Christie & Maverick
Very Active Member
Hi Elise, absolutely, I can stick around.Will you be around Christy? I’m having work down at my condo. @Christie & Maverick
Hi Elise, absolutely, I can stick around.Will you be around Christy? I’m having work down at my condo. @Christie & Maverick
Hi Elise, absolutely, I can stick around.
Very true, I don’t know where we are currently also as far as time.I know. That’s why I pointed out she’d already posted +2 but without knowing her time zone it’s difficult to know at what “+” she is at the moment. I’m sure she appreciates your advice
LisaI guess I was just nervous to use an actual needle that I could see. It felt scary and foreign.
I gave 1 unit of insulin this morning (as suggested earlier), via the pen and realized that it is also a needle and not much different than a syringe… I was under the impression it was more like the glucometer pen or an Epipen.
Anyhow, I gave him the 1 unit, without issue I think…
Grabbed the scruff of his neck and put it in… pointed the need sort of towards his body. Is that correct?
After administering, I looked at the pen I noticed that it was at zero. I thought that I forgot to turn the dial to 1 so I gave it to him again. That’s
That’s when I realize that the pen clicks back to Zero after the insulin has been administered. So after all this ordeal, I ended up giving him two units of insulin.
Is this really bad? I feel terrible. This is all so overwhelming and I’m messing it up!
here are his glucose levels from yesterday to now.
His first insulin dose was 2 units this morning at 7:30am
Aug 4th 7:30 pm 18.9
Aug 5th 7:30 am 14.9 - 2 units given (by accident)
Aug 5th 9:15 am 7.6
should I test his glucose level again at 11am?
Is he going to be ok?
You’re doing just fine, 5.2 is still a safe number.I have honey out. I fed him some regular cat food now. he seems normal so far. Thank you all so so much. I’m freaking out a little, but I’m trying to be as prepared as I can.
This group is so amazing. Thank you so so much and my apologies for using the wrong terminology and time references etc etc. I’m sure I will get the hang of it eventually but it’s quite overwhelming at first!!
thank gosh you are all here
btw - Details have been sent for the spreadsheet and signature.. and thank you!!
Yes, if you shot at 7:30 am then 9:15am is 1.75 but 11:30 would be +4 (4 hours after shot). It’s always helpful to keep track of the general % carb food given as snacks and when on your SS in the remarks, since you can use that information going forward on what worked or didn’t.is 1.75 1hr45 after the injection. ?
Higher calorie food was given at 11:30am PST, 2hr 15 after injection. (+2.25?)
I edited my last post to correct my error. Thank you!Yes, if you shot at 7:30 am then 9:15am is 1.75 but 11:30 would be +4 (4 hours after shot). It’s always helpful to keep track of the general % carb food given as snacks and when on your SS in the remarks, since you can use that information going forward on what worked or didn’t.
Looks fine and I’ve updated the SS with the BGs and remarks for today so far. You can update as you go now. I’ve sent you the info via PM.Quick overview so it’s easier to have all the info together
Oscar - 17 year old male cat
Basalgar quick pen
aug 4, no injection, 18.9
Aug 5, 14.9 prior to injection - first injection ever, 2 units by accident,
+ 2.25, 7.6
+ 4, 5.2 — higher calorie food given (blue buffalo tastefuls pate salmon entree)
I hope I did that correctly
Thank you! Taking a deep breath now!!Looks fine and I’ve updated the SS with the BGs and remarks for today so far. You can update as you go now. I’ve sent you the info via PM.
Don’t forget to breathe. Christie has your back and she’s GREAT! (Thanks, Christie).
You’re welcome.Thank you! Taking a deep breath now!!![]()
Since you didn’t use high carb food for intervention, I think you can give him a pokie break, he will likely bounce from hitting greens so don’t be surprised if his preshot is back up there. So no more dry food in the mix at all?+5, 6.3
I updated the spreadsheet
This is a good sign it’s going up?
when should I test again?
Oh darn, I didn’t realize you needed to burrito him. Well give him a few belly rubs from me, he’s handled things like a champ, as have you!Thank you for checking my food carb content.
Oscar is doing well. Seems his normal self, probably a little irritated that he keeps getting rolled up like a burrito and poked in the ear, but other than that he is totally fine so far!
Awe thank you! It was a team effort with my husband. We are both completely new to this whole scene, as is poor Oscar. He’s a totally chill cat, and the first few we did without the towel, but he started batting at us wondering what the heck is going on, so we had to roll him up in order to get the blood sample easier. Poor little guys ears look all poked up.Oh darn, I didn’t realize you needed to burrito him. Well give him a few belly rubs from me, he’s handled things like a champ, as have you!
You are doing so well! Thankfully, you did not follow the vet’s advice and shoot 3 units or you may have had a hypoglycemic cat. I assure you that the moderators and the experienced members on this Board really have many years of experience with vast numbers of cats and they know what they’re talking about.PMPS 11.7
Should I do 1 unit?