shooting. It is a tricky situation with my kitty as he is very underweight and needs to eat more than twice a day. I feed him early morning before I go to work, my roommate feeds him about 4 hours after that for me and then goes to work. I feed him after I get home from work which is about +9 after am shot. I pick up his food for two hours and then test, feed again, and shoot. Smoky seems OK so far so will test him at +4 after pm shooting. Thanks so much for helping me out.;)
 
I usually test him at +12 after am shooting. It is a tricky situation with my kitty as he is very underweight and needs to eat more than twice a day. I feed him early morning before I go to work, my roommate feeds him about 4 hours after that for me and then goes to work. I feed him after I get home from work which is about +9 after am shot. I pick up his food for two hours and then test, feed again, and shoot.

Many of the members here feed their kitties a number of mini meals throughout the day rather than just two meals with the shots, especially if they need to gain weight. There is no problem with feeding him at +9, since that gives more than 2 hours before shot time, but getting the actual preshot test gives a better picture of how the numbers are doing. :bighug:
 
Many of the members here feed their kitties a number of mini meals throughout the day rather than just two meals with the shots, especially if they need to gain weight. There is no problem with feeding him at +9, since that gives more than 2 hours before shot time, but getting the actual preshot test gives a better picture of how the numbers are doing. :bighug:
Good to know other members are feeding their sugar babies the same way. My vet tried to tell me if I fed smoky three times a day I wld have to give him three shots a day! I find this odd since the vet knows that Smoky is underweight and can't eat much food at one time. I wonder if anyone else does that.
 
Good to know other members are feeding their sugar babies the same way. My vet tried to tell me if I fed smoky three times a day I wld have to give him three shots a day! I find this odd since the vet knows that Smoky is underweight and can't eat much food at one time. I wonder if anyone else does that.


The old school method was only feeding when insulin was given. However that was when using the rapid insulin types which acted very fast and wore off very fast. With Vetsulin you want to make sure there is a good meal on board before giving the shot but there is no harm in giving several low carb mini meals during the cycle as long as you allow at least 2 hours between meals and testing for preshot numbers.
 
OK I tried to test smokys BG this morning and could not for the life of me get a blood drop. The vet suggested skipping his am shot since I'm not sure if he got a dose and a half last night. I did a fur shot, and his vet thinks his blood pressure was low this morning. I messed up badly on this one. I was up last night testing him. :banghead:
 
Why did your vet think this? What were Smoky's clinical signs at the time?


Mogs
.
The vet said since smoky was a little dehydrated it may be difficult at times to get a blood sample. I don't usually have any trouble with that. He was a little lethargic this morning.
 
I recently posted smokys latest PMPS, it was 427. I'm not completely surprised by this as he didn't have his am injection. I will test him again at +4 after his pm shooting. His vet just raised his dose from 2 units of vetsulin to 2.5 starting this evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top