PMPS 163 not eating

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzyR

Member Since 2021
Hello everyone. Scooby is due for his insulin tonight and he read at a 163, however he is being picky and has not eaten today. He seems fine I think he might just have an upset tummy. So obviously I haven't given any insulin
I called the vet for insight and they are saying he will need to come in and be hospitalized (?) which I really don't think that is necessary at 163, after he was just hospitalized a week ago for 3 days and has greatly improved and has been eating everyday until today.
Edit: I got him to eat a good amount of HC wet food and treats, read 256 (food influenced) I gave normal dose, a little light it was probably closer to .75. Not sure if thats what I should have done but will retest +2
 
Last edited:
Hi Lizzy. Did you give the insulin after the 256?
If so the 256 is the preshot PMPS BG and it goes into the +12 PMPS square. You stack the +12 163, +13.5 256 in the PMPS square. Does that make sense ?
The 197 would be the +2 BG and because it is lower than the preshot BG I would continue testing tonight.
 
Lizzy, why are you only giving the insulin once a day?
You would be much better giving the insulin twice a day so the depot can fill and stabilise and Scooby can have coverage for the 24 hours. I would suggest going 0.5 units twice a day and see how that goes.

Are you testing for ketones in the urine? If not, I would recommend you do. You can buy Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy.:)

Here is your introductory thread.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-meet-scooby-dose-questions.250628/
 
Last edited:
Lizzy, why are you only giving the insulin once a day?
I've been considering moving him to .5 twice a day. I was waiting for the recheck at the vet, they had him on twice a day and I guess he dropped pretty low on that, I believe it was 1 u twice a day though. I've just been worried to switch since he is alone for most of the day since my boyfriend and I are both full time, I don't want him to drop too low when no one is home. I've also been told by my sister who is a vet tech that anything below 1 unit isn't a reliable dose because it's so small, so that kind of discouraged me. I may try this weekend when he can be monitored
I do have ketone sticks on the way via Amazon, I couldn't find them in my pharmacy.
 
I've just been worried to switch since he is alone for most of the day since my boyfriend and I are both full time, I don't want him to drop too low when no one is home
The 0.5 units won’t drop him as low as the 1 unit once a day. Do you have a timed automatic feeder you can load to let him have a couple of low carb snacks during the first half of the cycles while you are at work?
Also how long after the shot in the mornings do you leave.? And at what time in the cycle do you get home?

I've also been told by my sister who is a vet tech that anything below 1 unit isn't a reliable dose because it's so small, so that kind of discouraged me.
I’m not sure where she would have got that information but it’s not true. To get our kitties into remission we go from 1 unit to 0.5 unit, 0.25 unit, 0.1 unit and a drop, to ensure they have a strong remission. I’ll try and find you a couple of SS to look at to show you how it’s done and just how effective the smaller doses are.
We also go up in 1/4 unit (0.25 unit) increments so as not to miss the best dose and it is safer for the cat. Cats are only tiny creatures so mostly need only small amounts of insulin.

I may try this weekend when he can be monitored
That’s a great idea.

I do have ketone sticks on the way via Amazon, I couldn't find them in my pharmacy.
That’s good. It’s a great insurance policy to test for ketones in u regulated cats as ketones which can lead to DKA can be a very serious illness which can be avoided by testing foe ketones.
 
Do you have a timed automatic feeder you can load to let him have a couple of low carb snacks during the first half of the cycles while you are at work?
Also how long after the shot in the mornings do you leave.? And at what time in the cycle do you get home?
I will look into getting one.
I leave +1 after Amps most days besides Tuesday and recent Fridays, I leave 3 hours before shot time and my boyfriend leaves +1.5 friday and at shot time tuesday. I get home +7.5, it's been difficult trying to work around morning schedule, pm is no issue.
Here are a few SS
I will definitely give it a go this weekend, those ss look great
 
Here is a SS of a kitty who has just started an off the juice trial today after dropping to a drop of insulin. This is the way to get a strong remission.
Chico’s SS https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...7Cr_Xq64uZxfLNJvOfFAxEcqmVyqgVI9heGbA/pubhtml


Yes I can see the am schedule is very tight for you. Try shooting twice a day over the weekend and see how you go. It takes at least 5 days for the depot to fill and settle and for you to see the full effect of the dose. If you have the automatic feeder filled with a snack of low carb food and set for +2 and +5 (or +2, +4 and +6) and you can test at +7.5 I think it will work well.
If we find the 0.5 dose twice a day is too much you can go down to 0.25 units twice a day.
Do you have the U 100 3/10 30 or 31 gauge 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with the 1/2 unit markings?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top