pmps 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewest

Member Since 2011
Munchie's pmps was 73. She ate regular amount (between 6 and 7pm) and I gave regular dose (7pm) and checked her at 8pm and it was 99. We increased .25 Tuesday evening to 1.5 as lowest numbers last few days were in 200's. She seems to go lowest at end. Just hoping she doesn't get too low. Will check her but desperately need sleep too. Don't have access to upload spreadsheet right now.

8.23 amps 241, plus 11 136, pmps 218, plus 1 -417, plus 3- 380, plus 5.5- 358, plus. 8 274

8.24 amps 186, plus 6- 298, pmps 114

8.25 amps 195, pmps 287

8.26 amps 329, pmps 286

8.27 amps 168, plus 1- 573, plus 3-11- over 600, pmps- 545, plus 2- 500, plus 4- 383, plus 6- 296, plus 8- 274, plus 10- 273

8.28 amps 342, plus 6- 323, pmps 362

8.29. Amps 280 pmps 240, plus 6- 419

8.30 amps 299 pmps 420

8.31 amps 320, pmps 324, plus 6- 368

9.1 amps 277 pmps 73 plus 1-99
 
Hello Munchie and bean! I'm relatively new to the whole insulin thing with my cat Smokey- been shooting for a little over 2 weeks but this site has been great.

A few things that helped me in the beginning: I think it helps people in the form to format your subject with the date and cat name followed by your subject (BG numbers or questions or comments) something like "9/1 Smokey Dose increase question". That way people know that the post is recent, know who they're looking at and what to expect. Also, the sooner you can get a spread sheet hooked up to your signature, the better. The dosing guru's really pour over that thing before they give any advice. I also found it helpful for me to look at Smokey's BG that way (I have a note pad by my bed that I write on then transfer to the spreadsheet when I have time or questions). It helped me orient both me and Smokey and see how he is comparing to other kitties.

Smokey and I (Gwen) welcome you to Lantus Land and good luck with Munchie- you're doing great!
 
Elizabeth:

Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle -- the nadir. In order to help you, we really need to see more than just pre-shot numbers on a regular basis. You need to get at minimum, one test each cycle. It may help if you look at some of our spreadsheets. (I'm a bit of a testaholic but there are others here to test more -- and less -- than I do.) My understanding is that you've been shooting insulin since mid-July. It will help you to see Munchie's numbers laid out on a spreadsheet. I know it would help me enormously to see his numbers on a spreadsheet. It's far easier to see patterns when we have the numbers and color coding. Please help us to give you the best help possible.
 
do you have a +2 yet? When you shoot your lowest number, you should get a +1 and +2 to see how the cycle goes. If this is lower than her usual and just coming off a dose increase, you really might need to keep testing through nadir.
 
I'm not home during the day to get more cycle numbers. I test during day on weekends when can and take off from work to get midday when can....so I'm averaging 3 days a week. Sounds like this isn't enough from what I'm hearing...so may not be able to get help here. Not sure how others do it. Do folks work from home? So far her lowest numbers seem to be end of cycle.
 
If you're gone during the day, that's OK. You need to be able to pay for strips!! Get the tests in when you can at night and weekends. In part, at least for me, this is where the spreadsheet comes it -- I would have been able to see you were gone during usual work hours. I'm very used to looking at spreadsheets. It's much harder to pull the information out of a list.
 
ewest said:
I'm not home during the day to get more cycle numbers. I test during day on weekends when can and take off from work to get midday when can....so I'm averaging 3 days a week. Sounds like this isn't enough from what I'm hearing...so may not be able to get help here. Not sure how others do it. Do folks work from home? So far her lowest numbers seem to be end of cycle.

We all have life "things" so know you are doing a great job in the testing when you can. If you're getting other numbers than AMPS and PMPS 3 days a week - that's great for others to be able to help, so rest assured, you're exactly where you should be and others can help with that info. Just pop them into a spreadsheet and you'll find this board to be so much more!

We can all only do what we can do with the hand we're dealt - you've already doing more than so many for your kitty, so let's make the most of what you've got!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top