Please take a look at Skooma's Spreadsheet.

Here is the link to your previous post here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/non-emergency-need-help-with-long-term-dosing.232514/ We include those links so people can see the history.

Do you have data for today or yesterday other than PMPS? It's hard with the dose jumping all around to figure out what to suggest. We determine how to change the Lantus dose based on how low it takes the cat. Those lows, or nadirs, are typically somewhere in the middle of the cycle. That includes getting night time data. Many cats go lower at night, so getting a before bed test can really help us figure out what is happening at night.

Since you are skipping the shot so often, the depot is not being built so we can't tell what any dose is doing. Maybe start with 0.5 units? And see if you can shoot that consistently. Do you have syringes with half unit markings?
 
Maybe start with 0.5 units? And see if you can shoot that consistently. Do you have syringes with half unit markings?

Yes, I do. I gave him .5 units tonight when he was preshot 130. And somehow he let me get another test in a couple hours after that. So we have a bit more data to work with.

Its crazy to me that we were talking about increasing his dose and then it suddenly went to drastically decreasing the dose. Is sudden shift normal at all?
 
How long ago was Skooma been on insulin? Since you weren't testing as much or doing curves, it's hard to say what was happening. A cat's insulin needs can change over time - which is why we are such advocates of home testing.
 
He has been on insulin for a year. I know in the beginning I seemed to do weekly curves (although I cant find all of the numbers). Then he stayed stable for months and we just brought him in for a fructosamine test monthly. He was so scared with the curves we felt that may effect their validity even at home.
Then covid happened, vets were emergency only for months, and he missed his monthly fructosamine tests. I just let it get away from me with how much overtime I had to work. So Im kicking myself for not trying to give him a curve earlier in the game. I just know is was suddenly really high, then the next day it was really low.
 
Back
Top