PMPS 142 +3.5 84 +4 75 +4.5 55 +4.75 65 +5 57 +5.5 62 +6 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Sunny Bear

Member Since 2021
We've recently switched from SLGS to TR and I know I need to get used to shooting low. Sunny's BG has come up to 142 from 132 on the last half hour and it's time for his dinner and he's famished. Should I keep stalling for an hour?
 
I fed him 1.5 oz LC food an hour ago, and .75 oz 15 mins ago and giving another .75oz now.

The last couple of times he went low (on previous occasions), he threw up bc I think I fed him too much. This approach is working better!

I'll continue to monitor and give small snacks as needed. Won't let him go lower. Thanks for walking me through this.
 
I fed him 1.5 oz LC food an hour ago, and .75 oz 15 mins ago and giving another .75oz now.

The last couple of times he went low (on previous occasions), he threw up bc I think I fed him too much. This approach is working better!

I'll continue to monitor and give small snacks as needed. Won't let him go lower. Thanks for walking me through this.
Yes. Small meals through the cycle also prevent sharp drops. I don't know if you fed when was at 118 (+3), but that would have been a good time to start the snacks to smoothen the curve :)

He seems to have a later nadir - around +7 - so PJ parties can be quite long!
 
We're at 62 now at +5.25
Not familiar with Prozinc dosing methods but TR would be reductions at 50? The Modified Prozinc Method in the Prozinc dosing sticky?
Looks like you've managed to keep him over 50 with only LC thus far in this cycle? :)
Yes 50 is the threshold for reductions on PZI. So I am confused about that. If you're able to keep them above the reduction threshold with just lc food, then they didn't earn a reduction?
 
Yes. Small meals through the cycle also prevent sharp drops. I don't know if you fed when was at 118 (+3), but that would have been a good time to start the snacks to smoothen the curve :)

He seems to have a later nadir - around +7 - so PJ parties can be quite long!
Thank you for that! Next time around I'll slow the drop with a +3 snack. I only fed him dinner until you told me to give him a snack. Duh! I don't know what I was thinking. He's at at 62 now at +5.5. We're in our PJs watching old movies. Luckily I work from home so hopefully i can sneak a nap tomorrow! What TZ are you in? We're in MT.
 
Yes 50 is the threshold for reductions on PZI. So I am confused about that. If you're able to keep them above the reduction threshold with just lc food, then they didn't earn a reduction?
The aim is to keep them on a dose at which they see good numbers as long as possible. That would mean preventing drops below 50 by feeding. Even the occasional MC and HC, if needed. However, if you have to prop them up with higher carbs for too long, it's time to let them earn that reduction.

That's why I asked if you had to intervene with higher carbs or whether feeding him his regular food has prevented a reduction - so far.

What TZ are you in? We're in MT.
I'm in India - it's 3 pm for me. @Bron and Sheba (GA) is in Australia. It's 7:30pm for her. We are usually around when it's night in the US/Canada so it works out well. There's somebody to help around the clock. :)

Wow! It's 3:30am for you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top