PMPS 138 - Going to be safe and skip the dose tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.

LaraB

Member Since 2015
After having a bit of potential scare last week when I gave Joshi insulin after a PMPS of 174, I'm going to play it safe this time. Joshi had a PMPS BG of 138 tonight. I just don't have the sufficient data yet or the experience to even guess what a safe dose would be, so I'm going to skip her evening dose. Don't want her BG to bounce around like it did last time.

It does seem like her PMPS BG has been slowly trending downward since her dose had been upped 3U - though most definitely not a steady slope. I'm starting to do her AMPS BG when I can, so there's not enough data to establish anything on her morning BG levels. Not sure what to think - could this be a good thing? The last week or two, she's been particularly energetic and acting even more her "old self." I'm certainly feeling encouraged.
 
After having a bit of potential scare last week when I gave Joshi insulin after a PMPS of 174, I'm going to play it safe this time. Joshi had a PMPS BG of 138 tonight. I just don't have the sufficient data yet or the experience to even guess what a safe dose would be, so I'm going to skip her evening dose. Don't want her BG to bounce around like it did last time.

It does seem like her PMPS BG has been slowly trending downward since her dose had been upped 3U - though most definitely not a steady slope. I'm starting to do her AMPS BG when I can, so there's not enough data to establish anything on her morning BG levels. Not sure what to think - could this be a good thing? The last week or two, she's been particularly energetic and acting even more her "old self." I'm certainly feeling encouraged.
I am so happy to hear Joshi is being more of her "normal" self ... I know that makes my day when I see the old normal behaviors trending back :)
It sounds like you are very connected to her and it is always good to trust your gut.... I don't know much about vetsulin nor do I give dosing advice but I do give high 5!! looking good !!!:bighug:
 
Good call! I use Vetsulin, too. I would not have given any insulin, or maybe just the tiniest token dose, with a BG of 138. Just don't be surprised if her BG is a little higher than you expect at AMPS. :)
 
Tested at what would have been PMPS+1, up to 330. However, I did feed her as I normally would before her normal insulin time - could just be the food. I'll test her in an hour, see where we are. I'm kind of curious how a 12 hour cycle goes without insulin.
 
I would not have given Vetsulin at 138.

The 12-hour data may throw light on whether Joshi gets any carryover from the Vetsulin.

Delighted to read she's feeling perkier in herself. :)



Mogs
.
 
Took her AMPS reading. I was expecting it to be sky-high, but she tested at 375. :) So, we'll just proceed as normal.

Last night, I could tell Joshi was confused. She came out around her normal shot time looking at me as if to say, "Did you forget something?" She's learned the whole routine quite well, I'd say. ;)
 
Tonight, we had a more typical PMPS reading of 312. Not sure what was different yesterday that her PMPS was lower than normal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top