PMPS = 284. Caninsulin dosage still ok?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maya & Neo

Member
Hi all,
So I just started home testing this past Saturday so I don't have a lot of data to go on, but I switched to low-carb wet food only that same day and although it may be my imagination, I feel like Neo's already looking happier and more alert than I've ever seen him. :thumbup

He's on 5U of Caninsulin, and I had a lot of people telling me that I would have to lower his dosage once I switched him to wet food only, but I'm missing the details on how much and how fast. He's been on wet food only for 3 days now, and I just measured his GL at +11 to be 284. I will take it again just before feeding him in an hour (for the real PMPS). But 284 doesn't seem very high to me, and I feel like I should keep his dosage as-is. I'm just a bit freaked out that he's going to go hypo when I'm not around because of all the warnings I got that I'd have to reduce his dosage.

Just in case it's relevant...
I've been feeding him Animonda vom Feinsten Classic, 100g tins, spaced out at 2 hour intervals. Anywhere from 4-6 during the day (depending on his hunger, if I'm home, etc.) and then 156g of Applaws (also wet) for dinner, but another 100g of Animonda just before I go to bed. Today I left him 2 fresh and 3 frozen tins of Animonda when I went to work, and he has been begging for food ever since I came home about an hour ago.

I'd really appreciate some advise. Stick with the current dosage, all looks good? Or are his levels are dropping too fast and I need to cut back?

I work during the day so unfortunately I can't take readings any earlier than I just did, but I will be taking more readings tonight before going to bed.

Thank you all very much!
 
Re: PMPS = 284. Dosage still ok?

Hi Maya,
My gut says you should reduce. Let me qualify that by saying that I am not familiar with Caninsulin, other than what I have read here.
If last night was indeed a "fur shot" which seems to be validated by the numbers not dropping, then it is difficult to explain this morning's low AMPS beyond the low carb food dropping the BG. When waiting for the +12, and having a +11 already, what you would look for is to see if the BG is rising from +11 to +12. If so, then you would be shooting a "rising number" which is what you want. I wish I had knowledge of what and how your insulin does short and long term. Hoping some experienced "eyes" see this soon.
I was pretty agressive when dosing my Bob, but tend to err on the side of caution when looking at others' kitties...
Carl
 
Re: PMPS = 284. Dosage still ok?

Hi Carl,
Thanks very much. I'm also worried about the high dosage since the change in food seems to have had such a pronounced effect, but I have no idea what I'm doing, really. :? But thank you for the tip about the rising number. The only thing I was thinking is that as long as it's in the double-digits Neo should hopefully be okay.

I have read enough papers that I'm definitely going to talk to my vet about switching to Lantus when I get back from holiday, but I've decided I'm not comfortable changing more than just his diet (and if needed his dosage) before I leave. I'm worried about leaving him behind enough as it is!

But thank you for your thoughts! I will hope that some Caninsulin savvy beans will chime in soon too.
 
Re: PMPS = 284. Dosage still ok?

I'm not a Caninsulin user either but Carl asked that I stop by. What I would suggest is that you get another test. Your +1 probably is reflecting a food spike.

While numbers are coming down, they are not overly low. For now, I'd hold your doses until you start to see numbers that are in the blues and greens. If you start to see low blues, please post so someone can give you some input.

You might also want to put "Caninsulin Dosage still ok?" in your subject line so people familiar with that insulin can respond.
 
Thanks very much. I've updated the topic as suggested and I'll probably keep testing hourly until I go to bed.

Neo's still begging for food, so hopefully it's not a problem that I feed him again in a bit?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top