? PM Dosage Advice: 10/16 Tiny Sole AMPS: 301, +5: 285, +10: 116, PMPS: 154, +1: 183

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-15-tiny-sole-amps-194.204904/#post-2271592

DOSAGE QUESTION FOR PMPS:

This is day four of Tiny consistently getting 3.5 U Lantus.
Clearly, we are seeing movement in the blues.

At the +11, she was 116, she was fed dinner so we could meet the 12 hour / 7:30 PM insulin shot.
So, of course I'm concerned that that 3.5 U will bring her really low...I'm a bit scared to go there with her, I'll admit, but I know she's got to get there eventually.

After the 6:30 PM +10 of 116, I fed her some Fromms Salmon Pate at 7 PM.
Her PMPS at 7:30 PM is 154.

I need some courage and advice.

Do I:
Stall to see if she will continue to come up on her own a bit?
Shoot now and take my chances of her going really low?
Or, punt...since it's football season? (I'm not a sports fan, btw).
 
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-15-tiny-sole-amps-194.204904/#post-2271592

DOSAGE QUESTION FOR PMPS:

This is day four of Tiny consistently getting 3.5 U Lantus.
Clearly, we are seeing movement in the blues.

At the +11, she was 116, she was fed dinner so we could meet the 12 hour / 7:30 PM insulin shot.
So, of course I'm concerned that that 3.5 U will bring her really low...I'm a bit scared to go there with her, I'll admit, but I know she's got to get there eventually.

After the 6:30 PM +10 of 116, I fed her some Fromms Salmon Pate at 7 PM.
Her PMPS at 7:30 PM is 154.

I need some courage and advice.

Do I:
Stall to see if she will continue to come up on her own a bit?
Shoot now and take my chances of her going really low?
Or, punt...since it's football season? (I'm not a sports fan, btw).

Are you able to be home to test her tonight? I think you're in a good place to shoot your normal dose. Medium blues - she may or may not go down tonight...might be tomorrow...Remember you're shooting her lowest numbers - not the number tonight...(shoot low to stay low)...just my opinion. Do what you're comfortable with. :)
 
Thanks for responding, @Sue and Luci .
Yes, I'm home tonight and will test, so I'll go now and do the 3.5 U.
Then, I'll get a +1 and a +2, etc.

As long as she's eating and you're able to test - be brave - she looks like she's needing her dose right now...gotta bring it on down there Tiny :)
I know it's scary to shoot those lower numbers that you're not used to...but you will get used to it. Just never shoot at 50 or less. I'm sure there will be folks around tonight to encourage you - as for me - I'm an early riser so I'm about done for tonight. Best of luck to you with proceeding. You'll build your courage as you encounter those blues more frequently - and hopefully at some point some high greens! Which is what I'm hoping for as well :)
 
How's the no dry kibble going?

Dry kibble? What's that?!!! ;)

Short answer: I've been really good about giving them canned food, period.
However, after being at the ER until 10:30 last night w/ Cookie, and coming home to cat duties, etc., I admit, I put out a little Young Again Zero Mature kibble, which probably explains the AMPS of 301. I stayed up as long as I could to get the +4 of 251, but was exhausted and I did not get up to test - I slept right through. :nailbiting:

I had hoped to take this week as vacation so I could be home all day every day since Karen is not here, but I don't think that can happen until maybe tomorrow or Thursday, and then I have to take Cookie to a specialist in the afternoon on Thursday. So, I'm running home to give everyone a snack of FF or another low carb pate. I'm doing the best I can without Karen here to step in and test or feed.

I had also hoped to be available to test more and to feed small and frequent meals, but Cookie threw a wrench in Monday, so...I'm hoping to do better as the week progresses.
 
I hope she is okay?

Cookie is not really doing too well. Ugh. Have an appointment for her on Thurs with an internist to do an ultrasound and a special GI test that she has to fast for twelve hours.
She had a LOT of vomiting and retching yesterday AM and no appetite, so I waited to see if she would improve, and no go, so off we went.
They are suspecting either IBD or Bowel Lymphoma. Whatever it is, she is one sick kid.
On lots of medicine today and hoping she'll improve a bit, but she barely has an appetite.
 
Cookie is not really doing too well. Ugh. Have an appointment for her on Thurs with an internist to do an ultrasound and a special GI test that she has to fast for twelve hours.
She had a LOT of vomiting and retching yesterday AM and no appetite, so I waited to see if she would improve, and no go, so off we went.
They are suspecting either IBD or Bowel Lymphoma. Whatever it is, she is one sick kid.
On lots of medicine today and hoping she'll improve a bit, but she barely has an appetite.
Joanne, I am sooooo sorry that she is still so sick. I hope that the US on Thursday will give some answers and some help to get her comfortable. Sending lots of vines to Cookie and you and Karen and to Tiny too, because when one is sick and not doing well, it stresses out the whole dang house.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
it stresses out the whole dang house.

That is the understatement of the day! I'm not sure how Karen and I are managing, but we soldier on for the furbabies, that's for sure!
If my hair wasn't already grey, it sure would be!

Thans for the vines...I send them back to you, Bubba and the whole of FDMB!
 
The first few times I shot blues, then eventually greens, Neko bounced immediately afterwards. Made it pretty easy on me.

For normal preshot routine, it is best to test, feed, then shoot insulin, all within 15 minutes or so. Sounds like you are feeding well before testing. That can cause the preshot numbers to be artificially inflated by food, giving you a higher preshot that you might see without that food. It's more of an issue if you are seeing lower numbers, so not sure if she is safe to shoot without food influence.

Sending vines for Cookie. :bighug::bighug::bighug: I am a little too familiar with the IBD/lymphoma situation. :( See if you can get some Cerenia and/or ondansetron for Ccokie. If small cell lymphoma, it is treatable and kitties can go into remission,
 
I am a little too familiar with the IBD/lymphoma situation

Oh, wow; I was going to ask on the main forum. Ugh. Sorry to hear. Were you able to help your kitty...was it Neko?...into remission?
Just got Cerenia last night. I think she's got multiple things going on...maybe some acid reflux too, and a UTI, just diagnosed last night. Oy.
So, do you have any advice or questions you think I should ask at Cookie's appointment on Thursday?
I'm open to anything...poor kid...

Been doing the test, feed, shoot routine pretty consistently, but I appreciate the info and will tuck it in my head as a reminder.
I waited a bit this evening for dosage advice, but otherwise I typically test at 7, feed, they finish eating by 7:15 and I shoot at 7:30, AM and PM.
I'm learning.
 
Neko did not go into remission I don't think. She had heart and kidney issues at the same time, thanks to her acromegaly. It was hard to tell which condition was on first. But with meds, she did get better and bowel inflammation greatly reduced. We never could diagnose whether she had severe IBD or lymphoma, because the diagnosis requires either an endoscopy or surgical biopsy, and her heart could stand anesthesia.. Civvie Theo however, went into remission, later got taken by pancreatic cancer.

First step for Cookie is the ultrasound. There is a lot of good info on http://www.ibdkitties.net/
 
I'm so sorry to hear about both babies. It's so odd...either we never had these issues before or didn't know about them.
I suspect food is a contributing factor, along with predisposition (maybe?).

Yes, ultrasound will be on Thursday; step 1! I will check out the link - thank you!
XOXO

+2: 198 for Tiny.
I'm thinking that I probably won't have to get a +3, but those blues sure are pretty, so I still may get it.
See...I'm learning! Not sure what I'd do without any of you here.

I'll set an alarm and get her in the middle of the night, but it looks like maybe I can get some rest.

Thank you to my two angels for always looking out for us: @Bobbie And Bubba and @Wendy&Neko <3

XOXO, Joanne
 
Back
Top