PMPS 150 - What dose?

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

Good evening. Don't want to say this too loud but I have been getting some bg numbers on the boy. Afraid if I say it out loud, I'll jinx myself.

Please check Scratchie's SS. I have gone back and put the curve information in from our vet for the last two months. I might have messed up by upping his dose the last 2 doses to 2u. Tonight PMPS 150. Do I keep him at 2u's or drop back down to 1u. I was worried he was going up and didn't want him to. confused_cat

Thank you!
 
When I try to view the SS I get:

Google Docs has encountered a server error. If reloading the page doesn't help, please contact us.

We're sorry, a server error occurred. Please wait a bit and try reloading your spreadsheet.
To discuss this or other issues, visit the Google Docs Help forum. To see the list of known problems, check the Google Docs Known Issues page.

Sorry, and thanks for your help!
- The Google Docs Team
 
I don't know what's wrong. Everything seems ok on Google. Thanks for the FYI.
 
Thanks Larry, that's what I thought and my vet confirmed. Thank you for your time and response!
 
Hi,
I'm looking at your spreadsheet and my first question is you were on 1 unit. Then switched to 2.
Did someone advise you to do so?

I am not experienced enough to tell you what dose.
I would have stayed with the 1 unit. You need several days in a row at the same dosage.
I will go ask for eyes to come advise you.

I think you need more testing numbers in your spreadsheet before upping your dose so you have a baseline.

You are safe to go down, but no more going up until you have advise from someone with experience.
And anytime you increase the dose, you will need to be able to be around and monitor.
 
Jo: I am glad to see you are making progress in getting the BG readings. I know how hard the testing has been for you and I applaud you for not giving up. The more experienced members on the board will advise on dose, though they will also probably tell you that you will need to try to get some mid-cycle readings so you know how low the Lantus is taking Scratchie. That's the only way you will know what is an effective dose. But good job hanging in there on the testing. A lot of people might have given up. I hope it gets easier for you and Scratchie from here on out. We are pulling for you!!!!!

Melanie
 
If you haven't shot the dose yet, you can go ahead and skip tonight's shot. We do not normally advise shooting a newly diagnosed cat, with a bg 150 or below, when you do not yet have much data. If you shot, or are going to shoot, I would start your night tonight, with at least a +1 and +2, and depending upon those test results, go from there. You may be up for awhile. Please Edit the Subject Line of your first post, with your test results as you go along, so that we can see your Scratchie is doing. I would definitely set your alarm to get a +6 tonight.
You really need to start getting those night time tests. You're missing half the data as it is.
Sorry, if I'm blunt. I'm tired and it's past my bedtime ;-)
 
Dyana, Melanie and Rhiannon - thanks i know there isn't much data there yet - this boy of mine lives up to his name. He's gotten more blood out of me in the last few weeks than I have from him!

Melanie as always you are so encouraging when I need it. Thank you! I have a very heavy work schedule and I plan to do better on Saturday. In the meantime I am doing my best with time available.

The increase in dose to 2u was my fault. I panicked and reverted to the schedule my vet gave me on shots. Stupid thing to do!

We are leaving town on the 8th (he will be in good hands though) she is a tech for the ER Hospital and my vet, but the first vacation I've had in too long.

I'll do better and get more numbers. What is there took a long ttime to get! Do you guys remember starting this type of stuff? You can read post after post, watch the videos over and over but the reality of doing it is hard. I"m doing this because I love him and want to help him get better..

Jo
 
Well, good job in testing. And, I hope you enjoy your vacation.
What dose did you shoot tonight, if any?
 
Scratchie'smom said:
Dyana, Melanie and Rhiannon - thanks i know there isn't much data there yet - this boy of mine lives up to his name. He's gotten more blood out of me in the last few weeks than I have from him!

Jo


So what was your bg? :lol: :lol:


Have a good vacation!

And yes, that first week was a roller coaster of emotion, but it does start falling in place.
 
Jo: As I have mentioned before, I was in exactly your shoes which is why I try to encourage you whenever I see you post. I too wanted desperately to help my baby, but for the life of me, I just couldn't get the BG testing down. I tried and I tried and I tried. You say that Scratchie is living up to his name, and I say that Ninja certainly lived up to hers as well (a Ninja fighter with claws...LOL!). When I first started here, I saw cat moms -- much newer to the board than I was -- getting readings like it was nothing. I lived in despair (seriously) worrying day and night about this. For weeks, my spreadsheet was full of big zeros -- not from lack of trying but from lack of success -- or rather, lack of blood. But you know what? Like you, I just kept on trying different methods... and now I can get readings whenever I need them. This will happen for you too, and I sense you have already turned the corner on this. I think it so important to encourage others in this regard - because home testing is the cornerstone of feline diabetes management -- and if people get discouraged about this too soon and give up, then another FD kitty may be lost as well.

Melanie
 
Thanks Melanie. Your words always do me a world of good, especially when I am feeling like a failure and folks (for our own good) keep asking for more tests. Hopefully this weekend I can get numbers at different times all day Saturday and most of Sunday and include some night numbers. He was very difficult this morning and drew blood from me then took off. Tooooo traumatized this morning for some reason. Thanks again. I won't give up! I can't! :smile:
 
You are doing great!

Just like they say here - ECID..... every cat is different , so is every human.

It's a steep learning curve and you do it at your own pace. We don't all have the same cat and some cats are more
cooperative than others. There are a whole lot of personality factors to get all of this down successfully.
human bean vs cat ....
It takes time, it takes perseverence, it takes patience and it can even take failures ( which is when we beans learn
best)

Keep practicing. Keep asking questions. It will click for you.
The important thing is you are here and you are trying.....all for the love of your sugarbaby.

Don't be discouraged. You've already come so far down the path. And this path is indeed a rollercoaster.
There are so many out there who won't even venture on.
Pat yourself on the back !
:YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top