You had asked for a link to making a spreadsheet; you can try this one:
Create your Spreadsheet
I am glad you have your numbers from pre-shots; now you need to see about testing in mid-cycle because your dosing for Lantus is based on what's happening in the middle of the 12hours....
if you test after about 6hours (at +6) and you get a number that's in the 200s or so, you know that the Lantus is working a bit and the dose may be not too bad.
If you test around +6 and get a number that has not dropped all that much, you may need a bit higher dose.
Now, after 3 days, you may start to see some improvement in how the cat is acting, even if the numbers don't look that great yet. We don't know how long our cats have been diabetic, so it sometimes takes a bit of time to convince the cat's body that those lower numbers are the good ones!
For Lantus, when first started out, it's advised to hold the dose for 5 to 7 days.... build up the shed and let the cat settle in, and then think about changing the dose.
I know people give links, but it's more convenient to see some of the stuff right here, in addition to be given the links.
here is the gist of the protocol that many people giving Lantus are following:
"General" Guidelines:
--- Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).
--- Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
--- Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose...
--- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
--- After 3 consecutive days (6 cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose...
--- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
--- If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
--- Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
Random Notes...
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.
A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.
Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.
Now, see if you can get some mid cycle tests... it does not have to be every cycle, but when you can, and then maybe around Tuesday or Wednesday, you will have an idea how this dose is working.
If you want to know sooner how it's going, you can see if you can get a couple tests mid-cycle today.... test at +3, +6, +9, if possible, and if you are still getting pretty flat and high numbers, you don't have to wait the full 5days, especially since you were already giving some insulin before and you feel you are seeing some improvements.
If the mid-cycle test numbers are 300 or higher, then you can increase the dose from 1u to 1.5u.
If the mid-cycle test numbers are sometimes between 200 and 300, then make your increase only up to 1.25u.
Be sure you have syringes with the 1/2 unit markings because there will be many times that you need to give doses that are between full and half units.
Keep in mind that you WILL see changes in the cat before you see them in the numbers.
Also, you want to be testing urine when you get a chance for ketones with KETOSTIX from the pharmacy. Some cats are prone to ketones, while others can have high numbers for long stretches and never get ketones. If you test and get anything other than negative, post the result you get so people can help you with what to do.
I was quite fortunate that both my cats never registered any ketones, despite their high BG numbers, but other cats who are prone to ketones will register some even if they have lower BG numbers.... it's not just with higher BG, so it's something to know about your cat.