PMPS 182, +3 BG 124, what dose for AM?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cbrown1

Member Since 2013
Hi All
As recommended, I tested Mr. Pink 3 hours after PM shot to get a better reading since we are still on Novalin N. (won't be able to switch to Lantus until next week).
His PMPS was 182, gave 3 Units. 3 hours later was at 124. The Vet won't be open before I leave for work in the morning, so wondering what I should do for his AM shot?
To recap our weekend since his Friday diagnosis (BG in 400+) - we have transitioned him almost completely from dry to friskies patte. We have gone from the Vet's original recommendation of 4u bid to 3u bid. I have started the tracking speadsheet as recommended- link in my profile.
If he is in the blue- should I go down to 2 or stay at 3? Shot will be around 630am, I won't be able to check on him from about 730am-noon.
Any advice is really appreciated- I am still so new at all of this!
 
If you won't be home to monitor and you're concerned he might go too low, definitely back off the dose tomorrow morning.
OR
You could test how 2 units works tonight to see what it does. It may make morning higher again which is OK as you know what will work for the higher level. Or the food changes may make the morning similar to tonight's shot and you will have seen how that works tonight and will know if its OK.

Make sense?
 
Good job on changing the food - hopefully that will keep away those pinks from mr pink!! I would make sure you get a before bed test every night though as many cats drop low at night and if the before bed test is lower than the preshot you might be in for an active cycle.
 
Hi Christina!

Would you please add the meter you are using to test, the insulin you are using, the food you are feeding to your signature? Totally optional but it helps us to help you better. Thanks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top