? Pmps 152 had to stop stalling

Debra Pratt

Member Since 2020
So here we go again. Her pmps is at 152. Stalling now at the moment. Can’t remember for how long to stall before rechecking. And at what point do I stop stalling?
 
Had to stop stalling as Bitsy was attempting to eat anything she could get to. Vet said to give her food and 0.5 units tonight and to reduce her dose to 1.75 units in the morning. Does this sound right?
 
OK, so stalling is the last step before giving a shot or not - based on whether the numbers are going up or down.

Usually when we test at PM - the test just in front of giving insulin - we determine whether to shoot or not based on an unexpectedly low number or a good number.

Is this your first time shooting under 200?

It looks like based on the numbers 152 and then 164 that the numbers are going up. So no food within 2 hours of the shot, test again just before feeding, and then shoot IF you can monitor this evening.

No, your vet is incorrect.

If you need to give her a snack - you can feed a piece or two of freeze dried chicken, salmon - that sort of thing.

Shoot the same dose that you've shot this morning - Lantus is a hormone that requires consistency...do not change the dose based on pre-shot numbers. Changes are based on mid-cycle numbers...

Which dosing method are you using? TR or SLGS?
 
Vet said to give her food and 0.5 units tonight and to reduce her dose to 1.75 units in the morning. Does this sound right?

Your vet sounds completely uninformed about how Lantus works. I hope you've read this in time to NOT follow his advice.

Please read the dosing methods SLGS and TR; choose which one you're going to follow and then you'll know when/why to change the dose.
 
Back
Top