Pmps 262 shot or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steph&BigKitty

Member Since 2017
So good news is Kitty is 262 an hour before his nightime shot. This is a first! He's usually in the 400's. I even reduced him to 1.25u from 1.5u because I was worried he was dipping too low at nadir (if I'm using that term right).
So I'm thinking 1.25 would be way to much.
For example..
When he is 450 at shot time at 5+ he is low 100's.
Unsure of what to do. I don't think I should skip tonight's shot.
Maybe .5u or 1u? Any advice?

I wasn't home for the past 6 hours. Hope he didn't drop too low while I wasn't here..Scary. He is eating 2 large meals at shot time and 2 small meals in between. No dry at all. Just his FF classic with some chicken to entice!
 
So good news is Kitty is 262 an hour before his nightime shot. This is a first! He's usually in the 400's. I even reduced him to 1.25u from 1.5u because I was worried he was dipping too low at nadir (if I'm using that term right).
So I'm thinking 1.25 would be way to much.
For example..
When he is 450 at shot time at 5+ he is low 100's.
Unsure of what to do. I don't think I should skip tonight's shot.
Maybe .5u or 1u? Any advice?

I wasn't home for the past 6 hours. Hope he didn't drop too low while I wasn't here..Scary. He is eating 2 large meals at shot time and 2 small meals in between. No dry at all. Just his FF classic with some chicken to entice!
I might do 0.5 if you can monitor.... If not maybe less. .25
 
Ok so I will set some alarms through the night to get up and check.
Why is this happening?
I'm new so I don't understand..
 
Lantus builds a depot and it is possible that the depot is "full" and you have some overlap as far as a bit more insulin being active time.
Was the 262 at +11 or +12
lots can happen in a hour with sugar kitttys
 
The test was at 11+ I had just walked in the door from being gone awhile and wanted to make sure he was OK.
I was thinking 1u also. He has another meal coming. Then I will set an alarm and test at 5+.
 
Lol @JanetNJ I know this is fantastic! I was just wondering what is causing the slow creep downward in numbers. Insulin overtime? Like a build up? Is it normal to have to keep adjusting the dose?
 
The test was at 11+ I had just walked in the door from being gone awhile and wanted to make sure he was OK.
I was thinking 1u also. He has another meal coming. Then I will set an alarm and test at 5+.
I'm glad you are willing to get up and test at +5... I think 1u has the potential of bringing her low. Fine if you will be up to monitor though.
 
Ok maybe I'll go with .5u then. Hate to see a spike in the morning but better than dipping to low! Thanks for all the advice. More appreciated thanks you know!
 
Well after all this. An hour later he is 486!
I gave him his full meal and waited half an hour. Tested- 486. So I gave his regular 1.25u.
Thank you for everything. Now I know what to do when he's lower before shot time.
 
Well after all this. An hour later he is 486!
I gave him his full meal and waited half an hour. Tested- 486. So I gave his regular 1.25u.
Thank you for everything. Now I know what to do when he's lower before shot time.
Wait, so the 486 is AFTER he ate? That number is artificially high from food then.

The order is test, then feed, then shoot so that the test numbers are not food influenced. No food at least 2 hours prior to the test.
 
This morning he was 219. I gave him his meal. Then gave .5u
Hope I made the right decision. He will be alone for 5 hours now until I get home from work. It's so weird he was 518 before bed!
He only ate half a can this morning. But I know he was gonna climb all day and I thought .5 would protect him from the super high numbers at the end of this 12 hrs. Can't wait to get him from work! Worried sick!
 
That 518 might have been a bounce from a lower number mid cycle. You weren't able to test then so it's impossible to know for sure. I like the 0.5 u for this AM. I'd test him again the minute you get in the door after work. All data is good data. Another test this evening before bed is a good idea. If you're off this weekend aim for extra tests in the middle section of the cycle from +4 to +8 or even a full curve.

Full curve:
Test every 2 hours beginning with the AMPS and ending with the PMPS.
 
Thank you for the advice. I know I need to do a curve. I've ranged doses from .5-1.25 so I'm not sure when I good time to do one is. He's bouncing around so much.
 
Thank you for the advice. I know I need to do a curve. I've ranged doses from .5-1.25 so I'm not sure when I good time to do one is. He's bouncing around so much.
A curve is done when you want to see the full effect of a dose - new dose, maybe a good dose, monitoring for bouncing, etc. Those are some of the reasons. A curve is a snapshot of one day's responses. Getting BG numbers at a variety of times over many days give better indication of how things are going.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top