hello all. my name is carol. my cat Elvis was diagnosed with diabetes on 4/10/10. we started novolin n 3 units 2x dailey on 4/13/10. hew seemed to be doing el until about 2 weeks ago. he stopped eating drinking was vomiting and very lethargic. he was admitted to the vet on tuesday with a bg at 490. the vet kept asking are we giving him his insulin? yes every day at 6 am and 6 pm. we brought him home last friday and thats when i read about home testing. my mother in law has diabetes she is very helpful. we have been testing him for a week and his bg has not been below 350. he is eating hills prescription w/d dry and wet
we have for the last 2 days increased his insulin to 4 units. i am very upset with the vet i feel they did not educate us at for this disease and how to handle it. i went for more dry food today and the first thing out of the girl mouth was "are you goning to put anything on you bill" i said i got paid today i will send a check in on monday then she asked how elvis was doing??? i asked my husband to give the shots saturday maybe i am not doing it right... please help.
we have for the last 2 days increased his insulin to 4 units. i am very upset with the vet i feel they did not educate us at for this disease and how to handle it. i went for more dry food today and the first thing out of the girl mouth was "are you goning to put anything on you bill" i said i got paid today i will send a check in on monday then she asked how elvis was doing??? i asked my husband to give the shots saturday maybe i am not doing it right... please help.