Poopy - Mental Roadblock

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Very Active Member
Ok. For quite a while I have hesitated to bump Poopy to 2u. I know it's a mental thing from my horrible encounter with Poopy's original vet, wanting to double his dose after the first week to 2u.

Poopy's PSs have been in the 300s quite a bit lately so this morning I bit the bullet and shot 2u. Will get at least one nadir BG to see how it goes.

Keep your fingers crossed we see a dip today, or at least a yellow PS. :smile:
 
Good luck with the new dose Teresa! I had a mental roadblock too. When the vet said "4u" I had a really hard time with it. I only shot it a couple times, and I hesitated each time. Lucky Bob was on a really loose sliding scale, because the line in the sand for 4u was 400. After three or four days of skirting that line, Bob decided he hated red, and I decided to ditch the scale and make up one of my own. A month later he went OTJ.
Your numbers seem to say "increase" so I think you made the right call. Not terrible PS numbers at all, just that the drops don't seem to be significant.

Carl
 
+5.5 240 and fed afternoon meal. Will test him again in a few hours to see how he's doing with the food on board now that nadir is here.

I normally put half a 13 oz. can in well 1 and half in well 2 in the auto feeder. Well 1 stays available for 4.5 hours, since they eat most at PS and snacks the remaining time, then switches to well 2, which is available until 9.5 and switches to an empty well. Repeats at PMPS. Usually there's a bit of food left in both wells. I've tried doing 5.5 oz cans in each well and they've scraped the wells clean and go after my ankles an hour or so prior to PS. Not a pretty sight! :lol:

I hate to admit it, Carl, but perhaps he does need more insulin. Grrr. 240 isn't that great a drop from 312. Any bets on what the PMPS will be? :lol:
 
Teresa and Poopy said:
I hate to admit it, Carl, but perhaps he does need more insulin. Grrr. 240 isn't that great a drop from 312. Any bets on what the PMPS will be? :lol:

Keep in mind it may take a couple cycles (or days) for him to settle into a new dose. I usually don't see a big change right away with Cass. If fact, I usually have to go a week before I see much difference with a dose change.
 
I agree with Lisa, it might take you a few days to see if he settles well into the increase. Hang in there. You will find the right dose!
 
Well...poopnoodles. DH and I had to leave the house for a bit and were gone longer than expected so no other testing. Poopy's PMPS is due in an hour so don't see much sense testing now.

My summer "vacation" is coming to an abrupt halt. I return to work tomorrow. Looks like I'll be making the lunch trip home for testing the Poop for a bit with this higher dose. Grumble, grumble.
 
Any bets on what the PMPS will be?

My money is on 293.

My summer "vacation" is coming to an abrupt halt. I return to work tomorrow. Looks like I'll be making the lunch trip home for testing the Poop for a bit with this higher dose. Grumble, grumble.

At least you get a summer vacation! Not an option here, as we are a "vacation destination". Our motto is "we work when everyone else isn't". grumble, grumble... :lol:

Carl
 
Interested in seeing what poopy's pmps is going to be. Hoping for a lower number.

I agree with adjusting to a new dose increase. Copper takes several cycles of flats before he shows any improvement. Very frustrating at times, because then you think too much? Hang in there with the poopmister! Enjoy your final days of vacation. I know the summer is almost over for us too. UGH! Just seems like it just started.

WIll check in later to see your number.

lori
 
lol, it was an educated guess based on his cycle on the 7th. Even with the different dose, I figured since he didn't get a lot of drop, it wouldn't be a pink from any sort of bounce.
Besides, that is what my magic 8-ball said :smile:
 
AMPS 243, shot 1.8u

Since I can't be sure I can come home during "lunch" (I don't usually take a lunch and with why I am going in early not sure I'll be able to leave to come home to test) I shot a bit lower. I am still going to try to get away to test mid-day, even knowing it's very possible he will have food on board.

Have a great day everyone! :-D
 
PMPS 246, shot 1.8

Reasoned the 246 for a PS was pretty darn good and doubt I'll be able to get a mid-cycle reading tonight. Exhausted. Not only do I have a major upcoming audit to prepare for (why I went back earlier to begin with), I had a HUGE project fall on my desk today...due yesterday. Also had an impromptu meeting to justify a report from a few months ago (now why couldn't that have happened when it was all fresh in my mind? Eh?). Not complaining, really, just was a much busier day than I'd feared so no coming home during my non-existent lunch. Ha! Lunch. I've heard of it...I think.

:lol:
 
Hi Teresa
Glad Poopy is liking the increase!
Good luck and hopefully some good numbers will continue!
and chin up, 2 units is not a lot of insulin! :mrgreen:
 
+7.5 212

Not bad, and that's very probably with food on board as the feeder switched at +6 and half the food is gone.

Think I'll stick with the 1.8u unless he starts hanging out in the upper 200s for PSs. Sound reasonable? I'd like to keep him below 250 for PSs. I should be able to do a curve tomorrow, or at least catch around nadir, to get a better picture.

Hope everyone's Saturday is spectacular! :-D
 
Yes, that sounds reasonable. Really nice numbers lately for the poopster. :smile:
 
PMPS 306, shot 2.0u

I seriously doubt it's from a bounce given the +7.5 reading so upped Poopy back up to 2.0u.

I'm considering shooting 2.0u in the AM, regardless of AMPS, since I'll be here and can test at least during nadir. Any qualms?
 
None.
If you can be there to watch, that's the time to try "aggressive".

Carl
 
Carl,

I understand your aggressive may be different than someone else's...with that said...if this was you and Bob, how much would you shoot? I'm asking tonight so maybe there will be an answer in the morning before I shoot. :smile:

Would you go for it and shoot more than 2u? Maybe 2.2 or 2.4? Given the readings during mid-cycle..........

Curious minds want to know. :cool:
 
Well, I'm not Carl but.....you know I tend to be cautious. I think I would stick with the 2. You were getting numbers that were pretty good at 1.8. Maybe 2.2 if you will be around all day?
 
Since you asked...

I looked at your SS, and searched for "how low does he go". Granted, there aren't a lot of nadir numbers to look at (not nagging, just an observation) so the history is sporadic.
But I see you shot 2.0 into a 312 on the 11th. He only dropped 70 points. I think if it were Bob, and I was home to watch, I'd shoot 2.5 into a 300 and see what happens.
But, you're right. My aggressive and other's aren't the same.
That said, if you were a brand new member, I'd hold off on advising that sort of thing. But you've been at this a while, and you're aware of how to deal with low numbers if you had to.

Poopy's numbers have been pretty consistent lately. The last "higher" number you saw was the 366 a few days back. But he seems to be stalled? Don't get me wrong, his PS's are not terrible, ranging from mid-yellows to barely pink for the past 2 weeks. If it were me, and it were Bob, I'd want to see if I could jump start him, if for no other reasons than just to see how he reacts so I'd know for future reference.

You hold the needle though. Don't ever forget that. I always know that, no matter what I advise.

Carl
 
+9 232

Sue and Carl - I appreciate both of you chiming in and giving me input. Thank you. I know I hold the needle....me with my fears and my occasional gumption. Recognizing my mental roadblock, which is still howling in my head, I had to ask. Part of me has been saying to myself, "Poopy's not going low enough during the day" and another part is saying, "If he's staying under 250, it's all good". Problem is...he's not staying under 250.

Since I will be home today to watch and test him, if he's over 300 at AMPS, I'll shoot 2.5 (ye gads!). 250-299 I'll shoot 2.2. Let's see if we can't get this party started! party_cat
 
AMPS 278, shot 2.2u

You have no idea how glad I was to see AMPS below 300. :lol: Knowing Poopy needs something...a jump start, a Bang Dose...something...I was :shock: over giving 2.5u. Yeah, I know...it's a relatively small amount when you look at how much that is in the syringe.

Here's hoping for at least a bit of blue, dare I say green?, during nadir. Come on, Poop, you can do it! bcatrun_gif
 
OK, Poopster, you can start to drop now... we'll be watching.

Carl
 
Well, poop, Poopy :dizcat
Apparently he wants to be "inconclusive" today.

Carl
 
What really frosts my cookies is there's just not that much difference, with or without insulin.

He seems fine. Purrs, Plays, Poops, Pees (and not huge floods), and Preens (as in grooms). He eats, probably more than he should, over all. Between the two cats, they eat about 1/4 a 13 oz. can at PSs, then snacks on the other 1/4 until the well switches to the other 1/2 can at +3.5 and they continue to snack until +9, when it turns to an empty well. By the time PSs hit, I have a huge, black, furry ankle biter following me around demanding I do my duty (why he keeps me around) and feed him!

The feeding schedule changes when I do a curve, or mini-curve like today. They eat their 1/4 a can at PS, then snack until I turn it to an empty well around +3. Today they ate all but crumbs from the first well by +3. The big difference is he has no access to snack (not counting the raw chicken chunks as treats for pokies) until I'm done with the curve, around +7, and by then he's ankle biting. Theoretically, his BGs should drop during the curve, if for nothing else than having no access to food. Grrrrrrrr. angry(2)_cat

I am at a loss. I guess I should have shot the 2.5 or maybe even 3.0u. I just don't know. I do know he needs to be under, and stay under, 250 to avoid any organ damage. How in the heck do I get him there? :dizcat

Any ideas?
 
If I remember right, Lisa had the same mystery with Cass? Seemed to be the same with or without insulin, and she tried going with less (or nothing I think). When she didn't get good results, she went back up and found a dose that worked.
All I can think is that more is needed, Teresa.

Carl
 
I'll stick with the 2.2u until I can be reasonably sure to be able to come home to test mid-day. Tomorrow is the official first day back so it's going to be busier than all get out, so no planned trip home around "lunch". :cry:

I may need to wait until Saturday to up his dose again. That should give Poop plenty of time to settle in and show us what's what. :smile:

Just to be prepared...if his AMPS is below 250, shoot 2u? Above 250 shoot 2.2u? Sound reasonable? Will do PMPS in an hour and will post so we'll have more info. :smile:
 
Carl & Bob in SC said:
If I remember right, Lisa had the same mystery with Cass? Seemed to be the same with or without insulin, and she tried going with less (or nothing I think). When she didn't get good results, she went back up and found a dose that worked.
All I can think is that more is needed, Teresa.

Carl

Yeah, fairly early (but after bid) we kept looking inverse, so reduced a lot. Didn't seem to make much difference, so we tried a weekend otj. Nothing scary high, but still diabetic, so back up we went, to settle at 1.4u. Now we're slowly backing off. You may have to click on the first ss tab to see it; after about.6.months, it takes too long to load.
 
Thanks, Lisa!

When I first noticed the weird, higher mid-cycle numbers (week of 6/26), I tried the no shots for two cycles (6/30-7/1). That's what led me to start upping Poopy's dose.

I'm wondering.....About the same time I noticed goop in Poopy's eye and was giving him a steriod ointment in his eye. Could that have raised his BGs? If so, I've been upping the dose based on steriod induced numbers. He's no longer receiving the steroids. Perhaps I'm shooting too high?

Now I'm all confused. :dizcat
 
AMPS 257, shot 2u (just couldn't shoot 2.2u with it being so close to 250 and pretty darn sure I can't make it home during "lunch" to test)
 
I'm in suspense to see what happens with this numbers during lunch. Will check back on post.

lori
 
PMPS 260, shot 2u.

I really wish I'd been able to step away around the lunch hour to test. I can't see it happening for the week but if I get a chance, I will. :smile:
 
AMPS 276, shot 2.2u

Unexpectedly home today (dang health issues are gonna kill me one day!) so will grab tests when able. Not going to pull up food to see what he normally runs during day (as he normally has food available until +9).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top