PM=451(1)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Member Since 2009
Don't know what effect the Clindamycin is having on his BG's. Appetite is good. Limited but better mobility on left back side. Using liter but stools runny. Seems perplexed about his condition. Could be brain tumor (I saw a small white mass) or could be infection (possibly from eating chipmunks last fall). Very perplexing. BG's totally out of my control!! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356

You may want to pick up some probiotic to offset the blanket effects of the antibiotic. Forti Flora, Intelliflora, or 1-2 teaspoons of plain yogurt with active cultures, given a couple of hours after the antibiotic.

Also, 0.6/0.8 units may be insufficient with pre-shots in the 400s ... if he is eating OK, you might test out 1.0 units
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356

Good advice about the probiotics. Can he use the ones over the counter made for humans? Is a pill form OK? I have trouble giving liquids. Are the human tablets too strong for cats?

I was told that there's not much probiotic value in yogurt - that the pills do best for humans, but it might work OK for cats. I could mix it with his food, I guess.

I gave him his pills after eating this AM. It's now +4.5. I have a probiotic tablet I was taking - think it's one of the Floras. Can I give it to him with his next snack - in about 30min?

I feel so sorry for him. He seems so confused......so am I. nailbite_smile

Thanks
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356

What is in it?
If it has bifidum or lactobacillus in it, it may be OK.

The Forti Flora has animal digest which many cats love.
Yogurt is dairy which some cats enjoy.
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356

The one I got for myself if called "Florastor. the label says it has Saccharomyces boulardil lyo ( 250 mg), Lacoste (33 mg), per capsule.

What is the brand name of the one with the ingredients you suggested?
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356

Got it!! Just called the emergency vet and they are giving me enough forth flora for 5 days. It's the kind you sprinkle on his food - packets. I plant to give it mid- morning and mid-afternoon with his snacks, so it will be I him before he has to take the antibiotic.

Appreciate your help!!
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356

You want it 1-2 hours AFTER the antibiotic. The antibiotic kills off both bad and good bacteria. The probiotic replenishes good bacteria.
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356

Since he got an antibiotic at 7am (EDT) and it's now 2:30, would it be O k to give a packet now and then another two hours after his 7pm shoot & feed? Anxious to get it in him, but want it to ex given when it will do the most good.

BTW, how long should the probiotic be given after giving the full course of antibiotics?
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356

Yes, if its more than a couple hours after the antibiotic, go ahead. I would start with just a pinch, just in case it really triggers appetite - Fred could scarf 'n' barf, otherwise. Gradually increase to the full packet as long as he doesn't overeat.

The intent of the probiotic is to prevent or remediate any GI issues that result from killing off the good bacteria along with the bad. Typically, diarrhea can happen, as well as loss of appetite, and sometimes vomiting. Once you're done with the antibiotic, if Fred isn't having any GI problems, you may discontinue.

The Forti Flora is also handy to have on hand when a cat has lost its appetite. It contains animal digest which many cats find quite tasty.
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356

Fred's appetite through all this has been very good. He had lost some weight so I wasn't too concerned. But. I think the antibiotics have given him some diarrhea, or maybe his stools are just runny due to all the stress, tests, confusion over his inability to move correctly.

The vet said to give him 1/2 packet twice a day. But I can follow your suggestion to start out small and work up to a full packet. They only gave me enough for 5 days - using 1/2 at am & pm. I think the antibiotics run for 10' days. Can you only get this stuff for a vet?
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356;+9=419

Do you think I should shoot 1.0 if PMPS is near 400? Or could it just cause a bounce - more for him to deal with.
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356;+9=419

I would give him 1 unit if he is over 350 mg/dL.

Have you worked out a sliding scale? Mostly, I see you shooting the same dose regardless of pre-shot, which is why I ask.
It looks like 0.8 units can drop him about 125-150 mg/dL.

p.s. Could you add your meter to your signature (use control panel in the top left of the screen)
 
Re: 3/30 FRED 3/30 AM=401 (.6); +3=356;+9=419

Most recently - until this illness, a sliding scale was not needed or recommended by the others on this site who were working with me. Of course, we are in special conditions right now and will need to adjust until he's regulated again. Mobutu I've found hi to be more stable, especially with PZ, if we stick with a dose for a while.

I use the Relion Confirm micro meter and test strips. Is there a reason you suggested that this should be posted?
 
This seems to be getting worse. He doesn't act bad, except for the partial paralysis - but the numbers are horrendous for Fred. Had to go with 1 unit to try and get these numbers down. I'm afraid these high BGs will affect any healing the antibiotics may do. Will give Forti Flora in 3 hours and will check numbers in 2. Worried.
 
The reason for posting your meter

1) human glucometers read on a lower scale than pet specific meters (AlphaTrak or I-Pet meters).
2) sometimes, we hear about recalls or problems with using the glucometers on cats (ex. certain of the meters named with "Tru" read lower than actual and mislead folks that the cat is doing well when it isn't)

When a cat is ill with infection, it frequently raises the glucose considerably. Thus the suggestion to increase the insulin to get the glucose back down somewhat.

When starting out, using consistent dosing helps you determine how a given dose works. Over time, you can develop a sliding scale where higher numbers get a higher dose. We'll see how he is the next time you test and if the increase is helping.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top