Pookie - AMPS 331, +2 322, +4 292, +6 275, +8 286 mg/dL

Fog123

Member Since 2021
This is our first time doing a curve and my first time posting in this particular forum.

We've been dosing with 1U 2x per day and have given it a week to establish itself. I'm fairly certain we need to go up, but wanted to approach this slowly given our confusion earlier.

I think I've created the spreadsheet properly. I've hidden the nighttime columns since we don't test during that time.

Suggestions very welcome! Husband has become quite adept at drawing blood.

Previous posts

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...fostering-a-diabetic-cat.243169/#post-2745763

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...potential-forever-owners.243491/#post-2746220
 
WELCOME to the LB&L forum! I glanced at one of your previous posts! Your photo of Pookie is adorable!!! Hope you can use that as your avatar :)

Have you had a chance to read up on any of the stickies (the yellow tabs at the top of this forum)...so you'll want to read as much as you can and select a dosing method (TR or SLGS)...Most folks start with SLGS and you can switch over to TR as soon as you're comfortable.

I wouldn't want to advise you on changing anything just yet...and your comment about not testing at night is very concerning. As you'll read in the stickies, testing at night and in fact, after anytime insulin is given is extremely important - most kitties do their best work at night...so I'm just wondering are you working at night and no one is home to test?

Once you determine your dosing method and add that to your signature and at the top of your SS, AND get some tests after the PM shot, then since you'll have more numbers and on SLGS you'll want to hold the dose for the prescribed number of cycles - then at that time you'll increase by .25 units. We take things nice and slow around here to make sure you don't pass up a good dose or get into a situation where there are concerns about overdosing.

So with that being said, thank you for taking Pookie on! It sounds like you guys have had quite a time of it :)

Again, welcome to the party!
 
@Sue and Luci - I've added one of my favourite photos of Pookie as my avatar. Thanks for the warm welcome.

I've read some of the stickies. There is a lot to take in. I've updated the spreadsheet to say that we're following the SLGS method for now.

We dose him between 9 - 9:30 am and 9 - 9:30 pm which is why we haven't done evening testing (we're usually well in bed later on). Generally we try to be closer to 9 than 9:30. We've also been limiting the testing until we get better at it and it's less traumatizing for him. He was getting to the point where he was avoiding us. Now he's starting to recognize his special treat and we're better at it so we're more confident in testing. If we knew how long we were going to have him we'd probably move to the TR method sooner rather than later. We've had him just over three weeks and that's long for us to have a foster cat. Right now we're just figuring out how he's responding to 1U every 12 hours. He's been on 1U 2x/day for just over a week and his numbers are fairly stable though higher than they should be.

Now that we're not stabbing him multiple times for one test and are consistent with our dosing we're seeing a playful cat that enjoys our company. He's not drinking as much or peeing as much either. Still higher than our other cat, but lower than he was.

We're giving smaller meals of Friskies pate several times throughout the day, which suits our other cat's schedule. For his weight he's supposed to be eating about 1.5 cans and he's pretty much there. At night we're leaving out a dry sensitive digestion food (he is prone to the runs). I know the dry food is not ideal, but if we leave wet food out it's gone within the first half hour and we're dealing with a cat yo-yo of up and down off the bed the rest of the night. I know an automatic feeder would be good and we may still buy one, but we haven't yet.

We've become quite lazy in retirement which is why he's not getting dosed until 9:30 am. The bigger meal with the 9:30 dosing also seems to help him sleep. We usually get up a couple of hours earlier than that as a washroom break and to give the cats enough food that they're not pestering us. Sometimes we just kick them out and close the door without feeding them. I read somewhere that we shouldn't be giving him food a couple of hours before the AM test?

We're treating this as a marathon and after the fiasco of sending him into seizures we're trying to be both gentle with him and with ourselves. It's nice to not be in panic mode and now being able to focus on the finer details. I'm happy to start that focus and willing to listen to advice.

Thanks for your help.
 
We dose him between 9 - 9:30 am and 9 - 9:30 pm

Ah I see...yes, I'd be dead by that time of night myself...

My only suggestion is to back that timing up in 15 minute increments so that you can get the day started a bit earlier - LOL - maybe a whole lot earlier - so you can get a couple of PM tests done before konking out for the night. If he's only staying as a foster perhaps you can go back to the old routine after he finds another fur-ever home? Staying up really late at night isn't my thing either...but I'm usually up by 5:30 so I can shoot Luci at 6 a.m. - which allows me to have time in the evening to sort things out before I become totally exhausted - which for me isn't very late.

There's a lot of sleep deprivation in this group though...many of us set alarms and get up in the middle of the night - also not my favorite thing to do...

I sure hope your cutie pie adjusts to the testing soon and will adapt to a routine of testing and regular insulin...that's the joy of this 12 hour thing (well, not exactly)...but I too had to make adjustments - we started with 8 or 8:30 a.m. and PM and it was just killing me to stay up that late...yes, even until 8 or 8:30 p.m and then heaven forbid another two hours after that - I found out early on that just didn't work for me - as for Luci, she can't tell time so she doesn't give a whit about my schedule or the clock....or what time I have to get up...but after three years, she does seem grateful (and alive and well) for my efforts :)

Have a great day!
 
Back
Top