Please look at my spreadsheet.what's going on PMPS 319

Status
Not open for further replies.

jenwales

Member Since 2012
I've only been testing a couple of days. I had a feeling that something was going on with George. He had a reading of 20 followed by a reading of "lo" at +5 on Sunday. I skipped yesterday morning's shot, reduced the dose yesterday evening, and am going to skip this morning because he's at 111 and no one is home during the day. Dare I think that his pancreas may have a little life left in it?

George will be 17 next month and I've only had him since September so I do not know his history. He belonged to my sister in law and was an indoor/outdoor cat most of his life.
 
Re: Please look at my spreadsheet...what's going on

You did right to skip the shot this morning.

His spreadsheet is looking promising. How long has he been on insulin? Some cats do go into remission.
It will be interesting to see what his +24 test is.
 
Re: Please look at my spreadsheet...what's going on

He started on insulin on 10/20/12 at 2u, 2x per day per the vet's instruction. She had been watching him for a month to see if the diet change would do the trick and it didn't (he was holding steady around 400). I dropped it after a day to 1 unit, 2x per day for a few weeks then bumped up to 1.5 because he was still drinking/urinating a ton.
 
Re: Please look at my spreadsheet...what's going on

Are you able to get any tests during the cycle? The lowest point, as you found out, is toward the middle of the cycle. Getting spot checks will help you to know where numbers are going. If you're not home weekdays, if you can get a test at around +2, it may also let you know if numbers are dropping.

You noted that George isn't accustomed to testing yet. I'd suggest giving him a treat every time you test so he'll associate testing and treats.

It's entirely possible that George's pancreas is working. It may make sense to reduce his dose so you an give a shot twice a day. If you could post when you get home -- and hopefully there will be some time before George's shot it due -- we can get some idea of what his numbers look like around PMPS time.
 
Re: Please look at my spreadsheet...what's going on

Hi Jennifer,
I'm glad you made it over to the Lantus forum. The people here are all familiar with the insulin George is on, they know it inside and out. And this forum is the busiest one on the board. Someone is usually here 24/7.
George's numbers look terrific

Carl
 
Re: Please look at my spreadsheet...what's going on

Testing is going better. This morning I got it on the first try! I think it's easier when I'm not exhausted and stressed.

I'm away from home from 6:30 AM until 6:00 PM during the week, so I can't get any mid-cycle tests during the day. I can get a +2 or +3 in the evening and then a +5 or +6 if I set the alarm. I'll do that tonight and see where we are.
 
Re: Please look at my spreadsheet...what's going on

Hi Jennifer. I just wanted to welcome you to Lantus Land. It took me a few days of testing before I could get a drop of blood on the first try. I was not using the lancet tool but my wife was. PurrFace didn't seem to mind the test as much when the lancet tool was used so that's what we use now. I believe the cat's ears kind of get use to being stuck and produce the blood droplet more quickly as time goes on. Sienne gave us the advice of giving a treat at testing and it's worked very well. He even purrs occasionally when getting tested. Getting the ear warm will also help.

This is the best place to be if you have a diabetic cat. Everyone here is so helpful & encouraging and there a members that are VERY familiar with FD and the various insulins used to treat it.

You are to be commended for adopting a 17 year old cat with diabetes. If we had more caring people like you and the folks here in LL the world would be a much better place.

Again welcome and have a great day.
 
Re: Please look at my spreadsheet...what's going on

That is a very promising spreadsheet! Lantus carries over, so the higher dose will settle out in roughly 3-7 days, depending on the cat.

After 3 days of the same dose twice daily, a mid-cycle test will help you determine adjustment.
Edited to add: if you're seeing him go dangerously low again, backing off is OK. Safer than a hypo, to be sure.

If, after 3 days, you continue having to skip a shot because he is too low to give it, I'd back back off to 0.5 units.
Edited to add: and some folks wind up micro-dosing by either estimating 0.25 units, or by squeezing out drops from a syringe until they can be consistent and get the same number of drops and dose based on drops.
 
Re: Please look at my spreadsheet...what's going on

I don't necessarily agree with BJ. With some cats, we've suggested lowering the dose even before the insulin depot has been established. Let's see where George's numbers are at this evening. If you can get an "in the door" test as soon as you get home, hopefully, someone will be around who can offer some input re. whether to give a shot. You may want to look over this post on dealing with low pre-shot numbers so you know what your options are.
 
The PMPS was 319, which oddly makes me feel a little better because I know what to do when it's high. I shot the .75 unit dose and will get a +2 tonight before bed, George willing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top