Susan and Timmy
Member Since 2017
Timmy's PMPS is 357. What would be a suggested dose for him tonight? The events with his numbers over the last few days have me dosing maybe a little too safe.
My thinking exactly! It is so tricky. You have to have nerves of steel in the FD game. I was thinking 1.25 units, but I just don't know.I don't know... he might be bouncing from the lows yesterday, so I wouldn't over-interpret the high numbers today. He's already told you that the higher doses bring him lower than you'd like (great numbers, but you probably don't want to be up in the middle of the night doing the necessary food-steering!).
I was just starting to feel somewhat confident in what I was doing, then Timmy decided to throw these numbers out and here I am again not knowing what to do.Expanding on this: you have limited data on his bouncing. Last time, he broke his bounce on the fourth cycle after the low. Tonight will be his third cycle after the most recent low, so it's at least possible he might break it tonight and go low again. Probably not, but if it were me I'd still go with the lower dose. You have to do what you are comfortable with, though.
Thanks for the input on the bounce. I hadn't considered that.How long until shot time? Hopefully some of the vetsulin folks will show up. Absent their advice, I think I'd advocate for the 1.0U again, just in case the bounce breaks tonight, but I have trouble interpreting spreadsheet patterns with frequent dose changes, so I'm not sure. Whatever you shoot, I'd plan on getting up to +3 tonight if you can, in order to catch any dives.
I am unfortunately going to have to sign off now, but I'm sure other folks will be along to offer their two cents soon!
His +2.5 is 254. So he has dropped 100 points. 
So now he is 198 at +3.15. I'm giving him a snack now. Ugh!I would check again at +3 or +3.5 to see where he's at and if he's going down too fast still you could steer with some food.
Okay. He is eating now and I will test in 20 minutes...That's just outside the 20% variance so not a huge drop which is good. I would give a small snack too. Looks like his nadir is around +4 to +6 (average looking at your SS). You could test again in 20 minutes or 30 minutes... whichever you're more comfortable with. If he's still dropping maybe another small snack of food. If he seems to be surfing you could wait on the food and test again 20-30 minutes and see if he drops and give more food then.
So after 20 minutes and no food at +4 he has come down to 175. Should I feed him again?I think he's in safe numbers. He's not close to under 100 so he has quite a bit to drop before getting in dangerous numbers. Even if he nadirs tonight at +6 I think he should be ok. But testing to make sure is the best idea.
I think I'll wait another 20 minutes and then test again. I do t want him to get too full, just in case.It's within the 20% variance. I would wait another 20 minutes but if you're worried about it and not comfortable waiting you could give him a tiny snack. Like a teaspoon or so.
I hope. I guess the next test will tell us. It's late for you too. If you need to go, I think I will be okay. I can keep giving food and testing so he doesn't go too low.I see you're in FL so it's late there. If you have to get some sleep you can give him a normal snack amount. I've been there but I usually end up making my boy spike.
If you look at his numbers. He's only a 23 point difference from +3.15 to +4 so he could be surfing already.
I have turned into a night owl myself since Timmy was diagnosed. I just can't seem to settle. I worry about him constantly. Please tell me that these feelings will improve as we get further into this journey.I'm a night owl lately! I feed Chuck around 2 or 3 and then head to bed. DH monitors after that.
Timmy has thrown me for a loop this week indeed. Thank you for letting me know that there is light at the end of the tunnel.Yes. Once you get better at predicting his behavior, which you seem to be well on your way to perfecting, you will be able to give him a dose and be more comfortable with going to sleep or even just getting out of the house. I'm at the point to where I can usually predict where chuck will be going after a +2... If it's under a certain number I know I need to stay awake and possibly steer. If it's over that number I tell him to get some sleep and that's what I do! But he does like to throw me for a loop sometimes!
Okay. I'll leave him alone and test at the last minute. Thank you for guiding me along tonight. It is a relief to not have to do this in the middle of the night all by myself. Sleep well once you have fed Satan/Chuck. I love the names and I'm sure there is a fantastic story as to how he got them.I think it's safe enough to leave him be. What I usually do is start getting ready for bed or something so the time flies then test again before bed.
I see you gave 1 u. I was going to say try that and see what happens. That's how we build the "rule book" for our specific kitty. Try something, log data, repeat ...His amps is 393. Should I give 1.0 unit?
Hi Kris, I dosed him about 10 minutes before your reply. So at +2 he is 349. So he is still bouncing? This bouncing is driving me crazy. I'm not recognizing the bounce, so I keep thinking it is because I didn't dose him correctly. It would be so much easier if his body would cooperate.I see you gave 1 u. I was going to say try that and see what happens. That's how we build the "rule book" for our specific kitty. Try something, log data, repeat ...
I love hearing the stories of the kitties names. Timmy was a rescue and was already named, but it fits him. Although having a cat "attached to your head" is one I hadn't heard, and of course this happened while you had company. He has earned his name. He is such a cutie and I'm sure he is filling your life with laughter. That story made me smile for sure.I'm happy to offer support! I'm usually up so if no one responds and you need help feel free to tag me. Email notifications are sketchy these days but I'll check in if I get an email.
When he was a kitten I was his "prey" and toy. Once, with company over, I was sitting on the edge of the chair... He was "sleeping" on the back of it and next thing I knew he attached himself to my head with all 4 paws. Bear hugging my head and biting my pony tail and head!! It took a couple people to get him off my head. It was all fun and games to him... He's not a cat that bites either. He will put his mouth on you but doesn't bite down. He plays with his "weapons (claws) put away" these days but until we got him a brother to play with... I suffered! So many more stories I could bore you right to sleep!! Haha
Teasel's name comes from "Teaselwood Stables" where I bought my horse 6+ years ago. He and his brother and sister were 3 month old barn kittens that I adopted. I call them my "gift with purchase". Teasel's brother is Woody and his sister is Meadow so there's an obvious theme here.I love hearing the stories of the kitties names. Timmy was a rescue and was already named, but it fits him. Although having a cat "attached to your head" is one I hadn't heard, and of course this happened while you had company. He has earned his name. He is such a cutie and I'm sure he is filling your life with laughter. That story made me smile for sure.
I like the "gift with purchase" saying and Teasel's name is so unusual. He is quite handsome. I guess Timmy is our gift with purchase, although we call him our bonus kitty. My son wanted a cat for so long and we were waiting for him to be old enough for the total responsibility. When that time arrived we were able to rescue our tortie, who my son named Explorer, because that is what she does. While we were there, I squatted down to pet her and Timmy jumped on my shoulders and stayed there and just purred. DH and I looked at each other and realized we would be bringing home two cats. That was 9 years ago and they certainly keep us laughing.Teasel's name comes from "Teaselwood Stables" where I bought my horse 6+ years ago. He and his brother and sister were 3 month old barn kittens that I adopted. I call them my "gift with purchase". Teasel's brother is Woody and his sister is Meadow so there's an obvious theme here.![]()
This certainly does help...a lot. I feel like I should know this already and be able to recognize it. Geesh! I am printing this out.Re bouncing: I wrote this for another member - you might find it helpful.
Bouncing recap:
How to identify:
Whenever a dose has given you some lower numbers (eg. blue) mid cycle and then the same dose fails to do so next cycle (only yellow or pink and higher), that's evidence of bouncing. When a good mid cycle low skyrockets to an unexpectedly high number at the end of the cycle, that's evidence of bouncing. Bouncing is caused by a normal physiologic regulatory process aimed at keeping kitty's BG at safe levels but the process goes into overdrive and over compensates. This "computer glitch" is an idiosyncrasy of that particular kitty. Not all kitties do this but it's very common.
What will trigger bouncing in kitties who are prone:
Does this help?
- a BG that falls too low
- a BG that falls to a lower level than has been the case recently but not necessarily too low
- a high rate of BG drop in a cycle - eg. dropping 100 points in the first hour or two.