Please help - Low numbers right after shot

Anna S

Member Since 2026
Requesting urgent input if possible! My Leela is a newly diagnosed diabetic. We’ve been on quite a ride for the past week and a half and I’m trying to do my best while working with a vet who doesn’t seem the most knowledgeable.

I was advised by my vet to increase her dose quite quickly to 1.5U twice a day. All seemed well until we started waking up to AMPS around or below 150mg/dL. I started reducing the dose on my own or even skipping while waiting for the vet to call back. Eventually she did today, and said to do 1U based on my spreadsheet numbers.

Leela was at 182mg/dL PMPS today. She appeared to by rising and I maybe stupidly felt comfortable giving 1U between that and my vet saying to do so. It was a pretty skinny 1U.

Well then the Libre sensor completely gave out right after. Luckily I have a Relion and thought it best to test her. She tested at 115 +1 and 79 +2 and am FREAKING OUT.

I gave her food immediately both times and she’s happy to eat. Do I need to get more drastic? I have honey on hand and high carb food for this purpose.
 
I know this is an hour later....but feeding her with her numbers like that is what I would have done. It is super frustrating when the libre cuts out. But good job doing testing with the relion! I am still fairly new to all of this so I can't give you more advice. But have some hugs! *Huge hugs* If you want to try adjusting doses on your own, you should look at the sticky about dosing methods, then people can help you out more.

@Bandit's Mom is the person who has helped me around this time of night.

Good luck and remember to breathe!
 
Thank you so much! We have tested every hour since. Unfortunately only dropping more. 79 +3 and 74 +4. These aren’t huge drops but she hasn’t hit nadir and has been hitting nadir near the end of each cycle anyway… we’re a long ways off. My partner just went to sleep after staying up to help test. I’ll be trying to do the other hours on my own although I may skip an hour of testing as she’s fed up with us. I keep feeding each hour. I’ve already given up and will be taking tomorrow off (I’ve used so many of my vacation days since her diagnosis… she’s worth it, but I am medically complex myself and it’s hard).

I greatly appreciate the support.
 
Back
Top