Please help! Newly diabetic kitty

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know. That’s why I pointed out she’d already posted +2 but without knowing her time zone it’s difficult to know at what “+” she is at the moment. I’m sure she appreciates your advice
Very true, I don’t know where we are currently also as far as time.

@Lisa Lisa Lisa can you please check in with a test please, it’s been some time since your last post.
 
I guess I was just nervous to use an actual needle that I could see. It felt scary and foreign.

I gave 1 unit of insulin this morning (as suggested earlier), via the pen and realized that it is also a needle and not much different than a syringe… I was under the impression it was more like the glucometer pen or an Epipen.

Anyhow, I gave him the 1 unit, without issue I think…
Grabbed the scruff of his neck and put it in… pointed the need sort of towards his body. Is that correct?

After administering, I looked at the pen I noticed that it was at zero. I thought that I forgot to turn the dial to 1 so I gave it to him again. That’s

That’s when I realize that the pen clicks back to Zero after the insulin has been administered. So after all this ordeal, I ended up giving him two units of insulin.

Is this really bad? I feel terrible. This is all so overwhelming and I’m messing it up!

here are his glucose levels from yesterday to now.
His first insulin dose was 2 units this morning at 7:30am

Aug 4th 7:30 pm 18.9
Aug 5th 7:30 am 14.9 - 2 units given (by accident)
Aug 5th 9:15 am 7.6

should I test his glucose level again at 11am?
Is he going to be ok?
Lisa

I can set up a spreadsheet for Oscar quickly which will help Christie and Elise (tiffmaxee), who are 2 of our most experienced members, help you.

Please look in the upper right corner of the page and when you see a number by “Inbox” click on it and you’ll see a private message from me. I’ll need some info to do the SS
Thank you.
 
I have honey out. I fed him some regular cat food now. he seems normal so far. Thank you all so so much. I’m freaking out a little, but I’m trying to be as prepared as I can.
 
This group is so amazing. Thank you so so much and my apologies for using the wrong terminology and time references etc etc. I’m sure I will get the hang of it eventually but it’s quite overwhelming at first!!

thank gosh you are all here ❤️

btw - Details have been sent for the spreadsheet and signature.. and thank you!!

My Maverick didn’t show me much action when he first started Lantus, so I had some time to get prepared for his first lagoon swim :D
 
is 1.75 1hr45 after the injection. ?

Higher calorie food was given at 11:30am PST, 2hr 15 after injection. (+2.25?)
Yes, if you shot at 7:30 am then 9:15am is 1.75 but 11:30 would be +4 (4 hours after shot). It’s always helpful to keep track of the general % carb food given as snacks and when on your SS in the remarks, since you can use that information going forward on what worked or didn’t.
 
Yes, if you shot at 7:30 am then 9:15am is 1.75 but 11:30 would be +4 (4 hours after shot). It’s always helpful to keep track of the general % carb food given as snacks and when on your SS in the remarks, since you can use that information going forward on what worked or didn’t.
I edited my last post to correct my error. Thank you!
 
Quick overview so it’s easier to have all the info together

Oscar - 17 year old male cat
Basalgar quick pen

aug 4, no injection, 18.9
Aug 5, 14.9 prior to injection - first injection ever, 2 units by accident,
+ 2.25, 7.6
+ 4, 5.2 — higher calorie food given (blue buffalo tastefuls pate salmon entree)

I hope I did that correctly
 
Quick overview so it’s easier to have all the info together

Oscar - 17 year old male cat
Basalgar quick pen

aug 4, no injection, 18.9
Aug 5, 14.9 prior to injection - first injection ever, 2 units by accident,
+ 2.25, 7.6
+ 4, 5.2 — higher calorie food given (blue buffalo tastefuls pate salmon entree)

I hope I did that correctly
Looks fine and I’ve updated the SS with the BGs and remarks for today so far. You can update as you go now. I’ve sent you the info via PM.

Don’t forget to breathe. Christie has your back and she’s GREAT! (Thanks, Christie :kiss:).
 
Good stuff, looks like he’s on the rise.

I checked for blue Tastefuls on the food chart, I wonder if the manufacturer rebranded the healthy gourmets to Tastefuls? In any case, I’d say if it is about the same formula, I’d probably consider the Salmon pate entree as 8% which is higher low carb (still under 10%). The reason I mention it is it looks like you managed Oscar’s numbers great with some higher LC. How’s he feeling? Probably wondering what all the fuss is about?!
 
Thank you for checking my food carb content. ❤️
Oscar is doing well. Seems his normal self, probably a little irritated that he keeps getting rolled up like a burrito and poked in the ear, but other than that he is totally fine so far!
 
+5, 6.3

I updated the spreadsheet

This is a good sign it’s going up?
when should I test again?
Since you didn’t use high carb food for intervention, I think you can give him a pokie break, he will likely bounce from hitting greens so don’t be surprised if his preshot is back up there. So no more dry food in the mix at all?
 
Thank you for checking my food carb content. ❤️
Oscar is doing well. Seems his normal self, probably a little irritated that he keeps getting rolled up like a burrito and poked in the ear, but other than that he is totally fine so far!
Oh darn, I didn’t realize you needed to burrito him. Well give him a few belly rubs from me, he’s handled things like a champ, as have you!
 
Ok, and no. He is completely off the dry food. He is on Friskies Pate food exclusively (no indoor formulas)

So, the next glucose test should be before his next scheduled dose of insulin or test him again sooner than that?

And when it is time for his scheduled dose, should I give him 1 unit as I meant to do originally? Or wait for the glucose reading and see where he’s at?
 
Oh darn, I didn’t realize you needed to burrito him. Well give him a few belly rubs from me, he’s handled things like a champ, as have you!
Awe thank you! It was a team effort with my husband. We are both completely new to this whole scene, as is poor Oscar. He’s a totally chill cat, and the first few we did without the towel, but he started batting at us wondering what the heck is going on, so we had to roll him up in order to get the blood sample easier. Poor little guys ears look all poked up.
 
I wouldn’t mind seeing one more test before preshot, say about +8 since you are so new to getting data, and getting info on how carb sensitive Oscar is, and considering you gave 2u earlier. What is Oscar’s weight? Does the vet consider him to be at ideal weight?
 
Oscar is 12.5 lbs.
the vet didn’t comment on his weight at all, so I am guessing he’s a standard weight? He doesn’t seem over weight or skinny for his size.

sounds good on testing again at +8
I will do that and post the results as well as add them to my SS
 
Gotcha. With the dosing methods that we follow here on the forum for Lantus and Biosimilars, as well as Levemir, Dosing Methods, and since you’ve noted you’d like to follow SLGS, technically the starting dose would be 0.5u when having switched to wet food, which I think was mentioned by Wendy further above. I wouldn’t do 2u :), but since you are dosing with the pen at the moment, 1u and some testing if you can each cycle to see how the insulin is working may be fine.

Here are a few of some basic concepts which might help:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
With Lantus and Biosimilars, often we find that +2 can be a good indication of how the cycle will go. If the +2 is higher than preshot, it usually indicates that not much downward movement will occur in the blood glucose levels. If the +2 is significantly lower, then that could signal more testing is required as the numbers may drop a little more quickly (like today). By taking additional tests, that will allow you to monitor and feed to help slow down the drop.
 
Hi Lisa - great job today! I was on a ferry/in the line up for a good part of today but glad to see Christie was able to step in and help you.

I'm also really happy that you didn't start with 3 units as the vet suggested!!! The switch from some dry food to all wet food can make a big difference in the amount of insulin needed. Last thing you need from a first day on insulin is to be fighting low numbers when you are just starting to learn how to home test.
 
Hi Wendy,
Everyone on here has been absolutely phenomenal. I am so impressed and in awe of what a wonderful community you have. It’s impressive!

As I’m sure you read, I meant to start with 1 unit but had a little mess up and administered 2 units by accident. Everyone was so helpful and quick to give me advice, so we pulled through and I learned a TON!

It has most certainly been an overwhelming day at times, but I think I’m slowly getting the hang of it and starting to understand the whole process a bit better.

Oscar has been a trooper and is doing great. Hopefully this insulin will help make him feel better. ❤️
 
Not a bad PMPS. Yes, go with 1u and get a +2.

Forgot to mention, since this thread is getting a wee bit long, can you start a new one tomorrow? You can just link this one into the new post tomorrow for history. we like to keep them at around 50 posts otherwise it’s hard to keep up ;)
 
PMPS 11.7
Should I do 1 unit?
You are doing so well! Thankfully, you did not follow the vet’s advice and shoot 3 units or you may have had a hypoglycemic cat. I assure you that the moderators and the experienced members on this Board really have many years of experience with vast numbers of cats and they know what they’re talking about.
 
Last edited:
AMPS 10.3

Should I give 1 unit?

also, what category should I restart this chat in?

thank you!!
And thank you Suzanne and Darcy for your kind and encouraging words ❤️

Update: I ended up giving him 1 unit and will update BC at +2
(Is BC the correct shortened form for blood glucose?)

update: +2, 3.5
Update: +4, 2.9

thanks all!
 
Last edited:
Sorry no one saw your message earlier, please check him now if you haven't already. With SLGS a reduction down to 0.75U has been earned since Oscar dropped below 5 (90) and since he is getting close to 50, you want to be checking more often, especially if he drops under 2.8 (50), and intervening with higher carb food to get him solidly above 2.8 (50). I am at work at the moment, so please post your next test ASAP, since I can't open the SS from work.
 
Excellent, he’s still nice and flat above 50, although he may have dipped a little under between +4 and now. Can you start one now here on main for the time being? We can then link this one into that. Test again in 1 hour.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top