911 Please help feline Diabetes newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toby98

Member Since 2016
Toby's blood glucose was 174 before he ate dinner. After he ate I gave him 2 units of vetsulin. Should I put syrup in his food just in case to prevent hypoglycemia??? Or will he be fine??? Please help!!
 
Toby's blood glucose was 174 before he ate dinner. After he ate I gave him 2 units of vetsulin. Should I put syrup in his food just in case to prevent hypoglycemia??? Or will he be fine??? Please help!!
I am going to bump this up for you as I am not qualified to give dose advice---

have you done another test?? number??
 
We usually say not to shoot Vetsulin if they're under 200, but since you did, just get a +1 and +2 to make sure he doesn't get into trouble early and go from there

You don't need to give any syrup now

If he were to drop below 50 (on a human meter) or 68 (on a pet meter), that's when you'd want to feed high carb food or add some syrup
 
I think usually, the advice with Vetsulin is not to shoot if kitty is under 200. Can you get a +1 reading and post that and we'll take it from there - I know Vetsulin often hits faster than some of the other insulins so I wouldn't wait for +2 this time. I wouldn't give syrup unless he drops low enough to need it - no point in spiking his numbers unnecessarily and he might do just fine without it yet.
 
How is Toby? How is he acting? Are you home testing Toby? If you are concerned about his numbers being too low you need to do a test, now.

How long ago did he eat dinner and was given insulin?
 
Ah, I see you also posted here. I responded to your post in Vetsulin - am copying it to you here:

Hi! First, BREATHE! I haven't had a chance to look up your previous postings so I'm sorry if I repeat something. This forum isn't very active so I'm going to post a link to it over in Health.

Just having 1 number in relation to the amount give doesn't give a clear enough picture to tell you anything. No you don't need to give Karo syrup or ANY dry food to prevent hypoglycemia - you need to test to prevent hypoglycemia.

HUMAN METER or ALPHATRAK PET METER?

Because you did shoot 2 units of vetsulin with a bg of 174, begin testing about 1.5-2 hours after the shot and test every 1.5-2 hours. If you see a number under 60, retest immediately to be sure it was right then feed just a small spoonful of regular low carb food. Test every 30-45 minutes until you see the numbers rising again. You usually don't want to give him food unless he goes below 50 but since you're new to this dance, we don't want you to have to learn those steps yet.

I'd love to watch for you thru the night but hubby isn't doing well and must help put him to bed.

HUGS!
 
I am going to bump this up for you as I am not qualified to give dose advice---

have you done another test?? number??
I just check his sugars again and they were 33 so I put a drop of maple syrup in his food for him. He ate some of it. I'll keeo an eye on him.
 
33 is lower than we like to see. Please test him 20 minutes after you gave the syrup. If he's still under 50 at that point, please give him more syrup or some high carb food - we want to get him back into the safe zone as soon as possible especially as it's still very early in the cycle for him.
 
Do you have any gravy style caned food? If you do, you can give him a tsp of gravy from it, it's high in carbs. The gravy is good because it won't fill him up too much, and you may need him to eat again later to get his numbers up.
 
Lucy, are you able to watch for the next test in about 10-15 minutes? I have to disappear just for about half an hour...I'll be back on as soon as I can, but I don't want Toby's mom? or dad? to feel like there's no-one watching at the next test time.
 
Lucy, are you able to watch for the next test in about 10-15 minutes? I have to disappear just for about half an hour...I'll be back on as soon as I can, but I don't want Toby's mom? or dad? to feel like there's no-one watching at the next test time.
No problem, I'll be here.
 
Thank you Lucy. Sorry to disappear like that - Rosa decided her Liqui-tinic dose would look best on me tonight...and as it dries sticky and stains everything it touches I had to get it off me, my hair and my shirt as quickly as I could! I'm back now though. :)

@Toby98 - please can you get another test if you haven't already got one. 33 is too low for Toby to be hanging around at - we worry if we don't know for sure that he's on his way back up.
 
Thank you Lucy. Sorry to disappear like that - Rosa decided her Liqui-tinic dose would look best on me tonight...and as it dries sticky and stains everything it touches I had to get it off me, my hair and my shirt as quickly as I could! I'm back now though. :)

@Toby98 - please can you get another test if you haven't already got one. 33 is too low for Toby to be hanging around at - we worry if we don't know for sure that he's on his way back up.


You're welcome! Lol, glad you got it cleaned up quickly!


I am worried about Toby and his mom/dad.
 
@Toby98
Where are you, are you in the UK?
Is your cat OK?
Vetsulin is composed of two types: one fast acting and one intermediate acting so with this insulin you must check BG at +2 (you can see a big drop there) and then later like +6 when there is another drop of BG and these drops can be very steep.
I hope you deal with your cat's low number as suggested above and everything is OK.
Good luck and please please let us know what's going on.
We are here to support you.
Marlena
 
It is very frustrating for us as we deeply care about the welfare of cats on this site and also care about caregivers!
Please dear Tobby's mom let us know what's happening, you know we are hear to listen and support you, we don't judge, we give shoulder to cry on or cheer with you if everything is going well.
Hope everything is well.
Best regards,
Marlena:cat::cat::cat:
 
According to her profile the last time she was on the site was at the time of her last post on Tuesday. I hope Toby ended up okay.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top