Please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

ErinElizabeth

Member Since 2013
Saturday
PMPS=340
+2 = 267

Sunday
AMPS = 171 ( no shot, 2 oz food)
+ 2 = 227 (1 unit given)
+6 afterAMPS = 275
PMPS = 280(1.5 units given)
+2 = 224
+4 = 204

Monday
AMPS = 385

Now what?? Stick with 1.5 units? confused_cat
 
Hi Erin,

Yes, you completed the spreadsheet correctly, now you just need to attach it to your signature. Do you know how to do that? Instructions are located in the tech forum.

Regarding dosing, I haven't worked with humulin N - but given the BG level, I do suggest you give insulin.

Has anyone on this board mentioned or suggested that you change insulins to one of three that actually work well in cats? Lantus, Levimer or Prozinc?

These insulins are longer lasting and will have a longer duration than humulin n. Also these insulins will provide a smoother impact with longer nadir (lowest point in cycle) time.
 
Ok thank you...
I realize that everyone has been telling me to switch insulins. I've asked my vet twice about it, and he doesn't seem to have a clue what I'm talking about. So I've done the rest of what people are advising and started home testing and tracking numbers, and now I just need to figure out if this means I need to switch vets or how I get a message to my vet that I do not want to come in for another appt. but that I just want him to write me a prescription for another type of insulin.
 
Is there more than one vet in the place you use? You may try calling and speaking with the vet you are using or a different one in the office and telling them that this insulin isn't working for the cat and you are struggling too much. And you have done a lot of research and would like to change insulins to Lantus or Levimer. Would the vet please write the prescription for insulin and corresponding syringes.

If the vet is still unwilling to do this - ask him why and keep asking until he tells you the truth - it may be because he isn't familiar with how to use the insulin and therefore, doesn't want to prescribe it. You can tell him that you are connected with us and if he would be willing to learn with you, you have information/documents that you can share. He may be open to that.

If not, then it may be time to call around to find a vet that is willing to work with you and prescribe a better insulin. You will probably have to bring the cat in as most vets won't write prescriptions unless they have seen the cat.

So, I'd try convincing your current vet/vet office first and then look for another vet.
 
Your vet may not be familiar with Lantus or Levemir because they are human insulins.

My vet was not happy giving Maggie Humulin N (Maggie had been on Humulin U but it was discontinued), but knew nothing about the newer human insulins. I printed out information from here and from the pet diabetes wiki (http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page) and took them to her. She was willing to read the information, then she called colleagues and her alma mater to get more information and recommendations. So keep trying!

The only thing to watch out for if your vet does give you a RX for a newer insulin is that Lantus and Levemir work differently then Humulin N and a different dosing protocol is needed.
 
Print this out, read it, then share it with your vet, along with a written statement that you want to use Lantus. Levemir, or Prozinc. http://www.felinediabetes.com/AAHADiabetesGuidelines.pdf

Some folks "hear" better with their eyes once they see what you mean.

Also, Merck Veterinary Manual Online Diabetes (bolding mine)
"It is usually preferable to have blood glucose testing performed at home to avoid changes in the pet's routine and the stress of in-hospital testing. Studies in both dogs and cats have shown that at-home monitoring improves glycemic control and increases the likelihood of obtaining remission in diabetic cats. In cats, high-protein diets along with insulin therapy are initiated, with reevaluation in 5–7 days. In newly diagnosed cats, insulin glargine is the insulin of choice. Glargine is a long-acting basal insulin. Used in conjunction with high-protein, low-carbohydrate diets, it is associated with remission of diabetes and discontinuation of insulin therapy in 80%–90% of cases within the first 3–4 mo of treatment. NPH, lente, or PZI insulins may also be used in cats, with starting dosages ranging from 1 to 3 units, bid. However, these insulins are not associated with high rates of diabetic remission."
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top