Poppy 2/11/10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heather & Shooter

Very Active Member
Yes, Poppy & I are still alive! ;) Not much has changed here... Poppy is still somewhat all over the board, but he definitely has more stable numbers than when he was on PZI. Even though he always eats the same foods I just never know how the insulin is going to react in his body. For some strange reason, yesterday morning amps was 25! Outside of being really hungry, he acted fine.

Hope you all are doing well. Michelle has Molly stabled out at all or is she still up and down like Poppy?
 
Heather, dear, why are you giving insulin when he is at 25??!!

I would NEVER shoot when my cats were under 100 even - too many drops below 50 or even 40 when I have done that, but I believe in gentle dosing. Still.... I see you also shot when he was 43. Honestly, I would not give any insulin on those numbers, but if I did, it would be a greatly reduced dose.. No. I would not give insulin at all. It's just too dangerous. I would wait to see how fast he was rising and shoot only once he was above at least 80, and then a reduced dose - maybe 1.5u or 2u.

You can see that he is rebounding with the 300 this am. I am concerned that he is getting too much and being allowed to drop too low - and then shooting up to higher numbers. Most likely a lower dose would even out the lows and highs - maybe 2.25u..?

What do you think?

PS - glad you are both are still alive!
 
Oh my Heather, that was gutsy! Instead of shooting that 25 can you wait until he rises a little bit to a little higher number? I know that gets you all off schedule but don't worry about a half hour here or there...you can get back on schedule soon enough.

So you shot a 2.75 last night and this morning. Are you going back to that dose?

Glad to see you posting!
 
Well, I knew he was going to continue going down. He rarely even makes it the full 12 hours before going back up plus I knew I was going to be home to continue checking him. And, as you can see... he gradually continued to climb even with the shot. Since he climbed gradually, I don't necessarily think it's a bounce. Poppy just has a weird system. It doesn't matter what dose he's on - for some strange reason every once in awhile he will just plummet. Thankfully we've never had any issues. We've been doing this dance for over 5 years now. :)
 
Have you read the pet diabetes wiki page on somogyi rebound? What you just posted...
It doesn't matter what dose he's on - for some strange reason every once in awhile he will just plummet.
... is right off that page. This is from that page:
A typical rebound pattern, most often seen with long-acting insulins, is a high, flat, unresponsive blood sugar over a period of days. Sometimes, often when raising dosage, this high flat curve will be punctuated by sudden drops to very low values, (with possible hypoglycemic events) followed by a fast return to high unresponsive numbers. (It's the sudden dip that distinguishes this pattern from inadequate insulin, but it doesn't always happen.)

here is link: http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Somogyi_rebound
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top