Please let me know about Dragon's numbers please

Status
Not open for further replies.

popcorn

Member Since 2012
HI I don't know how to use the template yet and I was wondering if I can get some information on what I should do with Dragon's numbers this way.
I still haven't started given him insulin yet. Also I now check his BG levels about an hour or so after his feeding, or I give him food right after and then check again a few hours later. I was wondering am I doing this right? For I still don't quite understand what to do.

I would really appreciated the help and input I can get.

Thank you very much

Here are his numbers since I started taking his BG numbers

JULY 9,2012
645AM - 12.3/221
625PM - 13.2/237

JULY 10,2012
618AM - 8.0/144
721AM - 10.9/196
730PM - 12.3/221

JULY 11, 2012
554AM - 9.8/176
620PM - 7.6/136
817PM - 4.9/88
915PM - 11.2/201

JULY 13 2012
701AM - 12.2/219
838AM - 11.8/212
320PM - 14.6/262

JULY 14,2012
740AM - 11.1/200
546PM - 7.4/133

JULY 15,2012
728AM - 10.4/187
626PM - 9.3/167

JULY 16,2012
718AM - 11.7210
615PM - 9/162

JULY 17,2012
719AM - 10.4/187
420PM - 14.1/253
618PM - 11.6/208

JULY18,2012
555AM -6.2/111
716AM - 9.3/167
210PM -11.1/200
905PM - 11.2/201

JULY 19,2012
620AM - 8.5/153
808AM - 10.2/183
1236PM - 10.9/196
903PM - 9.7/174

JULY 20,2012
540AM - 7.9/142
712AM - 11.1/200
357PM - 9.9/178

To be honest I am not to sure if I did this right, for I know what is a good level for a human, but for a cat and I'm not to sure what numbers would be good in mmol/L. Please let me know if I am doing this right as well

Thank you for taking time and helping me out!!

Paula and Dragon :?
 
Hi Paula!
I noticed you have not received a response here, but did get one on the main board. Here is Sienne's response, in case you did not see it:
Sienne and Gabby said:
Hi, Paula.

To translate your numbers into the format we use here:
JULY 19,2012
620AM - 8.5 (FEED RIGHT AFTER) = 153
808AM - 10.2 = 194
1236PM - 10.9 = 196
903PM - 9.7 (FEED RIGHT AFTER) = 185

JULY 20,2012
540AM - 7.9 (FEED RIGHT AFTER) = 152
712AM - 11.1 (FEED RIGHT AFTER) = 200

Dragon's numbers are, for the most part, outside of the normal BG range. Normal is 50 to 120 mg/dL (or 2.8 to 6.7 mmol/L). A better way to try to determine if your cat's pancreas is working is to test right before you feed and then 2 - 3 hours after your cat eats. A A functioning pancreas will respond to food by releasing its own insulin and numbers will come down several hours after a meal.

How are things going the last few days? Are any other questions popping into your mind that we can help you with?

Are you having difficulties with the instructions for setting up a ss? Could one of us help you get it set up? Let us know! :mrgreen:
(in case you have not seen the instructions for setting up a spreadsheet:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
 
Hi I wondering, I just tested Dragon this morning at 737am and I was wondering should I give him insulin? I don't want to use the tight regulation, I want to use the relaxed regulation. His number this morning was 10.2/183. This is very urgent that I know if I should give or not give him insulin today. :?:
Please let me know soon, thank you very much

Paula
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top