PMPS 112 - give insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lolacat00

Member Since 2013
We restarted insulin yesterday because Lola's numbers starting climbing. It's difficult for me to know what to do when her numbers are low - mid 100's.

Should I try to give less than .5 units when it's this low?
 
Tonight can you stall 30 minutes without feeding and retest? We need to know she's rising and not still going down.

But Lantus likes consistency. You can't base the dose day to day on preshots alone.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
We fed her already, so that was a mistake I realize now.

I don't know what to do, or what the next game plan is. We are not home all day to check her levels or see she how she does if we shoot low. I really want to get her regulated, but don't know how.
 
Oh she is definitely regulated. In fact she is very close to OTJ. :-)

Tonight I would skip just because you really don't have enough data to support shooting that low. Then start tomorrow with possibly .25u.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Thank you for your help, that sounds like a good idea to me.

I wish "tight regulation" was a more realistic possibility but it's so difficult when we are both away from the house most of the day during the week and weekends are typically busy as well. We our trying to adjust our lifestyle so we can be available to get more data. Lola isn't easy to test and it's usually a two person job (one to hold Lola burrito style, one to test). We will work on getting better at it solo so we can have more opportunities to test.

Anyways, thanks again - really appreciate it.
 
That's why Relaxed Lantus exist. :-)

You're more than welcome to post there and we can help you out.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top