PMPS too low for insulin? Now what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
Thumpers PMPS is only 119 so I'm not shooting. I will test again in 20-30 mins but she was starving, as was everyone else so I went ahead & fed her. I took up all the dry food & left one can of Fancy Feast out today but I guess that wasn't enough. I just gave each of them 1/2 a can which is what I usually do every morning & evening. I guess tomorrow I should leave more out but what do I do now?
 
Are you asking what to do about insulin? Don't shoot until you get 200 and are sure your kitty is rising. Are you aware your spreadsheet does not seem to be workin?
 
No, I didn't know the spreadsheet wasn't working. I just updated it right before I posted. Ugh....I'll go look at it but I'm pretty stupid about that stuff so hopefully it's nothing major! I knew I wasn't supposed to shoot till it was over 200, that happened this past weekend but it went up to 239 so I gave her .5 units at Sue's suggestion. I was just wondering about the food. I think I've read the food will cause the BG to rise so if it gets over 200 what do I do if she won't eat anything else? I usually feed her when I give the insulin.
 
Now your spreadsheet is working. I would not shoot unless you get 200 and maybe a little higher since you fed. Then maybe .5? The wet food must really be making a difference!
 
It is not imperative that he eat after you give insulin. Since he got some food before, he has food in his tummy. It is just hard to know where your numbers really are cause the food changes things.

We feed one cat 2 cans of FF a day - we fed 3 cans before regulation.
 
I'm thinking the same as Sue that maybe removing that last little bit of dry may be helping the #'s. Paws crossed. Depending on how tonight goes, you may want to shoot a somewhat reduced dose tomorrow too and not wait for the weekend like previous suggestions. It all depends on the #'s of course.

Wanted to add, like Sue (doh...like Sue's cat is what I meant), Max eats about two cans of Fancy Feast a day. He ate a little more when he was unregulated. He's 13 lbs. You may already do this but you could feed something like breakfast, snack left out while you're gone at work, dinner when you get home, and snack before bed.
 
Ok, an hour later her BG is 189, no insulin but she did eat the 1/2 can. So my plan is when she gets over 200 I'm giving .5, not gonna worry if she doesn't eat anything but I will offer something & will leave some out overnight. My youngest has decided she's gonna eat everyone's left overs. Even the "food hog" only wants 1/2 can then he's done for awhile. Not Josie, she cleaned up all that was left on everyone's dish this morning & when I was leaving & put the new bowls down she went after that! LOL! Never a dull moment!
 
Sounds like a plan. I am glad youR "Hoover cat" decided not not to eat everything. I'd suggest leaving some food out overnight too. It helps support that pancreas.

So glad to see such a nice drop with low carb. That can work for several days before it bottoms out, so keep testing!
 
Just an update. Her # 2 hrs after she was due (so actually) +14 was 229, and that was 2 hrs. after she ate 1/2 can Fancy Feast. I gave her .5 units insulin & a treat, so we will see what happens. BTW, the treat was some plain Boars Head chicken breast from the deli. She loves the stuff & I gave her maybe 1/2 a slice. Is that an awful treat? I will leave some Fancy Feast out when I go to bed.
 
I'm a fan of letting them eat as much as they want. If weight concerns are an issue, my experience has been that once they realize the food supply is unlimited, overeating settles down and they start eating just what they need. Might not apply to all cats though, if there is some kind of serious weight issue a different approach might be needed. But if weight isn't a big concern, I'd just let them scarf away.
 
Ugh...this is gonna be the death of me! Her last BG was 232, that's really a +2 although it looks like a +4 on the spreadsheet. All of them are acting like they're gonna stave to death. I put out 2 cans of FF and they have eaten most of it so I'm gonna put out another can for overnight. I'm hoping they settle down with this cause feeding them every few hours is too much. Maybe I should just put more in their bowls at dinner time even though I know they won't eat it all? Every time I get out the cans though they come running and eat it all up. Maybe the freezing will work, then they won't hear the cans opening? I'm tired & can't get to bed early enough on this schedule.

Oh, and the Boar's Head chicken has nothing...no onion or any flavoring & it is lower sodium. I don't give it to her much but haven't gotten to the store to get any good treats yet.

Thanks for the help everyone, and sorry I'm starting to whine!
 
Go ahead and whine. I think we've all had the same feelings. I'm sure you've heard people say it, but it really does get easier, just may not feel like it a first. You're making a lot of changes all at the same time and it takes time to adjust. You are doing good and getting good #'s for Thumper.
 
I'm better tonight, I was just way too tired last night! The not knowing what to expect was getting to me. I put some food in the freezer so I will put that out tonight & tomorrow when I leave. I think they just like to graze though. We will get it all figured out eventually. Thumper's AMPS & PMPS look about the same. I would rather they were lower though! I was so wanting to get her off insulin.....
 
Not bad. Think we can assume nadir could have been in the 100-200 range. I think we need to give the wet food awhile. A chestnut that has been around forever but it oh so true: This diabetes journey is a marathon, not a sprint. You have to give food and insulin time to work.

Hope you can get a curve in this weekend to give us more data.
 
Hey Barbara, insulin isn't such a terrible thing. Maybe a pain in the neck to us, but it can give a diabetic cat a long good life. And many cats go off it after months or even years. You never know. IMHO the best approach is to aim to get regulation, with the understanding that if that is achieved it gives the pancreas room to heal. And besides, you get all of us to keep you company! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top