PLS HELP! Bg at +3 = 48 What to do? UPDATE

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatran (GA)

Member Since 2014
Needing advise pls. Chatran drop his bg to 2.7 (48.6) at +3. Could anyone please tell me what this means and what should I do?

Thank you!

Rosie

Update.
He's back from the vet.
+5 = 90
+7 = 232
+9 = 414
PMPS = 468
Gave 2 u as per vets advise

Vet advise to reduce to 2 u.
 
Re: PLS HELP! Bg at +3 = 2.7. What to do?

That is a big early drop and means you will have to keep a close eye on his numbers. I'd give him a tablespoon of the gravy off a higher carb food and retest in 20 minutes. You don't him dropping below 40.
 
Re: PLS HELP! Bg at +3 = 2.7. What to do?

Hi. It's scary when they get low but you can handle it with food. Do you have high carb food or karo syrup? You will want to give some snd test every 20-30 minutes if your cat drops under 40 which might likely happen since you are early in the cycle. If you go to the tight regulation forum you will find a sticky on handling low numbers. I would recommend that you xerox it to have in hand in case you ever post and don't get any replies. You need to feed, test, repeat until the BG is over 60 and then see what happens without food.
 
Re: PLS HELP! Bg at +3 = 2.7. What to do?

Thank you ladies! I panicked! I took him to the vet. I called a few moments ago and he is now on 5 mmol. Will print the sticky so I am ready next time.
 
Re: PLS HELP! Bg at +3 = 2.7. What to do?

It is definitely scary when they drop so low. I reread the pages on what to do often and have it handy. You need to have plenty of test strips, lancets or needles, and some middle and high carb foods as well as karo or gravy and be prepared to keep testing for hours. I'm sorry you didn't get help sooner. Next time add the 911 to get attention. You also can post to the tight regulation forum as more eyes on the posts there than on the main forum. I'm glad you got your cat to the vet for safety.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top