Poopy's Odd Behaviour

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Member Since 2011
After pulling Poopy's food at +3.5 (to get a reading food free at +6), caught Poopy drinking a bit of DHs milk at +4.25. Was still really surprised by the 315 BG at +6. Did a bit of research and found milk only has 11 carbs per 8 oz. Poopy didn't drink but maybe a tablespoon (long enough for me to realize a lapping sound coming from other than the water bowl area). Could the bit of milk have caused such a high BG? I lowered the dose, just in case. His AMPS is due in an hour.

Also, a rather odd occurrence....Saturday, during our normal lovings routine, Poopy bit me. Bit hard enough to rip open my skin (albeit a rather soft skin area, my nose, and easier to break the skin there than say my hand). This is not the normal love bites from Poopy. (Poopy's love bites consist more of placing his teeth against me, not biting down - more of a mouthing, if that makes sense.) He's been trying to make up to me since then, knowing he hurt me.

I'm due to take Poopy by the vet's for the fructosimine (I cannot spell that word to save my life!) test and am thinking they need to run the gambit of blood tests. Am I overreacting?

I'll admit, I'm a bit scared. Poopy hasn't been doing well on his BGs, with insulin seeming to have little effect. I wasn't very worried as he was fine in all other aspects but now the bite has my mind in overdrive. He seems fine other than those two things.

Thoughts?
 
I am glad you are having him checked out, Teresa. I don't know about the bite - maybe he is hurting tummy wise or something and lashed out? A work up would be good and maybe it is time to consider one of the L insulins? You have experimented with different doses and although he is not in high numbers and hasn't been, you have not been able to really regulate him.
 
I understand about the love bits. Cooper does them all the time to me, especially when he is very hungry. He never has really bit hard though, but notice he does fight and pick on our other cat when his numbers are higher and he isn't feeling too well. Sometimes it's when i give him a little too much insulin. It definelty does something to make his brain a little more irritated. Maybe poopy just misjudged. If it happens more than once and is on purpose, then i would start to worry. WE all have bad days.

Hope he will show you some good numbers today!

lori
 
Thanks Sue and Lori. :smile:

Poopy is going to be thrilled (not!). He gets to go in tomorrow morning, dropping him off so they can check him out. Hopefully I get to pick him up after work. (They have to sedate him to draw the blood.) Chatted with them about Poopy's BGs and they want to run the tests and then chat with me about what is going on and possible alternatives.

I sure hope good news, or at least positive news, is coming Poopy's way. Keep fingers and paws crossed please. :-D
 
Good luck with the tests Teresa. Hopefully you’ll get to the bottom of what’s making the Poopmeister do weird things.
All the best comin your way!
:YMHUG:
 
PMPS 270, shot 1.6u.

Whatever was eating at Poopy seems to have passed, but I'm still taking him to the vet's tomorrow to get checked out. I really wish I'd kept up the mid-cycle testing to know when the dips quit happening. Argh! No rest for the wicked, eh? :lol:
 
Oh Teresa. Hope poopy will do ok at Vet. I'm sure he will not like the whole day thing. Hate they have to sedate him to draw blood. But i do know they have to do it in the neck vein to draw the blood. Yuck! I hated watching them do it, but didn't seem to hurt them much.

Good luck!! Looking forward to seeing what they might find out. Looks like his Pmps is good.

lori
 
Good luck at the vet!
Henry bites like that sometimes, its usually when I brush him and he seems to get overstimulated and irritable and sometimes when I touch a place on his back where the arthritis in his spine is the worst he will swat and bite me.
Glad Poopy seems to have gotten over his "cranky" spell.
 
Picked up Poopy from the vet. Won't know anything about the test results until Thursday, With that said, this was the worst vet visit yet. As they described to me how bad it was, I summed it up asking, "He went ballistic?" They said that was a pretty accurate description of how badly Poopy acted. The vet tech said Poopy even had to have a bath. I'm sure he was sedated by then otherwise someone would have been missing an arm because I seriously doubt any of them would have thought..."let's take him into a shower, without clothes on, and hold him like a toddler!" Yeah. Right. I can see that happening. @-)

One of them mentioned having to "net" him, he was so bad. I'm not familiar with the term in a vet's context but it doesn't bring to mind anything pleasant. nailbite_smile The vet said he thought he might be able to gas Poopy but he was so bad sedating him was the only way to go. Like I told the vet, when he told me he remembers Poopy and this was by far worse than he'd ever seen him, I believe something is wrong with him. Poopy can be a grumpy old man, snarling and hissing at others, but to actually bite me and draw blood? And to act this extreme with others? Mix in the pretty much non-existent dips for nadir...the poor baby has got to have something going on inside.

The tests they are running: Total Body Function, Fructosamine (Ha! Now I know how to spell it!), and Ketamine/ml. (Edited to say Ketamine is the drug they used to sedate Poopy. Got to love Google!)

Poopy is still very wobbly on his legs so after a brief visit to the litter box to pee he's resting in his large travel carrier. If he's a bit more stable around PMPS I'll let him roam free.

Please keep your fingers and paws crossed that whatever has Poopy in such an extreme state can be dealt with quickly. cat_pet_icon
 
This sounds like an awful day for Poopy, Teresa. I wish I had some ideas for you, but I am at a loss. I hope the tests suggest something that you can do.
 
PMPS 303...not sure I should give insulin as he is still very wobbly on his legs and not eating much at all. Going to go ahead and not shoot tonight, even if it means he'll be high in the AM.
 
So sorry for all Poopys troubles. Poor thing. Holding a good thought for news from the Vet. Just so hard with these boys who won't respond the way we want them to!
Hang in there.
 
I was wondering how the vet visit went. Sounds like Poppy didn't want to be there. So sorry you had so much trouble. I do hope the blood work will tell what is going on with him. How is he doing tonight? Good idea on holding off the insulin. Hope he is feeling better for you in the morning and back to his sweet self for you. I know that you have to be frustrated and so worried about him. What are your instincts? Usually they are right on.

Be waiting for Thurs and the results.....

lori
 
That sounds just awful for Poopy, poor guy.

My civie Chase always had to be gassed before the vet would touch him, changed vet clinics and guess what, he still hisses and swats but they don't have to gas him, they charm him over to their side.

Anestesia can lower their bg's so skipping is probably a good ideal.

Paws crossed there isn't anything serious wrong and it is something that can easily be handled.
 
Test results are in:

Fructosamine: 525 (about 350 BG on average)

Triglycerites and colesterol higher than normal but not unexpected due to the diabetes. Other than that, everything is ok.

Since the nightmare of a vet visit (the vet used the word evil to describe how bad Poopy was when he talked to me today, agreeing Poopy was terrified), Poopy has been loving and his BGs have been lower at PSs. Go figure.

Vet wants me to up the dose to 1.8u. Will try this starting tomorrow morning and will grab nadir numbers.

We also talked about switching to Lantus, if it comes down to doing a switch.
 
Good test results, but they leave his wonky behavior a mystery.... but it appears that has gone away too.
Hmmmmm..... "he's a cat", I guess?
Carl
 
Tomorrow Poopy will be 12 years old. Often I wonder if his "cranky old man" attitude is the explanation, but he's always been a bit standoffish with vets (imagine the stereotypical reaction of someone needing to go to the dentist and the fear associated with it) and can be with others if they invade his space beyond his comfort level. He has a bit more tolerance with children, though, as if he knows they are children and need more tolerance.

My son and I are the only ones Poopy has ever totally relaxed with. We're talking eyes-rolling-to-the-back-of-his-head relaxed. While he may have just had an off day when he bit me, and happened to have caught a softer than expected spot (which is what DH is convinced), it still bothered me. I'm getting over it, and Poopy's back to normal loving self helps. I have to admit, I do think about the bite while holding him like a toddler and his fangs so close to my face, wondering if he'll do it again. Having him grab my shoulder and pull me close for a hug, snuggling into my neck reassures me he won't bite...but it does cross my mind when he's looking at me, so close to my face.

Sorry to ramble.

Whatever it was, I hope it is past and we can get some decent numbers. :smile:
 
I know exactly what you mean, Teresa. Niko has scratched me several times. It was when I picked him up both times and I guess I didn't hold him just right. He jumped out of my arms and his back claws caught me good. Now I find myself leery of him and certainly avoid picking him up. I have started petting and brushing him again and remind myself he is a mild mannered loving cat, but I think I will be cautious awhile. Hope it will just take time?
 
So glad to hear poopy is doing better and back to his sweet self. I guess we all have our bad days. Maybe as he gets older he just doesn't like doctors. I feel that way everytime i have to go to the doctor..."Like..Not again."

As for the bite, always good to be a little cautious. THey are animals and sometimes the only way they can communicate is by instinct. I always have to remind myself of this when i'm working with "tame" animals. They still are animals and instincts are sometimes stronger..

Glad he's better and hope he continues good days.


lori
 
AMPS 218, shot 1.8u since I will be home to monitor, or I'll take Poopy with me if I leave.

Figure he hasn't been dipping during nadir and maybe this will help keep his numbers lower overall.
 
Very nice AMPS for Poopy.
Glad all his blood work was normal and he is back to his mormal behavior.
Maybe he was just having an "off" day like we all have from time to time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top