I'm overwhelmed. I need to make decisions about what to do and really appreciate any information that might help.
Domino is 13yrs 8mo male cat, diagnosed in October 2015. He was started on 1 unit of Prozinc at the same time that his food was Hills Metabolic diet (dry) 1 cup per day. Before getting the diabetes diagnosis, this food was increased from 5/8ths to 1 full cup because we were thinking that his vomiting was maybe due to not getting enough food (we had finally got him to lose the weight on this diet). At the time of his diagnosis, his BG was 544 and later a fructosamine was in the 800s. On 1 unit of Prozinc and 1 cup of Hills dry metabolic, his numbers were still high and after almost a month it was increased to 2 units. At 2 units his BG was still high, and it was increased to 3 units at the same time that we changed the food to Hills MD/glucose/weight management and also changed it from 1 cup to 5/8ths cup (which I measure as slightly under 1/3rd cup in the AM and again in the PM). Also, he wasn't on 2 units very long before we increased to 3 units. By mid-December (at the time of this increase), I was finally comfortable doing the shots and know he was getting all the doses (prior to that I had trouble with my technique and the fur would be wet sometimes).
On 3 units there was basically no change in his fructosamine, so it was increased to 4 units and again no significant change (over 600). The vet says increasing to 5 "would be a lot" and says I can do this, or stay at 4 units, or switch from Prozinc to Lantus. The question I had about a possible Somogi effect wasn't answered. I bought an AlphaTrack glucometer but haven't been able to use it… I tried. I had also tried-- REALLY tried-- switching to wet food but he wouldn't eat it, so that's clearly not an option.
He's been on 4 units for 2 weeks and the fructosamine is 636, but a BG at the vet was 265 at 9 hours after a shot was given. The fructosamine at 3 units was 617 and at 2 units was 625.
I'm attaching a spreadsheet that I've used to help me keep track… I've been managing a complicated work/school schedule and making a lot of sacrifices to get home in the 12 hour mark on my early/late days.
Also: Domino had bloodwork to check organ function and everything came back just fine! There are no ketones…! I've recently begun to use the urine tests strips, but all of which have indicated glucose.
I'm fearing the worst more and more everyday. I wonder if my impatience and lack of knowledge in the beginning contributed to missing the right dose. I really don't know what to do (still). Should I switch insulin? Should I "start over" on Prozinc?
Domino is 13yrs 8mo male cat, diagnosed in October 2015. He was started on 1 unit of Prozinc at the same time that his food was Hills Metabolic diet (dry) 1 cup per day. Before getting the diabetes diagnosis, this food was increased from 5/8ths to 1 full cup because we were thinking that his vomiting was maybe due to not getting enough food (we had finally got him to lose the weight on this diet). At the time of his diagnosis, his BG was 544 and later a fructosamine was in the 800s. On 1 unit of Prozinc and 1 cup of Hills dry metabolic, his numbers were still high and after almost a month it was increased to 2 units. At 2 units his BG was still high, and it was increased to 3 units at the same time that we changed the food to Hills MD/glucose/weight management and also changed it from 1 cup to 5/8ths cup (which I measure as slightly under 1/3rd cup in the AM and again in the PM). Also, he wasn't on 2 units very long before we increased to 3 units. By mid-December (at the time of this increase), I was finally comfortable doing the shots and know he was getting all the doses (prior to that I had trouble with my technique and the fur would be wet sometimes).
On 3 units there was basically no change in his fructosamine, so it was increased to 4 units and again no significant change (over 600). The vet says increasing to 5 "would be a lot" and says I can do this, or stay at 4 units, or switch from Prozinc to Lantus. The question I had about a possible Somogi effect wasn't answered. I bought an AlphaTrack glucometer but haven't been able to use it… I tried. I had also tried-- REALLY tried-- switching to wet food but he wouldn't eat it, so that's clearly not an option.
He's been on 4 units for 2 weeks and the fructosamine is 636, but a BG at the vet was 265 at 9 hours after a shot was given. The fructosamine at 3 units was 617 and at 2 units was 625.
I'm attaching a spreadsheet that I've used to help me keep track… I've been managing a complicated work/school schedule and making a lot of sacrifices to get home in the 12 hour mark on my early/late days.
Also: Domino had bloodwork to check organ function and everything came back just fine! There are no ketones…! I've recently begun to use the urine tests strips, but all of which have indicated glucose.
I'm fearing the worst more and more everyday. I wonder if my impatience and lack of knowledge in the beginning contributed to missing the right dose. I really don't know what to do (still). Should I switch insulin? Should I "start over" on Prozinc?