PMPS nadir?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rachrp

Member
Diablo's nadir was 166 at PMPS... what does this mean? We've been doing really well getting good numbers the past couple of days, but this kind of threw me off.
 
It could mean the dose is a little high this cycle (and that the insulin is working well - yeah!). Did you feed before you got the 205? If not, you could shoot. Maybe one unit? If you fed him before the 205, how long before?
 
Looks very much like the AM cycle two days ago, except no quick climb after the 166.
Did you feed two nights ago before the red number?
Did you feed tonight when you got the 166?
Carl
 
Yes, I fed at the same time both nights, right after I tested. I'm testing again at the top of the hour. Two nights ago I only tested an hour after eating, so he may still shoot up...
 
OK, let's see what you get on the next test.

Carl
 
Wow! He really shoots up. This has happened twice. So, if you get that kind of lower pmps again, I would definitely NOT FEED, but wait 20 minutes and retest. then, if he is above 200, you could shoot and maybe he wouldn't shoot up.
 
If he isn't above 200 after waiting 20 minutes, should I feed and shoot anyway? When he eats, it seems to have a big impact on his BG. Even in the mornings he'll stay flat or even rise a little until around +5.
 
I agree that he shoots high right after eating. And this was FF classic chicken right? That's only 4% or 3% carbs. Wow.

Actually yes, I think that if he hasn't risen without food after 20 minutes, you could feed and then shoot. Wait till he's done eating to shoot. I only say that because if you shoot then feed, he'll inevitably decided he isn't really hungry, then you have insulin in a cat with no food in his belly.

I mean, I think you still have to draw a line in the sand somewhere. Maybe not at 200, but somewhere. I wouldn't shoot if you got a preshot test of 100 that only rises to 120 twenty minutes later, for instance. Maybe 160, 175? It depends on what you are comfortable with.

Carl
 
Yeah, we have been sticking with FF chicken to keep it consistent.

I would feel more comfortable shooting a high 100 if it were his AMPS since I'd be able to keep an eye on him. The PM is what scares me.
 
Without screwing up your sleep schedule, what's the latest after the PMPS that you would be awake to test him?

Carl
 
I work really early, so I usually go to bed right after PMPS. My husband stays up maybe two hours after. However, I get up anywhere from +7 to +8 and try to test him then, usually just if I have a concern.
 
I wanted to ask also about the notes regarding the location of the shots. Do you pick a different spot each time? And have you noticed better or worse numbers due to where the shot was given? Different areas of the body will absorb insulin at different rates and it's cat specific for the most part. If you see one location, like the flank for instance, that seems to give the best results, you can stick with that spot in general. Maybe left side in the AM and right side PM?

How "locked in" are you with the shot times? If you gave the PM shot two or three hours earlier, first would that even be possible? And would it mess up your AM routine? I'm thinking if you could shoot at night, and test maybe at +4, that would give you a decent idea of where the numbers are headed overnight. Assuming that wouldn't screw up your AM schedule of course.

It all comes down to your "life" schedule. When you wake up vs. when you leave for work, and when you get home vs. when you go to bed. For instance, when I was giving Bob insulin, it was really difficult because I worked a different shift every week. I was very fortunate in the fact that I live and work on a small island, so no matter whether I was working or not, or which hours, I could get home in ten minutes or less to shoot, feed or test on most days.

But on a day where I was working 9-5, I'd get up around 7 and the first thing I did was test Bob, feed the cats, and give him his shot. Then I could swing by the house around noon and give him a snack and test him. After work, there wasn't a mad rush to feed and test, but I'd do that close to 7 and then around 11 PM I could test and give him a snack. That was "easy".
When I worked 6am till 2pm, or 2pm till 10pm, I had to get "creative", and if his shot was an hour early or late, that's just what I had to do. It was impossible to stay on a rigid 12 hour schedule with the shots, so I did the best I could.

Carl
 
I just started experiment a little with the shots. As soon as I tried the side of his belly, I got great results. I can only assume he had good numbers because of that since it was the same dose as I had been doing. So I have been doing that since, rotating sides.

Doing this over the last year, we've found the time we're at now to work best, but if need be, I will do some tweaking. It might just be easier for me to go to bed then set an alarm to test him. Plus, my work schedule changes every three months, and right now I'm starting at 4 and 5am. Soon it will be changing to 11am, so I will be much more likely to stay up and test him at night, maybe even moving his shot forward by an hour.

Also, I bumped him down to 1.2 this morning, seeing if the 1.4 was just too much, but we didn't get near as good numbers as yesterday, but a better curve instead of just a straight fall. Although we have yet to see where he is tonight.
 
Wow! Just checked out your spreadsheet. You two had an interesting day! So glad you were home to test and give him some food to bring him up. Interesting that 1.4 takes him into the 40s but 1.2 doesn't do much. Maybe a fat 1.2 would do the trick? (a fat dose is when you draw up just a smidgen- scientific term :mrgreen: - more than 1.2 and the try to let just a drop out do you have just a bit more than 1.2, but not up to 1.4).

To drop from 422 to 144 in 2 hours is very strange. Wonder if the 422 was sure a good test? The only other explanation I see is that he is really, really sensitive to food. Any way to lessen the carb count? Like if you're feeding 8%, could you drop to 4%? ( not all seafood though)
 
Yes, today was a very strange day. He seems extremely sensitive to food. The only explanation I had for the 442 was his grazing. I never let him graze like that, but he's just been taking so long to eat lately, so I just left it out. I actually just posted again about today's numbers in a new thread, and I hadn't seen your post yet. I was debating how much lower to go. His PMPS was 197, which I feel comfortable shooting at, knowing how he skyrockets after eating. Plus I'll be able to keep an eye on him tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top