Please help me :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Hello,

I am about to go crazy with my cat's numbers :( she had all her blood test done. She is not pancratitis she doesn't have any other health problems but her numbers are constantly high.
Please help me, should I increase the dose or is the insulin too much? Should I change the insulin? Has anybody else experienced something like this? please help me, she was DKA on May, I am really afraid that she is going become DKA again.

We are using lantus
 
may i ask why the sudden and rapid dose increases starting about mid september? numbers were good up to that point and then they started rising but it looks to me like you also started racing up the dosing ladder at that point. i would have possibly raised the dose a little since the numbers went up, but i would have held the dose longer than just a couple days and given a particular dose a fair chance at working. just looks to me like the numbers got worse as the dose increased
 
Yes I am also thinking abot the same thing, but I don't have the courage to decrease the dose. What should I do? should ı do a sudden decrease?
 
I'm no expert but I am picking up on the same thing as Cindy... lots of dose hopping going on. Lantus likes consistency... when you hop around because of PS numbers so frequently numbers can get wonky.
 
yes, i think a decrease is in order, but given the dka history i don't think i'd make a big sudden dose decrease and in all honesty, i'd defer to those with dka/ketone history on how to handle it as i've never had to deal with ketones/dka myself.
 
I'm seeing a lot of ABs over time, chronic cystisis, constipation, more ABs, cranberry powder, cosequin started and then stopped, lysine and even more ABs.

Other than the BGs, what's going on? Why the cosequin? Does she exhibit any type of pain? The dental was done, are her teeth good now, I see gingivitis just noted.

What is she eating? Canned only I'm assuming, but any dry treats, anything strange?

Are you shooting scruff and sides or just scruff now? I saw a notation about shooting scruff in the evenings.

I have to agree, the dose might be too high, but are the other issues cleared up?
 
tuckers mom said:
I'm seeing a lot of ABs over time, chronic cystisis, constipation, more ABs, cranberry powder, cosequin started and then stopped, lysine and even more ABs.

Other than the BGs, what's going on? Why the cosequin? Does she exhibit any type of pain? The dental was done, are her teeth good now, I see gingivitis just noted.

What is she eating? Canned only I'm assuming, but any dry treats, anything strange?

Are you shooting scruff and sides or just scruff now? I saw a notation about shooting scruff in the evenings.

I have to agree, the dose might be too high, but are the other issues cleared up?

Hello,
Yes all the other issues are cleaned up, no more cystitis and her teeth are cleaned up, vet said that her teeth are great for an 11 years old cat. I will take her again to the vet this saturday, he will take a look again at her teeth to be sure there is no problem left.
I stopped giving everthing, she is only eating two cans of fancy feast everyday with lots of water added. Nothing else....
 
I can contribute one little thing - my Duncan goes higher on boiled chicken too. He just doesn't handle it well. No reason why. I hope you get things figured out. :)
 
SaraM2261 said:
I can contribute one little thing - my Duncan goes higher on boiled chicken too. He just doesn't handle it well. No reason why. I hope you get things figured out. :)

Yes, Tıfıl also can't handle boiled chicken...
Thank you very much...:)
 
ISIL&TIFIL said:
Do you think high dose can make so big numbers?

I am not able to comment on how you should handle your dose situation right now - but I can definitely say from experience: YES, a high dose can yield big numbers!

You can read our profile to see Kitty's experience. Our first vet kept raising the dose, until we reached 10 units (once daily, a bad idea, but I didn't know then), and Kitty was still REALLY HIGH.

That was when I found this website and started carefully backing down the dose. I know you will get good ideas about how to do that safely.

Try to be patient. When we used Lantus carefully, patiently and according to the Queensland protocol, Kitty's numbers gradually came under control. He is in remission now.

Hang in there!
 
Lantus is not something you can hurry. Sometimes, you just have to grit your teeth, test for ketones, and WAIT. Wait for highs to clear. Wait for a dose to settle in consistency (3-5 days). Do NOTHING (unless there's an immediate life-threatening aspect, such as ketones or hypo).

The more you keep changing things, the harder it is to figure out what is going on and what is doing it.

Only change 1 thing at a time, then hold it steady (unless there's an immediate life-threatening aspect, such as ketones or hypo).

I'm not patient either. I will use a tiny amount of Humulin R, usually when my cat is near or over 400. I do not use R under 300 as it could drop him to an unsafe level. Spitzer never has had ketoacidosis; if your kitty has, then I understand why you might use R on occasion.
 
BJ -

Isil has been using R. (She notes it as "H" on her SS.) Sandy/Black Kitty has been guiding her with the use of R. The information is in her previous condos.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
BJ -

Isil has been using R. (She notes it as "H" on her SS.) Sandy/Black Kitty has been guiding her with the use of R. The information is in her previous condos.

I did see that; it was why I wrote what I wrote about how _I_ use R.
 
ISIL&TIFIL said:
Hello,

I am about to go crazy with my cat's numbers :( she had all her blood test done. She is not pancratitis she doesn't have any other health problems but her numbers are constantly high.
Please help me, should I increase the dose or is the insulin too much? Should I change the insulin? Has anybody else experienced something like this? please help me, she was DKA on May, I am really afraid that she is going become DKA again.

We are using lantus

Looks like your lantus may have been toast if in fact you used the same lantus from 7/10 to now?
 
just want to point out for those who may not know...
tifil & Isil are in Turkey, so there are some difficulties for them getting the same meds we use elsewhere.
 
I bought my lants last month and started to us it last week.
By the way, she went down to 80's yesterday and went up to 500's today. I changed the dose to 1.75...I know it is way to much for a change, but I hope the high numbers were because of too much insulin :(
 
Hang in there. Dropping the dose isn't quite as problematic as raising it (hyper vs hypo from change), though be aware you could see a bit of a jump initially. Some cats just do that any time the dose gets changed.
 
I updated Tıfıl's ss. Sorry for not updating it for a while. I started using 0.10iu Humulin R if the preshots are over 400. But I must say she is still very high :(
 
Isil, it looks like tifil is bouncing. when you see a green number in the midst of the sea of higher numbers, then 12 hours later there's a 500 (i'm looking at the night of 12/14 when tifil got to 82, then the morning of 12/15) that's a bounce. You have to wait out bounces before changing a dose. they can take up to 3 days to clear, and i think some cats seem to take longer.

the bounce is from tifil getting lower than she's used to. her liver perceives that her lower-than-used-to blood sugar is a life-threatening crisis and she's gone too low, so it lets loose a flood of stored sugars and hormones that are designed to raise her blood sugar. those send her high, but it does clear and the BG will come down again in a few days.

i'm so sorry you're having such a hard time. you must be very worried about her.
 
Dear Julie,
I fell terrible because anything I do doesn't work :( I hope she will come down as soon as possible. It is so hard not having a vet next to you to guide you through the hard days. My last vet told me that the reason of the high numbers is fancy feast! I should use w/d and tıfıl's numbers will come down and she will no longer need insulin, that's what he thinks. I tried to tell him that the carb is much less in fancy feast then w/d. But he doesn't agree.
I am waiting for her to come down so I can live a normal life and so she could feel better :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top