I am going to bump this up for you as I am not qualified to give dose advice---Toby's blood glucose was 174 before he ate dinner. After he ate I gave him 2 units of vetsulin. Should I put syrup in his food just in case to prevent hypoglycemia??? Or will he be fine??? Please help!!
I think we posted at the same time Chris!
Good point. I always feel a bit tentative with Vetsulin advice, so I'm glad you think the same on testing.At least we both agree!!![]()
Hi! First, BREATHE! I haven't had a chance to look up your previous postings so I'm sorry if I repeat something. This forum isn't very active so I'm going to post a link to it over in Health.
Just having 1 number in relation to the amount give doesn't give a clear enough picture to tell you anything. No you don't need to give Karo syrup or ANY dry food to prevent hypoglycemia - you need to test to prevent hypoglycemia.
HUMAN METER or ALPHATRAK PET METER?
Because you did shoot 2 units of vetsulin with a bg of 174, begin testing about 1.5-2 hours after the shot and test every 1.5-2 hours. If you see a number under 60, retest immediately to be sure it was right then feed just a small spoonful of regular low carb food. Test every 30-45 minutes until you see the numbers rising again. You usually don't want to give him food unless he goes below 50 but since you're new to this dance, we don't want you to have to learn those steps yet.
I'd love to watch for you thru the night but hubby isn't doing well and must help put him to bed.
HUGS!
I just check his sugars again and they were 33 so I put a drop of maple syrup in his food for him. He ate some of it. I'll keeo an eye on him.I am going to bump this up for you as I am not qualified to give dose advice---
have you done another test?? number??
No problem, I'll be here.Lucy, are you able to watch for the next test in about 10-15 minutes? I have to disappear just for about half an hour...I'll be back on as soon as I can, but I don't want Toby's mom? or dad? to feel like there's no-one watching at the next test time.
Thank you Lucy. Sorry to disappear like that - Rosa decided her Liqui-tinic dose would look best on me tonight...and as it dries sticky and stains everything it touches I had to get it off me, my hair and my shirt as quickly as I could! I'm back now though.
@Toby98 - please can you get another test if you haven't already got one. 33 is too low for Toby to be hanging around at - we worry if we don't know for sure that he's on his way back up.
Same here.I am too. That 33 is concerning at just +1. I hope Toby hasn't dropped further.

I hope everything is ok! Fingers crossed.....




Sending prayers for you both.
Mogs
.
Thinking of you.
.
