pmps 578/chk my latest post :)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: pmps 578

i wish i knew how to get ppl to comment. i usually end up calling on the same 2, and i think they r busy tonight. need to give shot.
 
Re: pmps 578

I think the more experienced people are in bed right now, Pam. I don't feel comfortable advising you because I'm not familiar with Humulin N insulin. Perhaps posting on the N type insulin forums?
 
Re: pmps 578

I wish I could help, Pam, but I'm a newbie and use Lantus. Have you looked thru the advice folks have given you in the past? Sometimes they give clues.
 
Re: pmps 578

I answered in your other post.

Will your schedule allow you to test and shoot every 8 hours? The N just isn't lasting long enough. Like a cork held under water, the minute the insulin wears off, the glucose shoots up.



(I had rehearsal tonight and got home late. Also, I'm really beat from staying up late last night with someone on the board whose cat died today. When we tell someone to go to a vet NOW, we really mean NOW, and it still may not be fast enough to save the cat.)
 
Re: pmps 578

Hello, Pam

When I was new & using ProZinc or Levemir, I got dosing help primarily from 3 or 4 members. Seems to me that the most experienced members help the most with dosing. I believe that there are simply fewer members who use the N insulin so, consequently, fewer members who can or are brave enough to offer advice.

Perhaps, it would help if you'd put in the subject line: N insulin help needed.

I had to make my own crib sheet so I could remember some of the prior advice. I taped it to my computer! I still panicked!!!

Best wishes to you and Larry,
Sophie
 
Re: pmps 578

I would go to 12 1/2 units. I would also try to get some +4-5 reading vice +6 since N tends to peak at about 5 hours.
 
Re: pmps 578

Sorry Pam. I just don't know about N insulins. They aren't used by many so we just don't have that knowledge.

I agree with BJ. 3 times a day may work better since N insulins just wear off earlier.
 
Re: pmps 578

thank u all! i just wsnt sure how worried to be and i had some immediate questions. like...the blood got on my hand and i had to "sip" it off there with the meter. i wonder if that couldve altered it abt 100 points.
ill write more whn i wake up some. i am half asleep.
 
Re: pmps 578

i wouldnt have thot of putting n insulin on the subj. i was jst trying to communicate at all. it was late and i was exhausted. i basically wondered if he was in danger and if i shd give a tiny bit more insulin and the hand question i mentioned. thats the first time there was ever no1 here, so a little scary, but we got by.
thanks again and to the new/unfamiliar ppl for weighing in. the main 2 i usually see, there was 4, have gone MIA.
bj i wntd to attempt the 8 hr sched. and was willing to try, but then they said u still have to do all the same things but 3 times a day. just amps, pmps, and shots twice a day is taking abt 3 hrs. of the day. thats just for the shots. each procedure start to finish is around 1 1/2 hrs depending how well it goes, sometimes 2 hrs. if he could take a lower/safe dosage, perhaps 1U or evn less? and just get the shot and get 2 PS a day, and thn some pluses whn possible, i think it could work. but not possible to do the whole 1 1/2 hr procedure evry 8 hrs. just no way as it stands. i hate that for him. i bet even 1 U 3X a day would do better, but who knows.
 
Re: pmps 578

IloveLarry said:
thank u all! i just wsnt sure how worried to be and i had some immediate questions. like...the blood got on my hand and i had to "sip" it off there with the meter. i wonder if that couldve altered it abt 100 points.
ill write more whn i wake up some. i am half asleep.

One of the ways to deal with fidgety cats is to get the droplet on a clean fingernail and test it off there. As long as your hands were clean, it wouldn't affect the results.
 
Re: pmps 578

i remember that. nvr bn able to do that bc he shakes his head immediately. luckily this time the blood went on my finger.
it has also gotten inside cuts i have, mixing his blood into mine. i sure hope their r no diseases or things that can transmit, but thats another story.
 
Re: pmps 578

Re the blood, both of you should be fine.

Yes, I think 3 times a day might work for Larry. I would guess the reason you are getting the higher numbers is that his body is getting used to the insulin and it isn't working as well. With other insulins, we would just have you increase the dose. But with N, we have to worry about an increase causing the sudden drop without extending the cycle any longer.

We can explain how three times a day would work if you want to try it, but it will be learning a new schedule and probably be stresseful for you. It would be better to get another insulin. I know you are working on that.

If I were you, I would stick with 2.5 for a few cycles and see if his numbers improve, and hope the new insulin arrives.

Pam, I know it is hard when no one answers your thread. But, as others have said, very few people are willing to give dosing advice on an insulin that is unfamiliar to them. And the few who are can't always be here. I was hoping the sliding scale might help you out, giving you a dose for the number you get.
 
Re: pmps 578

it does help, sue. i used it...but i didnt know if i should give more at such a higher number.
 
Re: pmps 578

Well, for me, I might try a little more on the higher numbers during the day when you can monitor, but I'd be reluctant to try it at night when you can't.

I know we have talked about ketone testing before. It is time for you to start doing it, with his numbers in these higher ranges. You can buy ketone strips (the same kind that humans use) for a few cents apiece at any drug store. When he is peeing, you stick it in the urine stream. If Larry is the kind of cat that won't allow such indignities, we have other ways to collect a sample. Here is some info:

ketones

It usually takes a combination of not eating, an infection and high numbers to produce high ketones. But to be safe, It is a good thing to test for every couple of days. If you catch them early, it is not as big a problem.
 
Re: pmps 578

Given how high he has been, you probably would be safe to wait only 30 minutes before shooting. It is roughly 30 minutes after eating that the glucose starts to rise from food.

So that makes it test, feed, 30 min, shoot. That takes the total time to abou 1.5 to 2 hours.

If you want to try that, I have a TID spreadsheet I can provide, since the cycles become 8 hours, not 12.
 
thanks again to all u who commented! lots of diff. ppl pitched in on this one :) and some of u have been here since day 1!
i think we lost a few ppl along the way, somehow, but vry grateful for u all.
chk our latest post. good things r coming this way for my angel, larry :) ;)
meow purrrrrrrrrrr
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top