Hi Wendy, I won't add to the dosing suggestions for further confusion at this point...I just wanted to give you a for instance of late nadir kitty.
You can look at our spread sheet and though it is no tup to date, it basically is b/c PK does not change.
at AM test/shot/feed, PK is the lowest he will be through the whole cycle. If I did not feed him, he would continue to drop. Thus PK's nadir/peak is generally +12
within a short time after her eats- even no carb or extreme low carb food, he spikes like crazy, zipping into the 300's. Doesn't matter what dose, doesn't matter or little or much I feed, doesn't matter the timing ( see ss where we did multiple experiments)- as soon as the boy eats- up he zooms.
He rides that food spike for about 3 or 5 hours, steadily dropping- slowly- until he settles into 50- 100 at PM test/shot/feed
Another thing PK does- b/c this is long duration insulin he tends to react TOMORROW to what I gave him today....so a Friday night PS may not be a direct result of Friday mornings dose exactly...it could be as far back as Thursday mornings dose his body is reacting/adjusting to.
One reason to go slow, holding dose for 5 days really....3 days is not enough IMO.
One last thing to mention, PK is super sensitive to dose increase and decreases. For the last few months we have been dancing between .5u and .3u....the .5u tends to send him into the 30's and 40's and back to the 300's at food spike where the .3u keeps him between 100- 300 for the most part.
If I could predictable measure .4u, we might have gold here!
Anyway, the point is, sometimes those .25u or .5u increase/decreases don't work b/c of kittys sensitivity. ( See Gandalf's 1.1u and 1.3u doses! ) And you won't know until you have tried everything else, tested yourself silly and broke and are ready to give up in frustration- then the light goes on and ta-da! you find that micro doses work really well.
I sense your frustration already and it has only been 2 weeks, right?
Buckle up, friend! It may take a few months to find a proper dose and just when you do, you'll need a decrease again! ( another reason micro dosing is preferable)
Then again, mayeb your Boo will be one of those lucky kitty's that go OTJ within a month and leave you standing there in battel gear saying- what was that?!
Either way- marathon, not sprint...patience grasshopper... OOmmmmm.....OOmmmmmmm.....happy-place...happy-place....
;-)
(((hugs)))