Lily is due 4 week checkup this week. Would you please look at my spreadsheet? I'm still confused about what the data shows. Just a reminder that Lily is semi feral and I'm lucky to check her blood levels twice a day.
She definitely, DEFINITELY needs a reduction. I just don't know how large of one.
You might finally be seeing effects of diet change. Any history of ketones or DKA? I'm guessing you are not able to check ketones?
I would halve the dose honestly. Unfortunately given sparse data and testing limitations I can't tell you what is for sure safe, just that her dose is too high (not a criticism, just a disclaimer).
Thank you, Melissa. I thought so too when I was looking this morning, but in my sleep-deprived state I was just too tired to say anything and I wanted your eyes on the spreadsheet. I just happened to notice that Kathy had asked for someone to look at her spreadsheet on Tuesday and nobody had answered her yet... and I felt badly about that.
@Kathy Maze did you start her at 4 units since she was diagnosed and just keep her on 4 units the whole time? I can only see 4 on the spreadsheet, but I am not sure what you were doing prior to recording the numbers.
Lily was started on 1 unit. Then it was increased gradually. I just recently found this site. Since then she has been changed to only Friskies pate. In just the past week I have noticed a decrease in drinking and peeing. This morning her BG was 300 and tonight was 155. Should I adjust her insulin.
Not sure if her vet will be happy when I tell her the changes I made.
Yes, reduce the dose. Those low numbers you are getting are a very big clue that she is going lower when you can't test, and I do believe it is dangerously low some cycles.