PMPS 247 +3.5 108

Status
Not open for further replies.

SashaV

Member Since 2020
So this it not for me, so please disregard my spreadsheet

I'm writing for @Marlene82 who's a brand new member!
Because of the language I am making the thread.
Karl is a new diabetic, had 5 shots of prozinc 1 unit twice a day.
Marlene is very fortunate to have a understand vet who knows something about this.

I've asked her to get some more guidance, since Karl is at 108 already at +3.5.
I do not feel comfortable advising her on my own anymore, since Karl is responding so nicely to the insulin. Marlene has a hypo-kit ready, she's home testing, using the right syringes and the conversion chart to get the right dosage.

My worry is that Karl might go lower since he's only at +4 now.
I'm also thinking it would be nice to know of Marlene should keep him on the 1U?

Really, any advice is greatly appreciated! :bighug:

Here is the link to Karls spreadsheet

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1o-I1OQGe9KoPfPTI4rQiv9zGe1M-JNf8_gzjB-mfmic/edit
 
That's a nice number but she will want to test next hour. What insulin is it? Is it a human or pet meter?

Also she should give him a nice low carb snack.


If the number dips below 90 today she should lower to 1.75 going forward.
 
Ok good. With a human meter there's still a nice buffer. She should give some reg low carb food and test again in 30-60 min. If the cat goes below about 90 then going forward reduce the dose to 0.75.
He ate right after the +3.5. It was his reward for the test. Karl is not agreeing on tests in the evenings after his shot, which worried me even more :oops:
She'll do a test in 20, then he'll be at +5.
 
144! I'll remove the 911 tag.
I've explained about reducing at 90.
Hopefully Karl will need a reduction soon :rolleyes::D
Marlene is giving him some treats and going to sleep. It's almost midnight here.
Thanks you so much Janet! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top