Please help get Finster back on track

Status
Not open for further replies.

Finster

Member Since 2022
I posted this in the Prozinc section and had responses but haven't heard back about tonights shot and I need to give in next 15 minutes.

Finster, 15 years of age, was diagnosed about six weeks ago.
Six months prior to diagnosis he was on Prednisilone 5 mg twice daily. He has seasonal allergies and asthma. His appetite increased the longer he was on the prednisolone. June I took him to vet and blood work showed diabetes.
Vet sent us home with Prozinc script 1 unit twice daily and script for low glucose wet food also instructed to ween off prednisolone. Took us a few weeks to figure out the food and ween from Pred. He is now on an inhaler of Adivar. Went back to vet at 8 day mark for BG curve and it was higher-500's. Vet increased insulin to 2 units twice daily. In the mean time I found fancy feast chicken and tuna that he will eat and got him off the prednisolone. The first time I gave 2 units he freaked out. Tried to hide, unsteady on his feet, tail twitching, just very upset. I stepped down to 1.5 units and it was better but still not himself. I've been back at 1 unit for weeks now BUT two days ago I stepped down to .5. His next PS was at 149 and that seemed high so I went back to 1 unit. Then last night he wouldn't eat and I gave the 1 unit anyway. In the night he threw up a huge fur ball which explains why he didn't want to eat last night. This morning his BG was 120 too low to give shot. I've been taking it all day and it's gone even lower EVEN after eating most of his 3 oz can of fancy feast. What Should I do? Skip tonights shot as well? Only give half?
Thanks for any guidance. I really appreciate any and all help.
Lisa

My current question is if his PS number is in blue range should I give .5?
7:30 is the two hour mark since food given. Thanks for any help
 
Later on you should set up your signature
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top